BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)

European Auto Source (EAS)

09-27-2008, 07:40 PM   #1
Blake
Banned
No_Country
Rep
Drives: Chevy Aveo

First timer on the track in my E92 M3 DCT

One word: WOW!

In preface, I've had no track experience prior to today. I've been to a drag strip in a previous car, but after today, that shit is for the birds! I signed up for a local performance driving school (Apex Driving Academy at Motorsports Ranch in Cresson, TX) in the novice group, although I didn't stay there long.

As far as configuration, I had DCT set to S5, M dynamic mode, EDC on max, and power setting on max (I maintained the same config the whole time.) So after a little classroom time, we finally got out on the track. Since I was initially running in the novice group, they had us do the slalom and a hard braking at first with introductions on sticking a line, etc. Nothing too hard here, but the car did the slalom absolutely flawlessly at 60+ MPH and the brakes performed perfectly, as expected.

After another classroom session, we went back out for our first laps at yellow flag speed (I'll have to admit that most of us didn't really adhere to the "steady pace" thing.) Naturally the point of this exercise was to get us educated on driving lines, getting us familiar with the way our cars handled, etc. We did no passing during this run so traffic stacked up after just a couple hard laps. The car handled spot on as it should.