BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications

European Auto Source (EAS)

11-18-2014, 10:30 PM   #1
dreamspeed
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: 6MT

6MT weird shudder when accelerating from stop

I was wondering if anyone else has had this same problem. When I'm accelerating from a stop I get a weird shudder from what I assume to be the transmission (although could be from diff). Basically when I release the clutch and press the gas, it's very hard/impossible sometimes to get a smooth transition

It's kind of like when your were a noob driving a stick and you couldn't slip the clutch correctly and the car would kind of die for a split second... Except I've been driving a stick for like 15 years and even when I'm really focusing on it I can't get it to transition correctly

It seems to be an intermittent issue that is usually worse when I'm accelerating from a stop on an incline.
      11-18-2014, 10:33 PM   #2
m3ray
Banned
No_Country
Rep
Drives: '09 e92 M3

Incline issue leads me to belive it could be clutch related. How many miles on it?
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2014, 10:56 PM   #3
dreamspeed
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep

It's not all the time and I don't feel the clutch slipping, only 45k miles on the car and they aren't hard miles.

When I release the clutch and press the gas there is like a slight pause, shudder, then the car catches and moves
      11-19-2014, 02:14 AM   #4
PerfM5
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: F10 M5 Space, E92 M3 Techno

I'm going through a similar situation. My mechanic took the driveshart off and noticed the rear portion is binding. I've yet to find time to go back and get it fixed. I'll keep you posted
      11-19-2014, 11:53 AM   #5
dreamspeed
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by PERFM3 View Post