BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

Mporium BMW

04-18-2016, 08:41 PM   #1
beats
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2015 911 GTS

New rotors - prep for track?

Hey guys, I think I will be replacing my OEM rotors about a week before my first track event this year. Aside from the usual bedding with my track pads (RS19), is there anything else to do to ensure they are fine for the first real outing? In the past I have been told to take it easy on new rotors for the first hundred k/miles, but I'm not sure it's really necessary.

Thoughts?
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2016, 08:46 PM   #2
roastbeef
Lieutenant General
United_States
Rep
Drives: E92 M3

i'm no expert, but i think once the pads are bedded, the rotors are good to go. i can think of one major distributor offering brake pad bedding as a service for new rotors and states they are good to go when delivered. i think a proper cool down for oem rotors is much more important than breaking them in after a proper bedding.
      04-18-2016, 10:34 PM   #3
///Mobbin
Colonel
Rep
Drives: m3

I always wash new rotors with soap and water to remove the grease from the factory before installing. You'll notice them starting to oxidize right away after doing this.

Other than that, after bedding and proper cooling as roastbeef mentioned, you should be good to go.
      04-19-2016, 02:34 PM   #4
jphughan
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep
Drives: '16 Cayman GT4

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///Mobbin View Post
I always wash new rotors with soap and water to remove the grease from the factory before installing. You'll notice them starting to oxidize right away after doing this.

Other than that, after bedding and proper cooling as roastbeef mentioned, you should be good to go.