BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Wheels + Tires Sponsored by The Tire Rack
  TireRack

KEEP M3POST ALIVE BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER LINK!

11-24-2010, 10:13 AM   #1
mightyaa
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: E90 M3

TPM won't reset..

I've been battling this for a couple months now on my 08 M3 with the tech package. It first started with a cold front... start the car and get the low tire warning on all four. I look at them, they are fine. I'm in Colorado, so the temperature has big swings and it goes off everytime the temperature falls. Use the TPM menu and hit reset. And it stays on "resetting TPM". Literally, I've left it parked in the driveway for a half hour and it won't reset.

When I drive, every couple minutes it pops up the warning dominating all the gauges... Sorry, but I use my clock, the nav system, digital speedometer, etc. It is extremely aggrevating and distracting. I did finally get it to reset and all was good by getting the tires within 0.1 lbs of each other and fillng them out of my nitrogen bottle... Worked until yesterday when I had the winter shoes mounted. Now it's back and refuses to reset...

Is this something I should take to the dealership? Can they disable the system or at least set a minimum pressure before it triggers?
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2010, 10:17 AM   #2
mexicanmike
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 09 E93 Jerez Black

I do not think that the TPMS reset while the car is parked. I am pretty sure that you have to hit the reset button while at a stand still and then start moving.
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2010, 10:19 AM   #3
besiktas
Ultimate Driver for the Ultimate Driving Machine
United_States
Rep
Drives: BMW M3 E92

he is right, read the owners manual, you have to drive the car for about 5-10 miles. and yes it does take time to reset.

BMW M3 E92 - Silverstone II