BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications

European Auto Source (EAS)

12-07-2018, 06:19 PM   #1
amtk2007
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2008 E92 M3

E92 M3 QTP Exhaust Cutout

Hello all!

I am contemplating getting a qtp exhaust cutout for my M3. For those of you who have this installed, what are the benefits and drawbacks? Is there any maintenance required for the valve. One more question: What size is our exhaust diameter. As I've scoured the threads, I see mixed results ranging from 2.5" to 3". Which size should I order?

I'd love to get everyone's opinion before making this purchase and install.

Thank you!
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2018, 09:08 PM   #2
Freiheit
Captain
Rep
Drives: 2011 Competition Coupe

I have no personal experience with the electric cutouts, but a good friend of mine used them on his LS car and they worked great until they didn't. There's not a heck of a lot you can do to help them. Grease the butterfly shaft? Its getting hit with hot exhaust probably pushing 500 degrees - the grease disappears. Theres a reason Kreis Sieg, Bomiz, and others use valves at the back box instead of the collector flange, and thats probably one of them.

If you spend time searching on any American forums you'll find that both the Quick Time cutouts as well as the DMH ones both freeze up, usually at the most inopportune time. That was enough to get me to go away from them.

("Why no officer, this car isn't modified - why would you think otherwise?")