BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
BPM
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-16-2020, 10:02 AM   #23
///M3 Gusta
Second Lieutenant
///M3 Gusta's Avatar
29
Rep
281
Posts

Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Pittsburgh PA

iTrader: (1)

I went back to stock, and did these steps in reverse order. Everything worked out fine. For some reason I did not have RECA in my VO, though.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2020, 02:26 AM   #24
Tigamilla
New Member
2
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: BMW E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: UK, London

iTrader: (0)

Thread resurrection! I have successfully done these steps and even copied the values across to CAS, FRM and NFRM as backups.

My question is... If using the stock seatbelt receptacles, why can't I have the contact and pretensioners activated? I have tried to set them to active and plug them in but they still throw errors.

Only unplugging them and setting them to not active seems to work...
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2020, 09:51 PM   #25
6ixSpd
Save the manuals!
6ixSpd's Avatar
Canada
4222
Rep
6,461
Posts

Drives: '12 M3 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: 416

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigamilla View Post
Thread resurrection! I have successfully done these steps and even copied the values across to CAS, FRM and NFRM as backups.

My question is... If using the stock seatbelt receptacles, why can't I have the contact and pretensioners activated? I have tried to set them to active and plug them in but they still throw errors.

Only unplugging them and setting them to not active seems to work...
If you leave the following AKTIV:
GURTKONTAKT_BEIFAHRER_1 -Seat belt contract/connection (passenger)
GURTKONTAKT_FAHRER_1 -Seat belt contract/connection (driver)
GURTSTRAFFER_BEIFAHRER_1 -Seat belt tensioner, active restraint (passenger)
GURTSTRAFFER_FAHRER_1 -Seat belt tensioner, active restraint (driver)

You should have no problems. I have stock receptacles and didn't modify the above parameters. Zero issues in my Recaro setup.
__________________
'12 M3 6MT Alpine White + Fox Red Extended

@tailor.mad3
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2020, 01:29 PM   #26
WhiteM3EMC
Private First Class
WhiteM3EMC's Avatar
105
Rep
198
Posts

Drives: 2011 White M3 DCT
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Charleston, SC

iTrader: (0)

I've tried using NCSExpert with the BMW Coding Tool, and NCSDummy.

I'm using the KDCan cable that I got when I ordered the DCT GTS tune from AlpineMSS, so I'm certain the cable works (at least did work)

Have no problem changing the required options in the BMW Coding Tool and NCSDummy, and am able to save the MAN file in either one.

My problem seems to be that NCSExpert is either not actually writing the MAN file to the car, or the cable isn't allowing it to do so. I've even viewed the TRC file in NCSExpert and the options that I want are checked appropriately, so it seems that the file that NCSExpert is using is the one that I want. But, I've probably hit "execute job" 20 times, and the airbag/seat belt lights will not go away. I'm stumped.

I've tried using the FSW PSW profile (with the manipulation box checked), the ExpertMode profile, and the NCSDummy profile. All of them allow me to "code" the car, execute the job, tell me that coding has ended, but the lights don't go away. I've cleared all codes using INPA after every attempt at coding, and I've cycled the key as well as started/stopped the car several times along the way.

Any help appreciated.
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2020, 09:30 PM   #27
6ixSpd
Save the manuals!
6ixSpd's Avatar
Canada
4222
Rep
6,461
Posts

Drives: '12 M3 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: 416

iTrader: (4)

Scan MRS5.PRG using Tool 32 and report what errors are being thrown.

If you're still having trouble, I can remote in with TeamViewer and take a look.
__________________
'12 M3 6MT Alpine White + Fox Red Extended

@tailor.mad3
Appreciate 0
      05-24-2020, 06:34 AM   #28
WhiteM3EMC
Private First Class
WhiteM3EMC's Avatar
105
Rep
198
Posts

Drives: 2011 White M3 DCT
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Charleston, SC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6ixSpd View Post
Scan MRS5.PRG using Tool 32 and report what errors are being thrown.

If you're still having trouble, I can remote in with TeamViewer and take a look.
Will do, thank you very much
Appreciate 0
      05-24-2020, 10:46 PM   #29
WhiteM3EMC
Private First Class
WhiteM3EMC's Avatar
105
Rep
198
Posts

Drives: 2011 White M3 DCT
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Charleston, SC

iTrader: (0)

Well, that was so tedius, but I finally got it. My problem primarily stemmed from the fact that I'd also removed my side air bags, which means you need to deactivate a few more lines. Took me quite a while to figure that out.
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2020, 05:29 AM   #30
Expressivedrives
Private
Expressivedrives's Avatar
54
Rep
56
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 E92 ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Estonia

iTrader: (0)

Hi

I mounted Recaro Profi SPG XL-s instead of OEM sofas. These are the same seats as M3 GTS has, no airbags. So there is a solution. My mechanic coded it easily.

I have also seen resistor terminal solution, plugged in to under-seat airbag connector. Some seat suppliers sell them with the seat.

__________________
M3 E92 ZCP LCI
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2020, 09:15 AM   #31
Bartledoo
Just Some F****** Guy
Bartledoo's Avatar
United_States
1244
Rep
1,812
Posts

Drives: 2011 E90 M3 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2003 VW Eurovan  [0.00]
2011 E90 M3  [0.00]
Thanks for the info on this. Was very quick and easy. Added the +reca to both CAS and NFRM and the edited the ABG coding as in the OP.
__________________
E90M 6MT Slicktop Single Humper in need of a diet
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2020, 10:16 AM   #32
///Mobbin
Colonel
///Mobbin's Avatar
825
Rep
2,242
Posts

Drives: m3
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bakerboy View Post
I'm left with only 2 errors now, can't seem to work it out.

All instructions are done including the VO change now.

My codes are:

0093C1 MRS: communication fault, seat occupancy detector passenger
00CF41 DKG: signal from drivers seat switch buckle

Obviously tried clearing codes a few times but no good.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by christoepurrr View Post
Also curious of the solution as I cannot get rid of the 00CF41 error code
I also still have the CF41 error code which I believe is coming from the transmission module, curious if there is another value to code there.
__________________
2011 e92 m3 | Alpine White | DCT
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2020, 09:58 PM   #33
6ixSpd
Save the manuals!
6ixSpd's Avatar
Canada
4222
Rep
6,461
Posts

Drives: '12 M3 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: 416

iTrader: (4)

Are you using an OEM seat belt buckle connected to the yellow underseat plug?

The DCT needs to see that connection to get rid of that error.

OC31 needs to be coded out on the passenger seat.
__________________
'12 M3 6MT Alpine White + Fox Red Extended

@tailor.mad3
Appreciate 1
SAMM3Y1844.50

      07-21-2020, 12:46 PM   #34
wheezyF
Private
United_States
14
Rep
56
Posts

Drives: e92 m3
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Socal

iTrader: (0)

I recently installed a driver side recaro pole position and used protool to code out the only two error codes I got.

93AC - side airbag, left
93AE - active head restraint, left

I'm using the OEM seat belt receptacle and its plugged into the yellow bulkhead connector.

Once I cleared those two codes, I've been getting no lights and seat belt works fine. I'm no expert when it comes to vehicle coding, but this seemed like a really simple 1 min job. Confused as to why everyone else is having to code out multiple items. If anyone can educate me and let me know if I've done anything wrong here I'd appreciate it.
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2020, 12:52 PM   #35
Bartledoo
Just Some F****** Guy
Bartledoo's Avatar
United_States
1244
Rep
1,812
Posts

Drives: 2011 E90 M3 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2003 VW Eurovan  [0.00]
2011 E90 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by wheezyF View Post
I recently installed a driver side recaro pole position and used protool to code out the only two error codes I got.

93AC - side airbag, left
93AE - active head restraint, left

I'm using the OEM seat belt receptacle and its plugged into the yellow bulkhead connector.

Once I cleared those two codes, I've been getting no lights and seat belt works fine. I'm no expert when it comes to vehicle coding, but this seemed like a really simple 1 min job. Confused as to why everyone else is having to code out multiple items. If anyone can educate me and let me know if I've done anything wrong here I'd appreciate it.
What do you mean "code out" the error codes? You just cleared them?
__________________
E90M 6MT Slicktop Single Humper in need of a diet
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2020, 01:01 PM   #36
wheezyF
Private
United_States
14
Rep
56
Posts

Drives: e92 m3
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Socal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartledoo View Post
What do you mean "code out" the error codes? You just cleared them?
Yes cleared the error codes
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2020, 01:04 PM   #37
Bartledoo
Just Some F****** Guy
Bartledoo's Avatar
United_States
1244
Rep
1,812
Posts

Drives: 2011 E90 M3 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2003 VW Eurovan  [0.00]
2011 E90 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by wheezyF View Post
Yes cleared the error codes
Well those codes and airbag light should be coming back then. You have removed the airbags in the seats and their corresponding electronics, and haven't coded the remaining electronic modules of the vehicle to accept this.
__________________
E90M 6MT Slicktop Single Humper in need of a diet
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2020, 01:10 PM   #38
wheezyF
Private
United_States
14
Rep
56
Posts

Drives: e92 m3
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Socal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartledoo View Post
Well those codes and airbag light should be coming back then. You have removed the airbags in the seats and their corresponding electronics, and haven't coded the remaining electronic modules of the vehicle to accept this.
This is strange, since the codes/lights haven't returned. I'll check to see if the codes come up again but so far they haven't come back.
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2020, 09:56 AM   #39
Expressivedrives
Private
Expressivedrives's Avatar
54
Rep
56
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 E92 ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Estonia

iTrader: (0)

Thanks, exactly how we did some time ago. Took a bit time to figure it out.

__________________
M3 E92 ZCP LCI
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST