BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

Mporium BMW

06-12-2020, 07:50 PM   #1
e36clubracer
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: Ram 3500, f80M3, e36M3

MCS Triples or Ohlins TTX Triples?

I just picked up a e92 M3 a little over a month ago and I am looking at refreshing the suspension. The stock EDC suspension with H&R race springs (from original owner) is very under dampened and it makes the car enjoyable to drive.

My background is I club raced on the west coast for several years and at the time had JRZ doubles on my car. I was never super enthused with their support at the time so I am not considering them again even if they've gotten better.

I will be tracking the car several times a year and hitting the local Auto-x regularly as well.

I know they are both race shocks and will require rebuilds periodically. I doubt I'll put more than 5-7k miles a year on the car so that's not really an issue.

Anybody have in-depth experience on either with the E9x platform they can share? I spoke with both Bimmerworld and PSI and both give their pluses and minuses on each setup. Why is one better than the other? Maybe I am splitting hairs?
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2020, 07:53 PM   #2
Estoril Blue
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2006 M3

IIRC if you read the MCS website, it recommends that triple adjustables be used by teams with a designated suspension engineer.

(Not saying you don't have one)
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2020, 08:00 PM   #3
e36clubracer
First Lieutenant
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by Estoril Blue View Post
IIRC if you read the MCS website, it recommends that triple adjustables be used by teams with a designated suspension engineer.

(Not saying you don't have one)
Thanks for looking out but I'll be OK.

Also if you have the TTXs, I assume you got them from PSI? How were they with support/rebuild times, etc?
Appreciate 0