BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications

08-11-2020, 01:53 PM   #1
M3dreamz42
Rep
Drives: 2011 E92 DCT, space grey

H-Pipe vs X-pipe - the struggle is real

Hey all,

I'm new to the M3 club and a novice when it comes to motors, exhaust etc so be gentle with your replies/roasts lol. I recently got a 2011 E92 M3 DCT that had some mod done to the exhaust flanges to make it louder. It sounded decent but had ear-piercing drone and I couldn't bear it. On the advice of my mechanic buddy, he convinced me to get a different X-pipe for more power.

I have always loved the stock sound of the E9x M3 but wanted it to be a bit more aggressive, similar to an American V8.

I've since been told this wont be totally achieved due to the smaller 4.0L displacement of the S65 motor, compared to a typical 5.0L Mustang for example.

I pulled the trigger and bought a Macht Schnell catless race x-pipe with ESS tune from EAS (I believe this was advertised on a previous thread sometime ago). According to rep that I contacted it gives approx 25 whp.

Once installed, I found that it was too "raspy" and high pitched for my liking, especially when rev-matching on the downshifts with the DTC motor. Secondly, there was a significant fuel odour that filled the car when stopped.

Moving forward, I was advised to have HFCs welded into the X-pipe to solve the problem of the "rasp" and fuel odour.

I once again I pulled the trigger and had this done as I was assured that it would solve the issue.

Now that I have spent almost $4000 CAN to get what I hoped would be the perfect sound - I am nowhere close!