BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing

Mporium BMW

10-02-2022, 04:51 AM   #1
LOWCAM
Rep
Drives: 2010 E92 M3 Alpine Edition

Coolant Loss + Head Cover

Hello I'm new to this forum and I'm from Korea
My English might be bad but I'll try my best

I'm new to this car and I think there's some problem with mine.

it has just over 60K miles and after a week since I bought it

coolant level low warning popped up

so I bought a coolant and topped it off (it needed 2 Liters to full)

and that was just a week ago and I checked my coolant level

It went down to LOW level and it seems there is NO LEAK at all..

previous owner installed straight pipe exhaust so

I can't tell by smell. and there is NO symptoms of burning coolant
(white smoke, exhaust smells like sweet thingy)

and engine oil level is not increasing.

engine bay looks clean and no visual of coolant leaks in and out.

previous owner said the valve cover gasket had been done a month or two.

but not the head gaskets.

I could fill another and drive off but it loses very quick.

should I go to a mechanic and check it out?

--------------------------------------------------------------

and for the head cover

is that normal? there's a brown layer inside of a head cover.

looks sketchy
Attached Images

Appreciate 0
      10-02-2022, 10:06 PM   #2
Scrippy
Lord Scrip
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2011 M3 Coupe

Garage List
  [0.00]
2007 BMW 335i  [0.00]