BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing

Mporium BMW

11-01-2017, 09:57 PM   #1
roastbeef
Lieutenant General
United_States
Rep
Drives: E92 M3

My Rod Bearings

ok guys and gals, i don't want to throw a bucket of gasoline on the fire, but here we go. (this is going to be long winded)

i bought my 2011 e92 m3 in 10/2013 used. i am the third owner and the car had 12,000 miles on it. the owner i bought it from told me he put about 6k on it, and never tracked it. i don't have any knowledge of the first owner. the car was mechanically stock when i bought it, but had a few cosmetic parts.

i have always liked machines with wheels. although i'm no mechanic, i'm pretty handy, and if i can see it, i can usually work on it. i'm familiar with how the engine's internals work, but i wouldn't be confident in rebuilding a motor or doing any internal work. i'm conscious and cautious when it comes to vehicle maintenance and proper warm-up. i frequently ask a lot of the car on the track, but i don't abuse it. i typically let the car warm up for about a minute and a half before i even drive it, and i don't give it significant load or wide open throttle until the needle is at or close to the middle mark. the car has always had the oem castrol 10w60. oil changes have always been done at 7,500 miles, or every three track days. i think i pushed it out to four track days once. when the car was out of the 4/50 maintenance warranty, i started doing my own oil changes and continued using castrol 10w60. i also started using oil additives- liqui moly mos2, and ceratec. the car started and idled quieter with the additives and i still use and believe in those products. for my last oil change, i tried shell helix ultra racing oil (10w60).