BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
European Auto Source (EAS)
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-19-2021, 09:24 AM   #529
SSJVegita
Lieutenant
SSJVegita's Avatar
United_States
43
Rep
555
Posts

Drives: E92 BMW M3
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Central FL

iTrader: (1)

Man is it safe to say that this all is just not worth it? Has anyone gotten theirs to work properly with quality sound?
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2021, 11:26 AM   #530
Cyberdemon
Brigadier General
Cyberdemon's Avatar
1211
Rep
3,012
Posts

Drives: 2020 X5 40i, 2011 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Long Island NY

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SSJVegita View Post
Man is it safe to say that this all is just not worth it? Has anyone gotten theirs to work properly with quality sound?
The older unit that I've listed and wrote the DIY on works well with good sound. There is a functional limit of using analog aux in, but it's like saying "you can't listen to satellite radio because the quality is so bad!" sure you can, lots of people do because they prefer the content over the absolute audio quality.

It's not clear from the last few posts how many of the older units remain, if they've run out of stock or stopped producing them might be good to try and purchase one now and just put it on a credit card in case you have issues and need to back charge it.

If you wanted to pay the premium for tech support, then you could always buy the Bimmertech unit which is substantially similar but 3x+ the cost.
__________________
Current: '20 X5, '11 E90 M3 Comp
Previous: '16 VW GTI, '15 M235i, '13 335i, '08 TL-S, '00 Corvette
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2021, 11:27 AM   #531
Cyberdemon
Brigadier General
Cyberdemon's Avatar
1211
Rep
3,012
Posts

Drives: 2020 X5 40i, 2011 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Long Island NY

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by romero1990 View Post
is there a spot in the trunk hold that can be tapped into for grounding? it seems the tail light bolt isn't really connected to the chassis ground. I wonder if I can just solder to one of the tail lights bulb base or really need to bring it down to the battery.
Snaking the ground wire really was not hard, I would just say run the extra wire through the shroud. I don't think there are any great ground paths on the trunk.
__________________
Current: '20 X5, '11 E90 M3 Comp
Previous: '16 VW GTI, '15 M235i, '13 335i, '08 TL-S, '00 Corvette
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2021, 11:40 AM   #532
georgebmwM3
Private First Class
georgebmwM3's Avatar
United_States
51
Rep
127
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW M3
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 Camaro ZL1  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by strobe89 View Post
Well it has been another week and I'm still fighting with my AIOCOAI carplay unit that looks like the original version of the Carsara kit. They've had me update the MCU and asked me the same questions 50 times. I have asked for a refund probably 5 times and the latest response was starting all over asking my year/make/model, dip settings, etc. I've come full circle now with them and I'm ultra fed up.

I was just about to buy the Carsara kit to replace mine and saw it was a new unit in the pictures. Came back to this thread and see the issues you all are having with it. Now I have no idea what I'm going to do, haha. I don't want the lower audio quality of running the aux cable and prefer to use the quadlock version.
Yeah, they are not on the level. I would stop payment and report them to Ali. I've had similar issues and went through eBay and had them refund me my money and shipping.
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2021, 12:35 PM   #533
netio
New Member
netio's Avatar
Canada
0
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 2011 E92 M3 - Alpine White
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blk33 View Post
When you tested your unit, did you get similar results to what I did?
Yes, I was also getting electrical failure messages on the idrive with method 3.
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2021, 05:04 PM   #534
blk33
New Member
Australia
2
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: 2009 E92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Geelong

iTrader: (0)

New Carsara Setup
The new carsara is easy to test. Remove the screen and cable, plug the new cable in. Lift the rear of the centre console, remove iDrive cable and plug in new cables. 10 minutes to test! (You don't have to remove the heater controls as show in my image)

Powered up the screen works, shows the radio station, and the radio works. However, the iDrive controller will not work. I cannot change stations or select anything.

When an iPhone is plugged into the usb, the carplay works an appears on the screen - either wireless or cable (wireless would be good) but, I can't do anything because the iDrive doesn't work.

It got me thinking that maybe the can bus isn't working when all plugged up. The iDrive connector shows the can bus 'twisted pair' with the other 2 for power. However, the carsara connector uses a 4 wire cable 'no twists'. It is also wrapped with a 10 wire cable for NBT iDrives. The wiring loom is about 1 metre long, thus the can bus has an additional 2 metre trip mixed with 20 other wires.

I'm tempted to open the wiring loom, cut the carsara can bus pair and replace the 2 metres with a CAT 5/6 ethernet pair.
Anyone have thoughts on the process??
Attached Images
   
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2021, 05:08 PM   #535
blk33
New Member
Australia
2
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: 2009 E92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Geelong

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by netio View Post
Yes, I was also getting electrical failure messages on the idrive with method 3.
A guy on M3Cutters got his working using method 3.
I'm going to try that today.
https://forums.m3cutters.co.uk/threa...230734/page-19
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2021, 08:30 PM   #536
blk33
New Member
Australia
2
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: 2009 E92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Geelong

iTrader: (0)

No wonder the unit doesn't work!
Can Bus to and from iDrive twisted green and orange pairs are just spliced to a mass of other wires.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 01:11 AM   #537
blk33
New Member
Australia
2
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: 2009 E92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Geelong

iTrader: (0)

It's been a busy day!
I cut and removed all the offending wires, re joined the can bus (with twists) and power cables and covered with heat shrink. Not tape.
Low and behold it all now works! Very pleased!
I'm not sure which specific step did the trick.
Second image shows nice wrapped cable.
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 08:47 AM   #538
Cyberdemon
Brigadier General
Cyberdemon's Avatar
1211
Rep
3,012
Posts

Drives: 2020 X5 40i, 2011 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Long Island NY

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blk33 View Post
It's been a busy day!
I cut and removed all the offending wires, re joined the can bus (with twists) and power cables and covered with heat shrink. Not tape.
Low and behold it all now works! Very pleased!
I'm not sure which specific step did the trick.
Second image shows nice wrapped cable.
Brave man for hacking apart your harness, glad to hear it works now. I'm guessing they just poorly spliced every one of those harnesses together to make it compatible for everything and it was just too poor quality of a signal.

If you've got the new unit working and want to add any information about the software, sound quality, etc feel free to fill us in and I can update with a link to your info.

It looks like this unit might have had better audio over Aux, but also seems to highlight the value of good wiring and why so many other folks seem to have intermittent harness issues.
__________________
Current: '20 X5, '11 E90 M3 Comp
Previous: '16 VW GTI, '15 M235i, '13 335i, '08 TL-S, '00 Corvette
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 08:12 PM   #539
blk33
New Member
Australia
2
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: 2009 E92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Geelong

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyberdemon View Post
Brave man for hacking apart your harness, glad to hear it works now. I'm guessing they just poorly spliced every one of those harnesses together to make it compatible for everything and it was just too poor quality of a signal.

If you've got the new unit working and want to add any information about the software, sound quality, etc feel free to fill us in and I can update with a link to your info.

It looks like this unit might have had better audio over Aux, but also seems to highlight the value of good wiring and why so many other folks seem to have intermittent harness issues.
I’ll have a go at permanently installing over the weekend. Ill take a few photos.
A few observations:
Only have to remove screen and heater controls.
The unit doesn’t tap into the car system other than the screen.
It appears I’ll have to use the included microphone. No option to tap into the car microphone. That’s a pain.
As it doesn’t tap into anything I’ll have to use the AUX input. Another pain.
Any thoughts on how I can overcome these?

The new unit has wireless CarPlay which is a plus. Do the older ones have wireless CarPlay?

My car has the useless phone holder in the centre console. I’m thinking of removing it and retro fitting an Inbay unit. I like your option in the lower dash, but seeing I’ll have wireless carplay the centre console suits me better.
https://www.ecstuning.com/b-inbay-pa...240000-03~iby/
You can purchase an insert as well to cover it.
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/25478363...53.m1438.l2649
Any thoughts?

Last edited by blk33; Yesterday at 08:35 PM..
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 09:02 PM   #540
tdott
Colonel
2174
Rep
2,992
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South FL / 6ix

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blk33 View Post
As it doesnít tap into anything Iíll have to use the AUX input. Another pain.
Any thoughts on how I can overcome these?
If you are brave you can try to add the pins to the quad lock and do the coding for front aux.
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 09:06 PM   #541
blk33
New Member
Australia
2
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: 2009 E92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Geelong

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdott View Post
If you are brave you can try to add the pins to the quad lock and do the coding for front aux.
Any idea which are the pins?
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 09:45 PM   #542
tdott
Colonel
2174
Rep
2,992
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South FL / 6ix

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blk33 View Post
Any idea which are the pins?
I believe they are the same pins mentioned here. It doesn't say which is which I would double check some wiring diagrams in ISTA to be sure.


https://www.bmwrepairguide.com/bmw-a...-installation/
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST