BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
EXXEL Distributions
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-12-2019, 12:35 AM   #1
M3ANMACHINE
Brigadier General
M3ANMACHINE's Avatar
United_States
587
Rep
3,561
Posts

Drives: 2011 E90 M3-SG-FR-DCT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (9)

Switchable Fuse for Dashcam (not 7 or 8)

Hey guys,

I just hardwired a BlackVue Dashcam and am searching for a suitable "switchable" fuse to tap in to behind the glovebox. By switchable, i mean that the fuse is only powered when the Ignition is on.

I currently have my Valentine 1 Radar Detector tapped into Fuse #7. I've read that #8 could work also, but the way the shape of the taps is, i can't fit a tap in both 7 and 8 right next to eachother. Therefore i am looking for another fuse besides 7 and 8 to use..

Any help is appreciated!
__________________

1 of 3 - 2011 E90///M3 | Space Grey | Fox Red | DCT | ZCP | Slicktop
APEX | ALPINEMSS | BIMMERWORLD | COBY WHEEL | CORSA | H&R | IND | MACHT SCHNELL | MRF ENGINEERING | PEDALHAUS
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2019, 04:57 AM   #2
BLKLYZ
Brigadier General
BLKLYZ's Avatar
United_States
446
Rep
3,845
Posts

Drives: E90 M3 AW
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: FT. Bragg, NC.

iTrader: (22)

Garage List
2007 335i  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ANMACHINE View Post
Hey guys,

I just hardwired a BlackVue Dashcam and am searching for a suitable "switchable" fuse to tap in to behind the glovebox. By switchable, i mean that the fuse is only powered when the Ignition is on.

I currently have my Valentine 1 Radar Detector tapped into Fuse #7. I've read that #8 could work also, but the way the shape of the taps is, i can't fit a tap in both 7 and 8 right next to eachother. Therefore i am looking for another fuse besides 7 and 8 to use..

Any help is appreciated!
Slots #5 & #28 are switchable (ACC) fuses too.
__________________
ModeCarbon V1 CF lip/PF AG CF SS ext./ARKYM CF Diffuser/OSS AE's/B&G Springs/CF Performance Spoiler/V2 Led Performance SW/Meisterschaft GT exhaust
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2019, 09:21 AM   #3
M3ANMACHINE
Brigadier General
M3ANMACHINE's Avatar
United_States
587
Rep
3,561
Posts

Drives: 2011 E90 M3-SG-FR-DCT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLKLYZ View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ANMACHINE View Post
Hey guys,

I just hardwired a BlackVue Dashcam and am searching for a suitable "switchable" fuse to tap in to behind the glovebox. By switchable, i mean that the fuse is only powered when the Ignition is on.

I currently have my Valentine 1 Radar Detector tapped into Fuse #7. I've read that #8 could work also, but the way the shape of the taps is, i can't fit a tap in both 7 and 8 right next to eachother. Therefore i am looking for another fuse besides 7 and 8 to use..

Any help is appreciated!
Slots #5 & #28 are switchable (ACC) fuses too.
Thank you! I will try those today!
__________________

1 of 3 - 2011 E90///M3 | Space Grey | Fox Red | DCT | ZCP | Slicktop
APEX | ALPINEMSS | BIMMERWORLD | COBY WHEEL | CORSA | H&R | IND | MACHT SCHNELL | MRF ENGINEERING | PEDALHAUS
Appreciate 1
BLKLYZ445.50

      06-12-2019, 09:23 AM   #4
BLKLYZ
Brigadier General
BLKLYZ's Avatar
United_States
446
Rep
3,845
Posts

Drives: E90 M3 AW
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: FT. Bragg, NC.

iTrader: (22)

Garage List
2007 335i  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ANMACHINE View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLKLYZ View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ANMACHINE View Post
Hey guys,

I just hardwired a BlackVue Dashcam and am searching for a suitable "switchable" fuse to tap in to behind the glovebox. By switchable, i mean that the fuse is only powered when the Ignition is on.

I currently have my Valentine 1 Radar Detector tapped into Fuse #7. I've read that #8 could work also, but the way the shape of the taps is, i can't fit a tap in both 7 and 8 right next to eachother. Therefore i am looking for another fuse besides 7 and 8 to use..

Any help is appreciated!
Slots #5 & #28 are switchable (ACC) fuses too.
Thank you! I will try those today!
No prob. My blackvue is connected to #28
__________________
ModeCarbon V1 CF lip/PF AG CF SS ext./ARKYM CF Diffuser/OSS AE's/B&G Springs/CF Performance Spoiler/V2 Led Performance SW/Meisterschaft GT exhaust
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2019, 04:00 PM   #5
M3ANMACHINE
Brigadier General
M3ANMACHINE's Avatar
United_States
587
Rep
3,561
Posts

Drives: 2011 E90 M3-SG-FR-DCT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLKLYZ View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ANMACHINE View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLKLYZ View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ANMACHINE View Post
Hey guys,

I just hardwired a BlackVue Dashcam and am searching for a suitable "switchable" fuse to tap in to behind the glovebox. By switchable, i mean that the fuse is only powered when the Ignition is on.

I currently have my Valentine 1 Radar Detector tapped into Fuse #7. I've read that #8 could work also, but the way the shape of the taps is, i can't fit a tap in both 7 and 8 right next to eachother. Therefore i am looking for another fuse besides 7 and 8 to use..

Any help is appreciated!
Slots #5 & #28 are switchable (ACC) fuses too.
Thank you! I will try those today!
No prob. My blackvue is connected to #28
So i tried #28 and the dash cam seems to stay on after shutting off the ignition and locking the car.. does yours do that as well? If so, do you know how long it stays on before switching off?
__________________

1 of 3 - 2011 E90///M3 | Space Grey | Fox Red | DCT | ZCP | Slicktop
APEX | ALPINEMSS | BIMMERWORLD | COBY WHEEL | CORSA | H&R | IND | MACHT SCHNELL | MRF ENGINEERING | PEDALHAUS
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2019, 06:04 PM   #6
BLKLYZ
Brigadier General
BLKLYZ's Avatar
United_States
446
Rep
3,845
Posts

Drives: E90 M3 AW
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: FT. Bragg, NC.

iTrader: (22)

Garage List
2007 335i  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ANMACHINE View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLKLYZ View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ANMACHINE View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLKLYZ View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ANMACHINE View Post
Hey guys,

I just hardwired a BlackVue Dashcam and am searching for a suitable "switchable" fuse to tap in to behind the glovebox. By switchable, i mean that the fuse is only powered when the Ignition is on.

I currently have my Valentine 1 Radar Detector tapped into Fuse #7. I've read that #8 could work also, but the way the shape of the taps is, i can't fit a tap in both 7 and 8 right next to eachother. Therefore i am looking for another fuse besides 7 and 8 to use..

Any help is appreciated!
Slots #5 & #28 are switchable (ACC) fuses too.
Thank you! I will try those today!
No prob. My blackvue is connected to #28
So i tried #28 and the dash cam seems to stay on after shutting off the ignition and locking the car.. does yours do that as well? If so, do you know how long it stays on before switching off?
My bad bro. I forgot to ask, are you using a magic box? I'm using it along with my blackvue. I don't believe it was #28 either. Look at my pic for reference. The wire tap far left rotated 180 degrees is the accessory and the other wire tap to the right is 12v constant power.
Attached Images
 
__________________
ModeCarbon V1 CF lip/PF AG CF SS ext./ARKYM CF Diffuser/OSS AE's/B&G Springs/CF Performance Spoiler/V2 Led Performance SW/Meisterschaft GT exhaust
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2019, 06:25 PM   #7
SAMM3Y
Captain
SAMM3Y's Avatar
828
Rep
927
Posts

Drives: 2008 m3
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: NorCal

iTrader: (1)

Why not put both your v1 and dash cam on the same circuit and put an inline fuse going to your v1 (2amp) and and In-line fuse for your dash cam (5amp). That's what I did on the cig lighter accessory circuit which is 20amp because on the sedans and e91 wagons they have multiple 12v cig lighter outlets well the coupe only has one. A 20amp circuit at 12v for one accessory is enough to run a small fridge adding a camera and v1 won't phase it all..
__________________
Stoptech st60/40 // OhlinsR&t // dinan sway/camber // 4.10 osgiken lsd // apex ps7 // supersprint // turner xpipe/shark tune // recaro sportsters // turner shift kit //awron gauge // ess 625 not currently installed // spec clutch not installed yet
Appreciate 1
BLKLYZ445.50

      06-12-2019, 07:22 PM   #8
M3ANMACHINE
Brigadier General
M3ANMACHINE's Avatar
United_States
587
Rep
3,561
Posts

Drives: 2011 E90 M3-SG-FR-DCT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLKLYZ View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ANMACHINE View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLKLYZ View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ANMACHINE View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLKLYZ View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ANMACHINE View Post
Hey guys,

I just hardwired a BlackVue Dashcam and am searching for a suitable "switchable" fuse to tap in to behind the glovebox. By switchable, i mean that the fuse is only powered when the Ignition is on.

I currently have my Valentine 1 Radar Detector tapped into Fuse #7. I've read that #8 could work also, but the way the shape of the taps is, i can't fit a tap in both 7 and 8 right next to eachother. Therefore i am looking for another fuse besides 7 and 8 to use..

Any help is appreciated!
Slots #5 & #28 are switchable (ACC) fuses too.
Thank you! I will try those today!
No prob. My blackvue is connected to #28
So i tried #28 and the dash cam seems to stay on after shutting off the ignition and locking the car.. does yours do that as well? If so, do you know how long it stays on before switching off?
My bad bro. I forgot to ask, are you using a magic box? I'm using it along with my blackvue. I don't believe it was #28 either. Look at my pic for reference. The wire tap far left rotated 180 degrees is the accessory and the other wire tap to the right is 12v constant power.
Ahh. Yea, you're tapped into #8 on the left there. Due to the width of the fuses on the tap, i can't fit a tap in 7 and 8 simultaneously because of the little plastic piece on the left of fuse number 6. No i don't have the magic box
__________________

1 of 3 - 2011 E90///M3 | Space Grey | Fox Red | DCT | ZCP | Slicktop
APEX | ALPINEMSS | BIMMERWORLD | COBY WHEEL | CORSA | H&R | IND | MACHT SCHNELL | MRF ENGINEERING | PEDALHAUS
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2019, 07:23 PM   #9
M3ANMACHINE
Brigadier General
M3ANMACHINE's Avatar
United_States
587
Rep
3,561
Posts

Drives: 2011 E90 M3-SG-FR-DCT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAMM3Y View Post
Why not put both your v1 and dash cam on the same circuit and put an inline fuse going to your v1 (2amp) and and In-line fuse for your dash cam (5amp). That's what I did on the cig lighter accessory circuit which is 20amp because on the sedans and e91 wagons they have multiple 12v cig lighter outlets well the coupe only has one. A 20amp circuit at 12v for one accessory is enough to run a small fridge adding a camera and v1 won't phase it all..
My hardwire kit for both my dashcam and my v1 both have inline fuses already.
Excuse my ignorance, but how would i run the Dashcam on the same circuit as the v1? Just T-tap it into the power cord of the V1 hardwire that's going into fuse #7?
__________________

1 of 3 - 2011 E90///M3 | Space Grey | Fox Red | DCT | ZCP | Slicktop
APEX | ALPINEMSS | BIMMERWORLD | COBY WHEEL | CORSA | H&R | IND | MACHT SCHNELL | MRF ENGINEERING | PEDALHAUS
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2019, 07:34 PM   #10
BLKLYZ
Brigadier General
BLKLYZ's Avatar
United_States
446
Rep
3,845
Posts

Drives: E90 M3 AW
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: FT. Bragg, NC.

iTrader: (22)

Garage List
2007 335i  [4.50]
Check out these posts for reference
Blackvue dashcam install DR650GW HELP https://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1226365

https://www.e90post.com/forums/showt...ash+cam+wiring

These are what I used as reference when I installed my DR750s.
__________________
ModeCarbon V1 CF lip/PF AG CF SS ext./ARKYM CF Diffuser/OSS AE's/B&G Springs/CF Performance Spoiler/V2 Led Performance SW/Meisterschaft GT exhaust
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2019, 07:46 PM   #11
SAMM3Y
Captain
SAMM3Y's Avatar
828
Rep
927
Posts

Drives: 2008 m3
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: NorCal

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ANMACHINE View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAMM3Y View Post
Why not put both your v1 and dash cam on the same circuit and put an inline fuse going to your v1 (2amp) and and In-line fuse for your dash cam (5amp). That's what I did on the cig lighter accessory circuit which is 20amp because on the sedans and e91 wagons they have multiple 12v cig lighter outlets well the coupe only has one. A 20amp circuit at 12v for one accessory is enough to run a small fridge adding a camera and v1 won't phase it all..
My hardwire kit for both my dashcam and my v1 both have inline fuses already.
Excuse my ignorance, but how would i run the Dashcam on the same circuit as the v1? Just T-tap it into the power cord of the V1 hardwire that's going into fuse #7?
Yep splice it In there.. I soldered and heat shrank mine. A t tap is fine too, just make sure both your v1 and camera system is grounded
__________________
Stoptech st60/40 // OhlinsR&t // dinan sway/camber // 4.10 osgiken lsd // apex ps7 // supersprint // turner xpipe/shark tune // recaro sportsters // turner shift kit //awron gauge // ess 625 not currently installed // spec clutch not installed yet
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2019, 08:00 PM   #12
M3ANMACHINE
Brigadier General
M3ANMACHINE's Avatar
United_States
587
Rep
3,561
Posts

Drives: 2011 E90 M3-SG-FR-DCT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAMM3Y View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ANMACHINE View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAMM3Y View Post
Why not put both your v1 and dash cam on the same circuit and put an inline fuse going to your v1 (2amp) and and In-line fuse for your dash cam (5amp). That's what I did on the cig lighter accessory circuit which is 20amp because on the sedans and e91 wagons they have multiple 12v cig lighter outlets well the coupe only has one. A 20amp circuit at 12v for one accessory is enough to run a small fridge adding a camera and v1 won't phase it all..
My hardwire kit for both my dashcam and my v1 both have inline fuses already.
Excuse my ignorance, but how would i run the Dashcam on the same circuit as the v1? Just T-tap it into the power cord of the V1 hardwire that's going into fuse #7?
Yep splice it In there.. I soldered and heat shrank mine. A t tap is fine too, just make sure both your v1 and camera system is grounded
Thanks. I'll attempt that. Sounds easier than finding another switchable ACC fuse. I've tried all the ones mentioned and in previous threads and they all are coming back constant. Both are grounded already. Thanks.
__________________

1 of 3 - 2011 E90///M3 | Space Grey | Fox Red | DCT | ZCP | Slicktop
APEX | ALPINEMSS | BIMMERWORLD | COBY WHEEL | CORSA | H&R | IND | MACHT SCHNELL | MRF ENGINEERING | PEDALHAUS
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2019, 08:13 PM   #13
SAMM3Y
Captain
SAMM3Y's Avatar
828
Rep
927
Posts

Drives: 2008 m3
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: NorCal

iTrader: (1)

Here's mine, I wired up a 5v power supply for a go pro..
Attached Images
 
__________________
Stoptech st60/40 // OhlinsR&t // dinan sway/camber // 4.10 osgiken lsd // apex ps7 // supersprint // turner xpipe/shark tune // recaro sportsters // turner shift kit //awron gauge // ess 625 not currently installed // spec clutch not installed yet
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST