BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-23-2019, 05:54 PM   #23
sdbmwcoding
Lieutenant
88
Rep
503
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: May 2019
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xnfsx View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsGary View Post
Most likely battery. I had 2B13 up until today when I replaced the battery. So far it hasn't come back.

This 2B13 code started coming up after I got the positive cable work done.
So you replaced the battery and it has not come back?

I just got a new battery - installing it now! I took off the GTS flash because of the insanely scary violent stall from the transmission.
GTS flash wouldn't cause such issues. If the problem doesn't come back after the battery replacement, reflash gts and just clear adaptations. If the transmission every feels sluggish or clunky, a full dct adaptation reset usually smooths everything out
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2019, 07:35 PM   #24
xnfsx
Captain
46
Rep
917
Posts

Drives: E90 M3 2011.75
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NY

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by socalcoding View Post
GTS flash wouldn't cause such issues. If the problem doesn't come back after the battery replacement, reflash gts and just clear adaptations. If the transmission every feels sluggish or clunky, a full dct adaptation reset usually smooths everything out
I just got a new battery and had it registered. Reflashed GTS, and had my motor tune installed by Alex.

It ran beautifully for 30 mins of driving around. I parked, went into my house and it came back. Sudden jerk on drive or reverse and it stalled. What...the...hell.....
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2019, 09:28 PM   #25
eriktufa
3r1k
eriktufa's Avatar
Australia
22
Rep
343
Posts

Drives: 2008 MY08 BMW E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Perth

iTrader: (0)

It could be the ECU Tune causing the issue.

Try running stock flash from Alex with GTS Flash
__________________
12.836 @ 109.75mph (Cobb - Accessport & VRSF DP)
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2019, 09:58 PM   #26
xnfsx
Captain
46
Rep
917
Posts

Drives: E90 M3 2011.75
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NY

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eriktufa View Post
It could be the ECU Tune causing the issue.

Try running stock flash from Alex with GTS Flash
Dont think so. It did the same before the ECU tune.

I'm having it diagnosed tomorrow.
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2019, 02:46 AM   #27
eriktufa
3r1k
eriktufa's Avatar
Australia
22
Rep
343
Posts

Drives: 2008 MY08 BMW E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Perth

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xnfsx View Post
Dont think so. It did the same before the ECU tune.

I'm having it diagnosed tomorrow.
To be clear, you have tried the following combos and all combination made no differences?

Stock ECU Tune & Stock DCT Tune
Alpine ECU Tune & GTS DCT Tune
Stock ECU Tune & GTS DCT Tune
Alpine ECU Tune & Stock DCT Tune
__________________
12.836 @ 109.75mph (Cobb - Accessport & VRSF DP)
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2020, 01:43 AM   #28
CrissiE92
Registered
United Kingdom
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW M3 Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Cambridge, U.K.

iTrader: (0)

K+DCAN Cable Question

Hey guys, I've been successfully coding my car using the basic K+DCAN cable with the switch to bridge pins 7/8. It works great for deleting TPMS, getting rid of the legal disclaimer, and little things like that.

However, and I can not find it again for the life of me, I read somewhere that you should NOT flash your MSS60 or GS40 using this basic K+DCAN cable. Rather you should buy a high-quality one from BimmerGeeks, or someone that sells 'PRO' K+DCAN cables.

I have been looking all over the threads to find the answer, even google and other random websites. Of course I'm cautious as I don't want to be wrong and brick a DCT because of a cheap cable. I'd rather buy the $60 cable, but at the same time want to avoid 'snake oil'.

Question is: What cable are you using to flash your GS40 files? A basic K+DCAN cable, or one of the 'PRO' level cables?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2020, 01:49 AM   #29
sdbmwcoding
Lieutenant
88
Rep
503
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: May 2019
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrissiE92 View Post
Hey guys, I've been successfully coding my car using the basic K+DCAN cable with the switch to bridge pins 7/8. It works great for deleting TPMS, getting rid of the legal disclaimer, and little things like that.

However, and I can not find it again for the life of me, I read somewhere that you should NOT flash your MSS60 or GS40 using this basic K+DCAN cable. Rather you should buy a high-quality one from BimmerGeeks, or someone that sells 'PRO' K+DCAN cables.

I have been looking all over the threads to find the answer, even google and other random websites. Of course I'm cautious as I don't want to be wrong and brick a DCT because of a cheap cable. I'd rather buy the $60 cable, but at the same time want to avoid 'snake oil'.

Question is: What cable are you using to flash your GS40 files? A basic K+DCAN cable, or one of the 'PRO' level cables?

Thanks
Yes you can flash gs40 with normal kdcan cable. Worst case scenario if it does fail, you're not going to brick your module. The module will just be stuck in programming abort and to fix you just need to flash over it correctly. But I've flashed plenty of gs40 modules with basic kdcan.
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2020, 03:05 AM   #30
CrissiE92
Registered
United Kingdom
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW M3 Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Cambridge, U.K.

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sd********* View Post
Yes you can flash gs40 with normal kdcan cable. Worst case scenario if it does fail, you're not going to brick your module. The module will just be stuck in programming abort and to fix you just need to flash over it correctly. But I've flashed plenty of gs40 modules with basic kdcan.
Yo, thanks so much man! Iíll be doing that today then! Thanks for paying the knowledge forward.
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2020, 11:12 AM   #31
brettcp
Lieutenant
United_States
137
Rep
419
Posts

Drives: 2012 E93 M3
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: So Cal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrissiE92 View Post
Hey guys, I've been successfully coding my car using the basic K+DCAN cable with the switch to bridge pins 7/8. It works great for deleting TPMS, getting rid of the legal disclaimer, and little things like that.

However, and I can not find it again for the life of me, I read somewhere that you should NOT flash your MSS60 or GS40 using this basic K+DCAN cable. Rather you should buy a high-quality one from BimmerGeeks, or someone that sells 'PRO' K+DCAN cables.

I have been looking all over the threads to find the answer, even google and other random websites. Of course I'm cautious as I don't want to be wrong and brick a DCT because of a cheap cable. I'd rather buy the $60 cable, but at the same time want to avoid 'snake oil'.

Question is: What cable are you using to flash your GS40 files? A basic K+DCAN cable, or one of the 'PRO' level cables?

Thanks
I flashed with the Bimmergeeks Pro cable, no issues at all.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST