BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Wash, Wax, Detail, Cosmetic Maintenance & Repairs

04-11-2018, 05:11 PM   #1
thatg
Major
Rep
Drives: Silverstone E93 M3

Repair fox red side bolsters

Hey All,

I just went through the leatherique process, I was recommended this stuff by a guy I bought my exhaust from after sitting in his seats and being really impressed with how soft/grippy the leather was I went for it.

The results seeem pretty good. I think I could have done a better job of clean up after the oil application, there are some streaks here and there that I may address later, but overall the seats look good. One thing that does not however is the worn leather on the drivers side bolster and some scrapes on the seats.

I’ve never worked with leather dye before and was wondering if anyone on here has dyed their fox red seats to repair and how it turned out. Heres some pics of the end result. Thanks.
Attached Images

http://www.e90post.com/forums/search...&starteronly=1
Appreciate 0
      04-11-2018, 05:49 PM   #2
R3dliner
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: 18 M3 6MT

I've used these guys below
https://www.leatherworldtech.com/
color code EL-420
Color match is pretty on point. I just bought the dye but you might need the kit
Before

After
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2018, 01:00 PM   #3
dparm
Stop the hate, get a V8
United_States
Rep
Drives: C7 Corvette GS, AMG C63 S

Do some research and find a reputable auto upholstery shop in your area. Some of them offer mobile services.

I would not try and fix that myself -- the marks are too deep.
      04-14-2018, 03:14 PM   #4
Helmsman
Major General
Sweden
Rep
Drives: 2011 AW E90 M3 ZCP

Like dparm says, a pro sort that easily. Proper paint and top coat however goes a long way. If you don't have a guy close buy I'd order a kit and give it a try. Can always be restored should you fail totally.