BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Cosmetic/Visual (Exterior + Interior) Modifications

03-18-2018, 09:01 PM   #1
SYT_Shadow
///M Powered for Life
Rep
Drives: E90M/E92M/M4GTS/M4GT4/X5M

DIY M Performance Steering Wheel (v2 electronic)

All

As the original DIYs are all gone because of Photobucket's decision to screw everyone people are having issues installing these steering wheels in M3s.

The v2 electronic steering wheel was apparently not designed for the E9X M3, so the instructions you get from BMW are not completely accurate.
The complication comes from where you're supposed to get power from under the driver's footwell

This is how my 6MT steering wheel is wired. This works perfectly, every time. I've been using it for 3 years at the track without a hiccup.

If you follow the BMW instructions and take these pics into account you should be able to get yours to work

A1: green-brown -- gets plugged into a solid red cable on the harness
A2: brown -- gets plugged into brown on the harness

Here is the wiring harness you get with the cables with the A1 and A2 cables labelled

Here's another photo of the same cables

On the driver's side foot well you remove the cover with 3 torx screws and immediately run into this big connector

Notice the wire taps

Appreciate 6
dozaiya236.00
Kash63.00
kyrix1st2356.50
Gto373.00
jdamore432.50
      03-19-2018, 12:51 PM   #2
su_root
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: E92 M3

Thanks for the updated pictures.

From all my reading the 'inconsistent shift lights' issue only exists on DCT-equipped models and to date there is no permanent solution so that it works consistently. I've had my V2 installed for about 4 months now. I'm drawing power from the JBE module underneath the passenger footwell.

This solves the memory lost issue but every now and then I lose the shift lights. The only fix is to cut power to the wheel.