BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-12-2018, 08:40 AM   #1
jaye944
Lieutenant
Canada
616
Rep
561
Posts

Drives: 2012 128i cab msport
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Canada, Ontario

iTrader: (0)

Fixed my Laptop - Broke my RAM

Dammit,
Tosh laptop known issue with bust hinge,
so I fixed it by fernagaling it.

but in the process of stripping down the LT I have managed to blow one of my sticks of RAM (process of elimination)

so I had some old RAM (as I upgraded a lot of stuff)

and instead of it running 8gig (max motherboard will take)
it's only 6gig.

it's a i3 (around 6 years old)

is it worth me shelling out for another RAM stick, to take it back up to 8gig
(I already upgraded to an SSD)

Would I notice the difference? (win 7 64bit) (mainly internet, no gaming, but youtuber and DJ'ing (so editing software)

I think a new stick is about $100 or so inc taxes
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2018, 08:43 AM   #2
jaye944
Lieutenant
Canada
616
Rep
561
Posts

Drives: 2012 128i cab msport
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Canada, Ontario

iTrader: (0)

The SSD has made a bigger difference for me when I went from 8gig to 6gig
(before I blew my 4gig RAM (offtek ddr3 1066 sodimm))
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2018, 09:32 AM   #3
R3dliner
Lieutenant Colonel
R3dliner's Avatar
United_States
614
Rep
1,564
Posts

Drives: 2011.75 E92 M3 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: NYC

iTrader: (5)

6 years in computer age is like light years. No plans of upgrading? 2gb difference in memory won't make a difference on the i3. If you think your SSD made a difference, wait until you try out the M.2 NVME ssd's.
Appreciate 1
jaye944616.00

      06-12-2018, 09:41 AM   #4
Not_Judy
Lieutenant
Not_Judy's Avatar
965
Rep
402
Posts

Drives: 2008 E93
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Parts Unkown

iTrader: (0)

Get a new computer.
Appreciate 1
      06-12-2018, 11:51 AM   #5
jaye944
Lieutenant
Canada
616
Rep
561
Posts

Drives: 2012 128i cab msport
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Canada, Ontario

iTrader: (0)

it's a tried and tested,

I am thinking, but h8 win10, which everything comes with

was planning on running it into the ground
I was keeping an eye out for a media heavy LT,
for me to do video editing especially.

just looked up the M.2 NVME ssd specs, that would help me defo.

at the moment the tosh is held together by nut's and bolts. hahaha
thankxs for the reply
I'll leave forking out 100bucks to take it from 6 to 8

cheers
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2018, 11:53 AM   #6
jaye944
Lieutenant
Canada
616
Rep
561
Posts

Drives: 2012 128i cab msport
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Canada, Ontario

iTrader: (0)

oh another question

if I got a newer all singing and dancing
can I retrofit it with win7, (reinstall) or will I have hardware problems?

cheers

and what makes does the IT crowd recommend, for a youtuber !

LOLAZ
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2018, 01:22 PM   #7
R3dliner
Lieutenant Colonel
R3dliner's Avatar
United_States
614
Rep
1,564
Posts

Drives: 2011.75 E92 M3 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: NYC

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaye944 View Post
oh another question

if I got a newer all singing and dancing
can I retrofit it with win7, (reinstall) or will I have hardware problems?

LOLAZ
Old software has no updates for newer hardware. No driver support.
Win 10 isn't too bad.
Appreciate 1
jaye944616.00

      06-12-2018, 01:49 PM   #8
Not_Judy
Lieutenant
Not_Judy's Avatar
965
Rep
402
Posts

Drives: 2008 E93
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Parts Unkown

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaye944 View Post
oh another question

if I got a newer all singing and dancing
can I retrofit it with win7, (reinstall) or will I have hardware problems?

cheers

and what makes does the IT crowd recommend, for a youtuber !

LOLAZ
Did you actually try turning it off and on again?
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2018, 02:01 PM   #9
tdott
Lieutenant Colonel
518
Rep
1,559
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: FL / T.Dot

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaye944 View Post
and what makes does the IT crowd recommend, for a youtuber !
From what I read/watch Final Cut Pro is what the top tech youtubers use because it's so much better than Adobe Premiere Pro and everyone hates Adobe, the render time is leagues ahead apparently.

But then you need a Mac...
__________________
Appreciate 1
jaye944616.00

      06-12-2018, 02:16 PM   #10
UGADawgFan
Captain
United_States
248
Rep
681
Posts

Drives: F80 M3, B9 S4
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Issaquah, WA

iTrader: (2)

Not sure why there is still Windows 10 hate now, it's pretty well fleshed out at this point. A lot of the buggy issues that Windows 10 had at launch were also due to Intel skylake chips and driver issues with Nvidia (of course, Microsoft had expected teething issues with a new OS).

It's a rock solid OS now- don't miss my Mac at all anymore. PC makers are churning out fantastic PCs now pretty much across the board.

It's time to upgrade to a new machine and let go!
Appreciate 1
jaye944616.00

      06-13-2018, 10:26 AM   #11
zx10guy
Lieutenant Colonel
1414
Rep
1,678
Posts

Drives: 2013 135i
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: DC

iTrader: (0)

Except when you're hit by the annoying bug of not being able to bring the window for what you want active to the top. My daily use laptop developed this annoying bug a couple of months ago. Doing a search shows that Microsoft hasn't fixed this issue.
Appreciate 1
jaye944616.00

      06-13-2018, 06:34 PM   #12
amgraham
New Member
23
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW X5 x35d
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

iTrader: (0)

You can still get business/enterprise units from Dell, HP, Toshiba, etc. with Windows 7. But... despite the here and there complaints, I don't know why you would. Give it up, Go to Win 10. I have five Win 10 PCs running in the house, some of which don't even officially support it, but I upgraded while it was free, just in case.

Per the active Window switching problem yeah... I've seen that but... It only seems to occur on my official, real work laptop and with Chrome or Java based apps. It doesn't happen on any of my personal PCs.

Long story short, yeah, you can still get systems that support Win 7, out of the box but... You'd have to order a business/enterprise unit from a vendor that supports that line of business. You won't get that cash-and-carry. You certainly won't get those from Asus, MSI, etc. that are more focused on the consumer/home market. You'll have to go with a vendor that supplies business/enterprise units. But... you're going to pay more and get less, in terms of specs, just to maintain that Win 7 compatibility.
Appreciate 1
jaye944616.00

      06-16-2018, 12:15 PM   #13
jaye944
Lieutenant
Canada
616
Rep
561
Posts

Drives: 2012 128i cab msport
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Canada, Ontario

iTrader: (0)

LOL, txs
I really don't like the feel of it, I hate keep having to re-learn stuff to do the same

win.311, win 95, win xp, win7

FFS MS stop this mayhem

Quote:
Originally Posted by UGADawgFan View Post
Not sure why there is still Windows 10 hate now, it's pretty well fleshed out at this point. A lot of the buggy issues that Windows 10 had at launch were also due to Intel skylake chips and driver issues with Nvidia (of course, Microsoft had expected teething issues with a new OS).

It's a rock solid OS now- don't miss my Mac at all anymore. PC makers are churning out fantastic PCs now pretty much across the board.

It's time to upgrade to a new machine and let go!
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2018, 04:16 PM   #14
UGADawgFan
Captain
United_States
248
Rep
681
Posts

Drives: F80 M3, B9 S4
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Issaquah, WA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaye944 View Post
LOL, txs
I really don't like the feel of it, I hate keep having to re-learn stuff to do the same

win.311, win 95, win xp, win7

FFS MS stop this mayhem
They have..Windows 10 is it....they'll be the usual feature and performance updates but no more design changes to the UX.

And seriously? You're bringing up every major operating system ? That's near 30 years of evolution.... You sir, need to go back to the abacus.
Appreciate 1
jaye944616.00

      06-18-2018, 12:28 PM   #15
jaye944
Lieutenant
Canada
616
Rep
561
Posts

Drives: 2012 128i cab msport
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Canada, Ontario

iTrader: (0)

THAT is how old I am, actually let me give you what I learnt and worked on

CP/M (RM380z)

Acorn (Atom) basic
BBC (Acorn) Basic

DOS, 3 ,6 then windows listed.

Actually from CPM to win3.11 it was fine, I guess being young change is cool
but from 95-10.. man I don't wanna learn, I just wanna do

Quote:
Originally Posted by UGADawgFan View Post
They have..Windows 10 is it....they'll be the usual feature and performance updates but no more design changes to the UX.

And seriously? You're bringing up every major operating system ? That's near 30 years of evolution.... You sir, need to go back to the abacus.
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2018, 05:21 PM   #16
UGADawgFan
Captain
United_States
248
Rep
681
Posts

Drives: F80 M3, B9 S4
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Issaquah, WA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaye944 View Post
THAT is how old I am, actually let me give you what I learnt and worked on

CP/M (RM380z)

Acorn (Atom) basic
BBC (Acorn) Basic

DOS, 3 ,6 then windows listed.

Actually from CPM to win3.11 it was fine, I guess being young change is cool
but from 95-10.. man I don't wanna learn, I just wanna do
omg lol.. Jayee i feel like we'd be really good friends in real life, just from this dialogue

You're definitely at least a decade older than me. I started on an Atari 2600XL computer, then Commodore 64, then IBM PC 286 with DOS 2.0..and then the usual progression as time changes through the intel 386-Pentium ERA.
Appreciate 1
jaye944616.00

      06-22-2018, 10:37 AM   #17
jaye944
Lieutenant
Canada
616
Rep
561
Posts

Drives: 2012 128i cab msport
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Canada, Ontario

iTrader: (0)

you mean this "isn't" real life
so The matrix is for real

damn dont give me no red pill, I like my steak
Appreciate 0
      06-25-2018, 06:47 PM   #18
UGADawgFan
Captain
United_States
248
Rep
681
Posts

Drives: F80 M3, B9 S4
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Issaquah, WA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaye944 View Post
you mean this "isn't" real life
so The matrix is for real

damn dont give me no red pill, I like my steak
we HAVE to be in the Matrix..trump is president. Give me the damn blue pill. The man eats steaks well done with ketchup for crying out loud.
Appreciate 1
jaye944616.00

Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:39 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST