BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

European Auto Source (EAS)

10-20-2011, 08:13 AM   #1
checkmate
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: AW M3 E90

Newbie to tracking-Need advice!

Hello friends,

As the title says-I'm very new to tracking. Like you, I believe that its a sacrilege not to track these cars. Enough said.

Things that I know thus far:
  • Need a racing helmet (SA 2005 or higher)
  • Stock brake pads aren't adequate for track day (Need advice on the best pads for the stock rotors)
  • Need a tech inspection report prior to tracking.

What do I need to do to attend a track day? How should I prepare myself and the car for track day?

I have no plans of getting a new brake kit. At most-I'll get aftermarket brake pads for the track but need advice on what to get.

That being said-considering the car is under warranty-will the dealership install a new set of brake pads assuming I fry them on the track? How about the brake fluid?

Would appreciate it if someone would detail the order of things for me. There are many websites on the basics of tracking however I wanted to hear from you all considering your are also fellow E9X owners.

Thank you!
Appreciate 0
      10-20-2011, 08:25 AM   #2
Martin_D
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: Ford Super Duty

• Performance Friction 06 or 01 Race Pads
  • Castrol RBF 600 or 660 Brake Fluid
  • Helmet of choice
  • Gloves of choice