BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing

09-06-2021, 05:27 PM   #1
bklynbred88
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2008 BMW E92 M3 Alpine White

Exclamation Battery not charging !!

Hi I'm new to the M3 community and made an account just to seek help for this particular issue. I've seen many posts on different solutions and I have almost exhausted out of all my options. To keep a long story short here's my issue.

Recently I have replaced a battery with a brand new one because the car would charge randomly. Some days the alternator would charge the battery at roughly 13.8v-14.2v while running. Other days the battery would not be charging and would stay at 11.8v-12.2v while running and eventually Christmas tree my dash and the car would shut off while driving or at a red light. This happened to me on 4 separate occasions and had left me stranded once. I'd have to get towed each time or a very strong jump.

Previous specs:
MTP-49/H8 Lead Acid
CCA 730 | CA 910 | RC 175 | Ah 100

Coded as AH 110 (not sure why)

Recommended specs:
H8 AGM
CCA 900 | Ah 90

Current specs:
H8-AGM
CCA 900 | Ah 95

I coded the battery from Ah 110 down to Ah 90 AGM using BimmerCode.
Registered the battery afterwards using BimmerLink.

After this sequence I started the car and read the voltage readout and it stayed roughly at 11.80 to 12.2 volts. I let the car sit for about 5 minutes and assumed the charging sequence has changed and it would take longer to kick in. However nothing has changed. The battery life charge drained to about 90% after 10 minutes of the car idling so I turned off the car.

Notes to consider: Alternator has been replaced already.
No codes. (yet?)