BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
European Auto Source (EAS)
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-04-2020, 09:12 AM   #1
turbo_joe
Major
turbo_joe's Avatar
611
Rep
1,067
Posts

Drives: 2012 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: SOMD

iTrader: (2)

New battery installed... coding needed?

So I swapped in an Antigravity Li Ion battery last weekend. What happens if I dont code the battery?

Everything "seems fine" with the car so far without coding anything
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2020, 10:56 AM   #2
Scrippy
Lord Scrip
Scrippy's Avatar
United_States
900
Rep
2,155
Posts

Drives: 2011 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: LA,Ca

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Charging from the alternator will be incorrect to a new battery if you don't inform the car it has a new battery. Over charging is the main downside which will damage battery thus shortening its life. The alternator too gets over worked in this case. So yes you need to code the new battery in so the car knows how to charge it. The longer you don't do this, the longer you are fucking up your electrical system.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2020, 10:23 AM   #3
turbo_joe
Major
turbo_joe's Avatar
611
Rep
1,067
Posts

Drives: 2012 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: SOMD

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrippy View Post
Charging from the alternator will be incorrect to a new battery if you don't inform the car it has a new battery. Over charging is the main downside which will damage battery thus shortening its life. The alternator too gets over worked in this case. So yes you need to code the new battery in so the car knows how to charge it. The longer you don't do this, the longer you are fucking up your electrical system.
I ended up coding the car anyway, only drove the car twice without coding it.
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2020, 10:49 AM   #4
Scrippy
Lord Scrip
Scrippy's Avatar
United_States
900
Rep
2,155
Posts

Drives: 2011 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: LA,Ca

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbo_joe View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrippy View Post
Charging from the alternator will be incorrect to a new battery if you don't inform the car it has a new battery. Over charging is the main downside which will damage battery thus shortening its life. The alternator too gets over worked in this case. So yes you need to code the new battery in so the car knows how to charge it. The longer you don't do this, the longer you are fucking up your electrical system.
I ended up coding the car anyway, only drove the car twice without coding it.
Right on
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2020, 08:44 PM   #5
MasterP
Colonel
657
Rep
2,265
Posts

Drives: All the M's
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Where do you want me?

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbo_joe View Post
So I swapped in an Antigravity Li Ion battery last weekend. What happens if I dont code the battery?

Everything "seems fine" with the car so far without coding anything
Which one did you get?
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2020, 09:08 PM   #6
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
4293
Rep
16,552
Posts


Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (19)

Garage List
2018 BMW i3s  [0.00]
2010 BMW M3  [5.00]
2015 BMW M4  [3.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbo_joe View Post
So I swapped in an Antigravity Li Ion battery last weekend. What happens if I dont code the battery?

Everything "seems fine" with the car so far without coding anything
Coding (actually, registration) is required. For the H6-40-RS, choose 40aH AGM setting.

https://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1684053
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2020, 06:30 AM   #7
turbo_joe
Major
turbo_joe's Avatar
611
Rep
1,067
Posts

Drives: 2012 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: SOMD

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Coding (actually, registration) is required. For the H6-40-RS, choose 40aH AGM setting.

https://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1684053
Thanks, I had the coding done remotely and sent all the battery info to the guy. He took care of everything
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2020, 06:31 AM   #8
turbo_joe
Major
turbo_joe's Avatar
611
Rep
1,067
Posts

Drives: 2012 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: SOMD

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterP View Post
Which one did you get?
I got the H6-40-RS

__________________
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST