BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
BPM
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-14-2018, 08:33 PM   #1
954MM
奈良シカマル
954MM's Avatar
United_States
255
Rep
270
Posts

Drives: 2011 Space Gray E90 M3
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Broward County, FL

iTrader: (0)

Shift Lever Malfunction

CC-ID 394

Was driving normally and got the error. I parked it, turned it off, turned it back on and it was normal for about a mile then it came back. Weird, but it let me downshift with the paddles.



UPDATE:

Scanned the car and these are the codes I got. Came to the conclusion that the shifter assembly needs to be replaced (61317842102).





__________________


http://954mm.com

IG: @954MM/@4DRM3

Last edited by 954MM; 07-15-2018 at 01:43 PM.
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2018, 01:20 AM   #2
yidgyi
///M
yidgyi's Avatar
United_States
139
Rep
516
Posts

Drives: 2013 E92 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Northern VA

iTrader: (0)

Check the wiring, maybe something came loose.
__________________
Follow me on IG: dre.m3
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2018, 09:39 AM   #3
deansbimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
deansbimmer's Avatar
United_States
1693
Rep
2,162
Posts


Drives: 2011 E93 M3
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: DFW, Texas

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2011 X5M  [0.00]
2011 BMW M3  [0.00]
Happens sometimes, usually it doesn't come back after clearing the codes. If the code keeps coming back then there's an internal issue. Solution is to replace the shifter assembly.
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2018, 09:45 AM   #4
954MM
奈良シカマル
954MM's Avatar
United_States
255
Rep
270
Posts

Drives: 2011 Space Gray E90 M3
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Broward County, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by deansbimmer View Post
Happens sometimes, usually it doesn't come back after clearing the codes. If the code keeps coming back then there's an internal issue. Solution is to replace the shifter assembly.
Yeah we tried clearing it with the carly app (his other tool wouldnt work) and it did absolutely nothing. I ordered a used shift assembly. Should get here Wednesday. Will update.
__________________


http://954mm.com

IG: @954MM/@4DRM3
Appreciate 1
      09-20-2018, 06:34 PM   #5
BAMFM3
Private First Class
BAMFM3's Avatar
30
Rep
193
Posts

Drives: 2013 MW E92 M3 DCT
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NC

iTrader: (4)

I got increased battery discharge warnings and finally went to dealer. Theyíre telling me I need to replace the DCT shifter as itís drawing power when off. I assumed it would have been the EDC module that would be the root cause. Guess not. Never got any warnings though so I have no clue.

Theyíre telling me car needs reprogrammed after install. Doesnít make sense to me but I trust them more than my local dealer. Did you have to reprogram?
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2018, 06:37 PM   #6
954MM
奈良シカマル
954MM's Avatar
United_States
255
Rep
270
Posts

Drives: 2011 Space Gray E90 M3
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Broward County, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BAMFM3 View Post
I got increased battery discharge warnings and finally went to dealer. They're telling me I need to replace the DCT shifter as it's drawing power when off. I assumed it would have been the EDC module that would be the root cause. Guess not. Never got any warnings though so I have no clue.

They're telling me car needs reprogrammed after install. Doesn't make sense to me but I trust them more than my local dealer. Did you have to reprogram?
Sorry for not coming back with results. I got a used shifter assembly from a crashed RHD car and replaced the old one. No coding needed. Everything worked fine. The longest part was waiting for the part to come in.
__________________


http://954mm.com

IG: @954MM/@4DRM3
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2018, 06:43 PM   #7
BAMFM3
Private First Class
BAMFM3's Avatar
30
Rep
193
Posts

Drives: 2013 MW E92 M3 DCT
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NC

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 954MM View Post
Sorry for not coming back with results. I got a used shifter assembly from a crashed RHD car and replaced the old one. No coding needed. Everything worked fine. The longest part was waiting for the part to come in.
Appreciate the response! Iíve only read of one other person with my issue on the forum so Iím going to start a thread to see if anyone else out there had a issue.

Thank you!
Appreciate 1
954MM254.50

      09-20-2018, 06:50 PM   #8
deansbimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
deansbimmer's Avatar
United_States
1693
Rep
2,162
Posts


Drives: 2011 E93 M3
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: DFW, Texas

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2011 X5M  [0.00]
2011 BMW M3  [0.00]
The DKG can fault and cause a draw. A brand new DKG would require coding but they are not VIN flashed so a used one can be installed plug-and-play. Used ones are available much cheaper. I have a few available as well.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2018, 06:53 PM   #9
BAMFM3
Private First Class
BAMFM3's Avatar
30
Rep
193
Posts

Drives: 2013 MW E92 M3 DCT
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NC

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by deansbimmer View Post
The DKG can fault and cause a draw. A brand new DKG would require coding but they are not VIN flashed so a used one can be installed plug-and-play. Used ones are available much cheaper. I have a few available as well.
Would DKG fault be hardware related and always require a new part? Or can the fault be cleared and returned to normal with no power draw?

Thank you greatly for the response!
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2018, 10:20 AM   #10
deansbimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
deansbimmer's Avatar
United_States
1693
Rep
2,162
Posts


Drives: 2011 E93 M3
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: DFW, Texas

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2011 X5M  [0.00]
2011 BMW M3  [0.00]
It is possible that it's an intermittent fault. ISTA-D software test modules can tell the tech if the fault is currently present or not and test the component. But most likely it's a permanent internal hardware fault. If you clear the faults and they return shortly afterwards then it just needs to be replaced.

It would make more sense to go through exhaustive diagnostics when paying for a brand new shifter (61317842102) at $750 plus coding costs, but at used prices (~$150) it just makes more sense to swap it out and move on.
__________________
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:08 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST