BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Wash, Wax, Detail, Cosmetic Maintenance & Repairs

Mporium BMW

09-01-2020, 12:50 PM   #1
PACarGuy
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2012 E92 M3 DCT ZCP

Garage List
Hey experienced detailers, wanted to get your thoughts on my plan to detail my 2012 M3. The paint is in very good, glossy condition with very few defects that I can see besides a few small stone chips on the hood that I've tried my best to touch up, and it spends pretty much all of its time in a garage, but I'd like to do a light DA cleanup/polish before putting on a LSP (probably "The Last Coat").

I bought a couple of "finishing polishes" - Menzerna 3500 and Meguiar's D302 - and the Lake Country 5.5" set of foam pads (Orange, White, Black) since I don't think the car really needs paint correction or compounding, though I am new at this so not really sure. I am leaning towards the Menzerna 3500 since it has a very light cut (3/10) to clean up any minor imperfections and produces high gloss, but I'm trying to decide which pad to use. The white is supposedly a "polishing" pad and the black is a "finishing" pad. Which would you recommend? Or are there better options like the Menzerna soft cut foam pad? Am I overthinking it?

Any thoughts or other tips appreciated. I am of course planning to do a full wash, decontamination, clay bar and eraser before polishing.
      09-02-2020, 10:58 PM   #2
arucano
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2014 M6 Grand Coupe CP

Garage List
2014 BMW M6 GC  [10.00]
Meguiar's D302 is designed for a microfiber pad. Does a nice job. Depending on how much you need to pollish, you can try some of the other polishes for foam pads. (I use Meguiar's ultimate polish with a medium pad for light work)
Appreciate 1
PACarGuy677.50
      09-03-2020, 12:47 AM   #3
Pheonix
Captain
Rep
Drives: 2007 Z4 M Coupe 2012 e93 M3

Garage List
2007 BMW/Z4MC  [0.00]