BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
EXXEL Distributions
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-12-2019, 11:18 AM   #1
Angr2387
Private
Angr2387's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: Bmw M3
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Error code p0111

Hey i have a 2008 bmw m3 stick version, that i just purchased. I hooked up my scanner and got a p0111 code, intake sensor. I replaced the sensor with a new one and still getting the code. I checked the wire that connects to the sensor with a multimeter and it has current. Only thing I can think of there is a short somewhere. The wire looks fine that goes into the harness. Also checked the temp and its reading fine compared to the coolant temp sensor. Any help will be well appreciated. Been on forums all week long. I feel like a shop will charge me 150 to "diagnosis" and double that to fix it , when most likely its something small.
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2019, 02:24 PM   #2
BayE30
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
1267
Rep
1,881
Posts

Drives: 2011.75 E90 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: San Francisco

iTrader: (5)

if you want to DIY these kinda fixes, best bet is to invest in some type of scanner tool than will pull actual BMW codes, and not the OBD2 generic P-codes. Will help alot to properly diagnose the issue.

FOXWELL has a BMW specific scan tool than is very affordable, or you can use an app like CARLY to diagnose as well.
__________________
I am never able to post pictures on forums, all my pics are on IG @baye30 https://www.instagram.com/baye30/
Current Garage - [2011 E90 M3 ZCP] [2005 E53 X5 3.0 Sport] [1988 E30 325IS 24V]
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2019, 02:25 PM   #3
Angr2387
Private
Angr2387's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: Bmw M3
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

I have the foxwell
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2019, 02:27 PM   #4
Angr2387
Private
Angr2387's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: Bmw M3
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

I get 2B4C dme intake air temp sensor plausibility
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2019, 03:29 PM   #5
BayE30
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
1267
Rep
1,881
Posts

Drives: 2011.75 E90 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: San Francisco

iTrader: (5)

Another user here recently had this same error code, and changing the sensor didnt work out for him either. Problem for him ended up being the hose at the left bottom corner of the intake plenum wasnt seated all the way on. Maybe start looking for any hoses or connections that are not secure on the plenum.
__________________
I am never able to post pictures on forums, all my pics are on IG @baye30 https://www.instagram.com/baye30/
Current Garage - [2011 E90 M3 ZCP] [2005 E53 X5 3.0 Sport] [1988 E30 325IS 24V]
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2019, 03:31 PM   #6
Angr2387
Private
Angr2387's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: Bmw M3
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

I read that post as well im here checking only hose i see is the big one from the intake to the back of the engine . Ill keep looking
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2019, 03:36 PM   #7
Angr2387
Private
Angr2387's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: Bmw M3
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

This one right?
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2019, 06:49 PM   #8
Angr2387
Private
Angr2387's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: Bmw M3
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

I just checked the multimeter and has 4.09 volts. When i disconnected the sensor just to see if throws the same code , automatically it throws a different one instead 2AFB dme intake air sensor instead the one i had with the plausibility. So im assuming its reading it electronically . It got too cold outside but my focus is now the hoses. Is there only one hose the big one in the picture i posted or are there others i should look for? Thanks
Appreciate 1
Dpc2u3635.50

      12-12-2019, 07:14 PM   #9
Dpc2u
Captain
Dpc2u's Avatar
United_States
3636
Rep
663
Posts

Drives: 2011 E93 M3
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Tennessee

iTrader: (0)

There are two hoses under the plenum.It looks like you have red valve covers, so obviously the intake has been off, probably more than once since it is an 08. Here is a good diy on actuator swap, but the 1st part deals with intake plenum removal. Give it a read, it should help point you in the right direction.
Appreciate 1
      12-12-2019, 07:21 PM   #10
Angr2387
Private
Angr2387's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: Bmw M3
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

thanks so much will take a look tomorrow after work.
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2019, 07:22 PM   #11
Angr2387
Private
Angr2387's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: Bmw M3
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

yeah the car came with everything. the valve cover was painted when i bought it.
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2019, 07:43 PM   #12
Dpc2u
Captain
Dpc2u's Avatar
United_States
3636
Rep
663
Posts

Drives: 2011 E93 M3
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Tennessee

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angr2387 View Post
thanks so much will take a look tomorrow after work.
Forgot the link, here you go-

DIY - Intake Plenum Removal https://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=275547

https://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=735033
Appreciate 1
      12-12-2019, 11:04 PM   #13
Angr2387
Private
Angr2387's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: Bmw M3
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

wow i got sad for 3 seconds when i found out the price of the actuators. For 3 seconds i thought i had to replace mines to fix my intake sensor issue. Glad I'm only looking for hoses. Weather is looking crappy in new york. hopefully it doesn't rain around 5pm later.
Appreciate 0
      12-13-2019, 05:12 AM   #14
Dpc2u
Captain
Dpc2u's Avatar
United_States
3636
Rep
663
Posts

Drives: 2011 E93 M3
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Tennessee

iTrader: (0)

LOL, I didn't mean to give a panic attack!
Appreciate 1
      12-14-2019, 07:01 PM   #15
Angr2387
Private
Angr2387's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: Bmw M3
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Okay it finally stop raining. I took the cover off. Im having a hard time finding the 2 hoses. Only one i saw was the one underneath the intake. Here some pics and videos[IMG][/IMG]
Attached Images
   
Appreciate 0
      12-14-2019, 07:30 PM   #16
Angr2387
Private
Angr2387's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: Bmw M3
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)



Video of motor
Appreciate 0
      12-14-2019, 07:57 PM   #17
Dpc2u
Captain
Dpc2u's Avatar
United_States
3636
Rep
663
Posts

Drives: 2011 E93 M3
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Tennessee

iTrader: (0)

You disconnected them to remove the cover. The small one under the front, and the big stubby one in the drivers side back corner. If either of these were not fully seated and tight, that would have caused your issue. The only way to really know is to remove the plenum, which you did, reassemble it, and make sure everything is properly seated and sealing. That's really the only way to eliminate that possibility from the equation.
Appreciate 0
      12-14-2019, 08:10 PM   #18
Angr2387
Private
Angr2387's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: Bmw M3
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

gotchaaaa okay ill put everything back hope it goes away. if not to the dealership next weekend i go. thanks
Appreciate 1
Dpc2u3635.50

      12-14-2019, 09:21 PM   #19
Dpc2u
Captain
Dpc2u's Avatar
United_States
3636
Rep
663
Posts

Drives: 2011 E93 M3
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Tennessee

iTrader: (0)

While you have the plenum off, you might want to trace the sensor wires back and just be sure it isn't pinched or damaged anywhere that may cause an intermittent signal loss.
Appreciate 0
      12-14-2019, 09:23 PM   #20
Angr2387
Private
Angr2387's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: Bmw M3
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Tell me how i put everything back notice the left side where it goes into that opening with the oil in it was sticking out now i gotta reseat it grrr
Appreciate 1
Dpc2u3635.50

      12-14-2019, 09:36 PM   #21
Dpc2u
Captain
Dpc2u's Avatar
United_States
3636
Rep
663
Posts

Drives: 2011 E93 M3
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Tennessee

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angr2387 View Post
Tell me how i put everything back notice the left side where it goes into that opening with the oil in it was sticking out now i gotta reseat it grrr
good practice.
Appreciate 0
      12-14-2019, 09:38 PM   #22
Angr2387
Private
Angr2387's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: Bmw M3
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Im gona need a beer after this
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST