BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Wash, Wax, Detail, Cosmetic Maintenance & Repairs

06-08-2023, 12:22 PM   #1
charliev68
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: bmw m3

Fender Repair

Is it possible to successfully repair fenders since they are plastic?
Went to a reputable repair shop and they said they would not fix it.
Attached Images

Appreciate 0
      06-08-2023, 12:29 PM   #2
SN1P3
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: E92 M3 ZCP

I would just replace it. What are the hesitations?
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2023, 10:46 AM   #3
rjsiciliano
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2013 MW e92 M3 ZCP

I am not a body expert but that could maybe bondo'd and resprayed? but at that point just buy a new fender
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2023, 11:57 AM   #4
Z K
Major General
Rep
Drives: E90 M3, G20 M340i

It can be plastic welded, sanded and resprayed. But the labor costs in doing that may be as much as buying a new fender and paint it.
      06-26-2023, 12:15 AM   #5
roastbeef
Lieutenant General
United_States
Rep
Drives: E92 M3

you could just epoxy it back together... might be hardly noticable.

thats a stress crack from the front bumper pulling on it from the bottom.... like someone put it over a parking block and it pulled at the bumper when you reversed off of it.
      06-26-2023, 10:16 PM   #6
charliev68
Second Lieutenant
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by roastbeef View Post
you could just epoxy it back together... might be hardly noticable.

thats a stress crack from the front bumper pulling on it from the bottom.... like someone put it over a parking block and it pulled at the bumper when you reversed off of it.
I have the Mporium skid plate installed on the car. Could that be putting stress on the fender?
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2023, 11:33 PM   #7
roastbeef
Lieutenant General
United_States
Rep
Drives: E92 M3

Quote:
Originally Posted by charliev68 View Post