BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav

08-06-2018, 01:58 PM   #1
wyatth
Colonel
Rep
Drives: E90 ZCP

E90 HiFi - Simple Audio Upgrade Recs?

Hi all,

I'll preface this by saying I'm an audio noob and I've read dozens of threads on this exact topic both on M3P and E90P. I know it's a common topic so I appreciate your patience and advice.

My new-to-me 2011 E90 has the base/HiFi sound system (note: in 2011, there are no rear door speakers). The sound quality at low speeds or with the windows up is actually fine. As noted above, I am no audiophile and I generally listen to my music on the quieter side. However, my issue is when I am on the freeway and I have the windows cracked. With the wind noise, the sound system cannot keep up - there is just not enough power/clarity to hear anything in this situation.

So I would like to give the system a modest upgrade (easy installation a must). After searching, it seems like I would be satisfied with an amplifier upgrade, and maybe some basic speakers.

Questions:
How does a XD600/6 with Technic harness compare to the BSW/Bimmertech amplifier? Any other PnP amp I should consider?
Will used OE EPS speakers be a plug-and-play speaker upgrade for me? I know the woofers won't work (2 vs 4 ohm, I think), but the midrange and tweeters should work. If so, would a kit from an E92 fit my E90 (I really only care to swap the front door speaker/tweeters, may or may not swap the rear deck pairs). I think they should be compatible, though I've read of some aftermarket speakers only fitting E90s and not 92s, so want to confirm.