BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > DIY Guides/ Discussions

BPM

12-10-2014, 04:10 AM   #1
e46m3tony
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: e46 m3

DIY: Rear differential and Subframe solid aluminum bushings

I wanted to give back to the community since i have received a lot of help

there were some DIYs out there for subframe bushings, but i wanted to do a full one where the whole subframe was removed.

I am not a mechanic and so please correct anything if it is wrong, and please do this at your own discretion. This job wasn't all that hard, but i did this all by my self.

First off my differential bolt broke off a while ago, and i noticed my bushing was also kind of ruined when that happened, but i opted out and just replaced the nut, not know that it would cause even more damage because i did not replace the bushing.

a month or two passed.....

herd a clunk again... and what do you know... broken bolt again... and bent subframe

ended up buying an used subframe from eBay. was in pretty good condition, checked to make sure it matched up with my rear, and wasn't bent. fit perfectly.

first i jacked up the car, and placed it on jackstands, also placed my rims under the car (extra precaution)

removed the V brace,

removed the exhaust

started to remove the differential by
starting with the E14 torx from the drive axles there are 6 on each side
then the 6 E12 torx on the driveshaft to differential.
I used Zipties top hold up the drive axles and drive shaft (DONT LET THEM HANG)

the drive shaft is stuck onto the differential, there should be some dimples where u can use a flat head to pry the differential and drive shaft apart, also mark up the driveshaft and differential with markings, so you can install it back in the same position, same goes for the drive axles, i just made some marks using a paint pen.