BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 Marketplace > Private Sellers - For Sale / Trade / Wanted > Cars for sale/wanted/trade

Mporium BMW

07-09-2017, 01:25 PM   #1
RoyRoberson
Rep
Drives: E46 M3 6MT - time to replace

WTB E92M3 6MT need your expert advice

BIMMERPOST / Classifieds
Asking Price:
None

Or Best Offer

Item Interest
Please provide some experienced member advice or comments on good equipment, options, and pricing. Sorry for the long post, but I have a lot to think about and I recognize when I am outside my own experience. Any suggestions and even specifc car recommendations are appreciated.

Following are my preferences from my research and test drives but I have no experience with the E92 and am still learning:

Previous Car Comparison:
I am looking for an E92 M3 to replace my daily driver E46 M3 that failed after 150k miles.

Every plastic component on the E46 became brittle and started to fail by about 100k miles: windshield cowl, door trim, kidney grills, soft-touch interior trim (like the ash tray), coolant expansion tank, even the water pump impeller. I had my local dealer replace all of these plus maintenance items that failed like VANOS, sub-frame, clutch, brakes, main seals, alternator.... Should I expect similar planned failures from the E92 components?

Model:
I prefer the E92 because smaller is better, I do not need 4 doors, the E93 is 400b heavier and my bald head does not need more sun. The light weight carbon roof sounds like a good idea, but to me it is the weight savings, not the carbon look that I find attractive. A sunroof would be OK.

Exterior Color: