BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > DIY Guides/ Discussions
 
EXXEL Distributions
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-17-2018, 11:32 PM   #1
derbo
Derbo Tuning
derbo's Avatar
3592
Rep
3,012
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (2)

DIY: Disable TPMS and Enable FTM without sensors

#Goal
Delete TPMS and enable FTM on E9x platforms.

##Prerequisites
  • Laptop with Windows or Windows VM on Mac/Linux.
  • OBDII KDCAN Cable
  • BMW Standard Tools installed with NCSexpert (bimmergeeks has this all readily available)
  • DATEN Files for BMW Coding
  • All of this working prior to this DIY! This guide is not designed to teach you how to use NCSexpert. There are plenty of guides out there for this!

##Background
I personally didn't want to spend the extra money on a second set of sensors. I figured the economical decision is to ditch the whole wheel sensors altogether and revert back to the Euro E9x/Pre-LCI E9x FTM system.

FTM = It uses the speed sensors in each wheel and compares rotational speeds to check if there is a differential between wheels. This will determine if there is a flat if there is a large deviation. The con is if there is a decrease in tire pressure across ALL tires due to not checking, it will not detect that. (ie. All tires drop to 29psi instead of set 33psi)

TPMS = This uses sensors in the wheels and connects to a main RDC unit in the passenger rear wheel well (at least for LCI E90 2010+). This system is more accurate but can get costly with extra sensors when multiple sets of rims or in my case, racing rims that were not designed for TPMS.

During my research, I found a thread that describing exactly what I wanted to do! http://e84.xbimmers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1145078 Thanks improvius for documenting this awesome finding!


##Hardware Removal
The first step is to remove TPMS RDC module by unplugging it. Please see below based on your build dates.

Link:
https://www.newtis.info/tisv2/a/en/e...e-monitor-rdc/

Thanks to nolaman1970 for linking the TIS page here.

(up to 08/2009 build date):
The RDC module should be inside the trunk liner near the battery.



(09/2009+) :
Take off the rear right wheel and undo the inner fender liner. After that, I unplugged the RDC module which is in the lowest rearmost area of the fender liner.



### NCSExpert changes
  • Remove $2VB vehicle order
  • Add $265 vehicle order ** Optional if you want FTM enabled **
  • FA Write to the CAS module
  • Either code defaults to CAS, KOMBI, DSC, CIC or add the following code to the corresponding module if you do not wish to recode all the settings you changed from the defaults.
Code:
CIC: RPA_CIC ** Optional if you want FTM enabled ** 
aktiv
CIC: RDC
nicht_aktiv
CIC: RDC_SAFETY
nicht_aktiv
KOMBI: RDC_ALIVE
nicht_aktiv
KOMBI: MMI_ENA_RPA_RDC ** Optional if you want FTM enabled ** 
aktiv
KOMBI: RDC_VERBAUT
nicht_aktiv
KOMBI: DSC_MIT_RPA_CC ** Optional if you want FTM enabled ** 
aktiv
KOMBI: RDC_DISP_SWITCH
nicht_aktiv
M3DSC: RPA ** Optional if you want FTM enabled ** 
aktiv
CCC Headunits change this instead of CIC parameters above
Code:
CAPPL: RDC_CCC
nicht_aktiv
CIC module now shows FTM instead of TPMS!


Hit reset after checking your pressures and let the FTM initialize and confirm it is working now.



Good luck!



#Changelog

## v1.0 - 2018.04.17
### Added
-Initial Documentation ported from my journal.

## v1.1 -2018.11.28
### Added
-Added RDC module locations thanks to nolaman1970 for pointing out newTIS link.
### Changed
Adjusted the directions to unplugging the modules to include pictures and build dates based on TIS information.

## v1.2 -2020.06.28
## Changed
changed the MK60_M3 to M3DSC as NCSexpert reports M3DSC not MK60_M3 like NCSDummy shows. (Thanks to those that reported it)

## v1.3 -2021.01.09
## Changed
added CCC parameter

## v1.3 -2022.05.26
## Changed
updated instructions to show enabling FTM as optional.
__________________
IG:ruhrohz_m3
Journal: Link
E9x ZCP Suspension Info: Link
Track Chat Discord: https://discord.gg/VsKbTyqBVj
SF Bay Area: DM For coding services

Last edited by derbo; 05-26-2022 at 03:10 PM..
Appreciate 11
Aktavate245.50
dkexige61.50
///Mobbin1474.50
brettcp341.00
san40k21.00
DrFerry6722.50
tsk941514.50
      04-18-2018, 03:47 PM   #2
M3Ap1
Sergeant
35
Rep
93
Posts

Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (4)

Wanted to note that for non-iDrive, you do not need to add $265 vehicle order.
Appreciate 1
derbo3592.00
      04-18-2018, 08:56 PM   #3
derbo
Derbo Tuning
derbo's Avatar
3592
Rep
3,012
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M3Ap1 View Post
Wanted to note that for non-iDrive, you do not need to add $265 vehicle order.
Out of curiosity, FTM still works without it? I was under the impression from my research, removing 2VB is removing TPMS, and adding 265 is enabling FTM.

S265A TYRE PRESSURE CONTROL (TPC)
S2VBA TYRE PRESSURE CONTROL (TPC)

Either way, let me know and I'll update the thread!
__________________
IG:ruhrohz_m3
Journal: Link
E9x ZCP Suspension Info: Link
Track Chat Discord: https://discord.gg/VsKbTyqBVj
SF Bay Area: DM For coding services
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2018, 05:39 AM   #4
Tony B
Lieutenant
84
Rep
445
Posts

Drives: 2012 E92 M3, MW, ZCP, 6MT
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Interesting direction to go - I want to go in the opposite one! As much for tyre temperature as pressure (the Comp Pack E92 is apparently very sensitive to over inflation due to tyre heating), and I do like a nice bit of autobahn exploitation whenever I go to the Nurburgring.

As UK spec cars do not have the full TPMS, obviously I would need to get the in-wheel sensors before anything else can work.

Do you have any pictures of the sensors? How are they powered?

I was considering getting an aftermarket solution, with sensors incorporated in the valve dust caps, but they do look a little large. You can also get tyre temperature from these systems - does the BMW TPMS provide this too?

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: Update - done some more research, and now have pics of the sensors. Seeing as these valve assemblies appear to be made from metal, rather than the normal (for non-US cars) rubber, I guess that the aftermarket valve cap sensors are also intended for these valve assemblies. My main concern about using these on rubber assemblies is the amount of stem “wobble” the extra weight would cause.
__________________

Last edited by Tony B; 04-20-2018 at 10:02 AM..
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2018, 07:52 AM   #5
nolaman1970
Private
United_States
57
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW M3 E93
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Marrero, LA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3  [0.00]
Hi Derbo, Thank you for the help. I really want to get this done, so I don't have to buy these sensors just to get rid of the message or add additional hardware to by pass. I have the similar car to yours, mine is a 2011 E93. Last night I looked to add the $265 vehicle order and remove the $2VB vehicle order. I'm not sure if I did something wrong but I could find the $265 and press the add button, but once I back out and go back in it's not there anymore, I am guessing I need to write using FA Write, but haven't found that yet. I did backup all of the modules last night just in case I loose my settings. I did not see anyway to remove $2VB, I could see it on the list but only one option/button was to Add.

I will try again tonight and see if I can FA Write.
I was following the post on e84.xbimmers.com and could not find "XDSC" so I stopped. Now I see I should have followed this one instead.


Quote:
Originally Posted by derbo View Post
Out of curiosity, FTM still works without it? I was under the impression from my research, removing 2VB is removing TPMS, and adding 265 is enabling FTM.

S265A TYRE PRESSURE CONTROL (TPC)
S2VBA TYRE PRESSURE CONTROL (TPC)

Either way, let me know and I'll update the thread!
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2018, 10:32 AM   #6
derbo
Derbo Tuning
derbo's Avatar
3592
Rep
3,012
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (2)

When you are on the VO screen, highlight the VO and hitting the "delete" button on your keyboard will remove it.

You definitely need to do an FA write to the modules in order to have the VO stick.

Here is a DIY on how to do VO.
http://codinge90.com/ncs-expert-how-...vehicle-order/
__________________
IG:ruhrohz_m3
Journal: Link
E9x ZCP Suspension Info: Link
Track Chat Discord: https://discord.gg/VsKbTyqBVj
SF Bay Area: DM For coding services
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2018, 10:36 AM   #7
tdott
Brigadier General
3931
Rep
3,972
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South FL / 6ix

iTrader: (4)

Exactly what I did a few years ago.
I'm a wheel whore, so there is no way I'm dealing with the sensors every-time I swap wheels, or get sensors for every set.

Great for those who run a separate set of track wheels and don't want to buy sensors but still have some safety.

Appreciate 2
derbo3592.00
DrFerry6722.50
      04-20-2018, 11:15 AM   #8
furry
Private
16
Rep
92
Posts

Drives: E39 M5
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Can this coding be done remotely?
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2018, 11:29 AM   #9
tdott
Brigadier General
3931
Rep
3,972
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South FL / 6ix

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by furry View Post
Can this coding be done remotely?
Yes, all coding can be done remotely. Even ecu tuning can be done remotely with the right tools.

You will still need to physically remove the module though.
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2018, 11:52 AM   #10
derbo
Derbo Tuning
derbo's Avatar
3592
Rep
3,012
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdott View Post
Exactly what I did a few years ago.
I'm a wheel whore, so there is no way I'm dealing with the sensors every-time I swap wheels, or get sensors for every set.

Great for those who run a separate set of track wheels and don't want to buy sensors but still have some safety.

Yup! The information is out there and requires a good amount of hunting around to find the proper stuff. I figured I put it in a thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by furry View Post
Can this coding be done remotely?
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdott View Post
Yes, all coding can be done remotely. Even ecu tuning can be done remotely with the right tools.

You will still need to physically remove the module though.
tdott is right. This can be done remotely as long as you have a proper KDCAN cable and working laptop with the software. The module still requires to be unplugged or else you will get errors on the screen still.
__________________
IG:ruhrohz_m3
Journal: Link
E9x ZCP Suspension Info: Link
Track Chat Discord: https://discord.gg/VsKbTyqBVj
SF Bay Area: DM For coding services
Appreciate 1
DrFerry6722.50
      04-20-2018, 02:11 PM   #11
TigerTater
Private First Class
TigerTater's Avatar
70
Rep
137
Posts

Drives: 2005 330i ZHP
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Baton Rouge

iTrader: (1)

Yes correct In 08-09 cars the module is tucked behind the carpet/insulation against the fender in the battery box location.

I also have non-iDrive car. I added the $265 VO, but I have read elsewhere that it was not necessary. I have not tested it personally as far as dropping pressure to verify. I also have a button on my mid dash area that is supposed to do something related to tire monitoring lol.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2018, 09:22 PM   #12
nolaman1970
Private
United_States
57
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW M3 E93
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Marrero, LA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3  [0.00]
Got it thank you, never thought to hit delete with the Add button there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by derbo View Post
When you are on the VO screen, highlight the VO and hitting the "delete" button on your keyboard will remove it.

You definitely need to do an FA write to the modules in order to have the VO stick.

Here is a DIY on how to do VO.
http://codinge90.com/ncs-expert-how-...vehicle-order/
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2018, 11:01 PM   #13
derbo
Derbo Tuning
derbo's Avatar
3592
Rep
3,012
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nolaman1970 View Post
I removed and added the VO's.
I was able to find almost everthing to code.
I could not find LMA ECU from the codinge90 site instructions it is not on my list of modules see picture.
"choose the LMA ECU and press the OK button"
Take a look for me and see what you think.

All of the CIC and KOMBI settings and changed but I could not find:
"MK60_M3: RPA"

About to find the RDC module to disconnect car is up in the air now.

Thank you,
MK60_M3 is M3DSC
__________________
IG:ruhrohz_m3
Journal: Link
E9x ZCP Suspension Info: Link
Track Chat Discord: https://discord.gg/VsKbTyqBVj
SF Bay Area: DM For coding services
Appreciate 0
      04-21-2018, 11:08 AM   #14
nolaman1970
Private
United_States
57
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW M3 E93
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Marrero, LA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3  [0.00]
Thank you guys for all of the info and replying/helping me.
I believe I was successful today. Last night I unplugged the RDC module "popsicle" behind the plastic cover inside of the rear right wheel well(2011 E93). I now do not have any low tire warning or malfunction warnings on the Dash or in IDrive. My left rear wheel sensor is dead, and I do not plan on replacing any of them. FTM now shows up in IDrive now, have not tested lowering a rear wheel's pressure yet, but I am

Process followed:
VO Settings:
$2VB - Removed
$265 - Added
I was able to FA Write - CAS
I was not able to FA Write - LMA, LMA is not in my list at all.

All of the below settings are now set and verified after re-reading the modules.
CIC: RPA_CIC
aktiv
CIC: RDC
nicht_aktiv
CIC: RDC_SAFETY
nicht_aktiv
KOMBI: RDC_ALIVE
nicht_aktiv
KOMBI: MMI_ENA_RPA_RDC
aktiv
KOMBI: RDC_VERBAUT
nicht_aktiv
KOMBI: DSC_MIT_RPA_CC
aktiv
KOMBI: RDC_DISP_SWITCH
nicht_aktiv
M3DSC: (MK60_M3): RPA
aktiv

Next I will backup these modules and any others I changed.
All of my coding over the last week.

1) DTRL off in auto (this did work but my angel eyes are also off in auto)
2) Welcome disclaimer off
3) Folding mirrors with key fob .5 seconds
4) 5 Blink blinkers (custom code)
5) Lower Fuel Reserve Warning was 1/4 tank now 1/8 tank.
6) TPM off, FTM on
7) E93 Convertible open/close while moving slowly

If anyone knows how to keep the angel eyes on during the day in auto without DTRL that would be great.

Thank you for all of the help and information you guys are great!!!
Attached Images
 

Last edited by nolaman1970; 04-21-2018 at 11:31 AM.. Reason: Add pic
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2018, 05:52 PM   #15
DimitrisM3
e90 my big fat lady!
DimitrisM3's Avatar
Greece
49
Rep
290
Posts

Drives: e90
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Greece Naoussa

iTrader: (0)

Ok now I need help I have European style rdc
And I want to change it in Usa style
What need to change coding to work proper?
Tpm on ftm off






Quote:
Originally Posted by nolaman1970 View Post
Thank you guys for all of the info and replying/helping me.
I believe I was successful today. Last night I unplugged the RDC module "popsicle" behind the plastic cover inside of the rear right wheel well(2011 E93). I now do not have any low tire warning or malfunction warnings on the Dash or in IDrive. My left rear wheel sensor is dead, and I do not plan on replacing any of them. FTM now shows up in IDrive now, have not tested lowering a rear wheel's pressure yet, but I am

Process followed:
VO Settings:
$2VB - Removed
$265 - Added
I was able to FA Write - CAS
I was not able to FA Write - LMA, LMA is not in my list at all.

All of the below settings are now set and verified after re-reading the modules.
CIC: RPA_CIC
aktiv
CIC: RDC
nicht_aktiv
CIC: RDC_SAFETY
nicht_aktiv
KOMBI: RDC_ALIVE
nicht_aktiv
KOMBI: MMI_ENA_RPA_RDC
aktiv
KOMBI: RDC_VERBAUT
nicht_aktiv
KOMBI: DSC_MIT_RPA_CC
aktiv
KOMBI: RDC_DISP_SWITCH
nicht_aktiv
M3DSC: (MK60_M3): RPA
aktiv

Next I will backup these modules and any others I changed.
All of my coding over the last week.

1) DTRL off in auto (this did work but my angel eyes are also off in auto)
2) Welcome disclaimer off
3) Folding mirrors with key fob .5 seconds
4) 5 Blink blinkers (custom code)
5) Lower Fuel Reserve Warning was 1/4 tank now 1/8 tank.
6) TPM off, FTM on
7) E93 Convertible open/close while moving slowly

If anyone knows how to keep the angel eyes on during the day in auto without DTRL that would be great.

Thank you for all of the help and information you guys are great!!!
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2018, 06:27 PM   #16
derbo
Derbo Tuning
derbo's Avatar
3592
Rep
3,012
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DimitrisM3 View Post
Ok now I need help I have European style rdc
And I want to change it in Usa style
What need to change coding to work proper?
Tpm on ftm off
I would imagine you need some wiring done as the RDC cables might not be there on the Euro models. Otherwise, somewhat a reversal process when you add the VO and recode the defaults.
__________________
IG:ruhrohz_m3
Journal: Link
E9x ZCP Suspension Info: Link
Track Chat Discord: https://discord.gg/VsKbTyqBVj
SF Bay Area: DM For coding services
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2018, 04:51 AM   #17
DimitrisM3
e90 my big fat lady!
DimitrisM3's Avatar
Greece
49
Rep
290
Posts

Drives: e90
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Greece Naoussa

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by derbo View Post
I would imagine you need some wiring done as the RDC cables might not be there on the Euro models. Otherwise, somewhat a reversal process when you add the VO and recode the defaults.
Everything is on 100%
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2018, 08:00 PM   #18
DreamTime
Captain
DreamTime's Avatar
864
Rep
765
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90 M3 6MT
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Greenville, SC

iTrader: (2)

Awesome thread, Derek. Thanks for pointing me in this direction. Can't wait to do this after I get back from the track this weekend!
Appreciate 1
DrFerry6722.50
      07-24-2018, 11:10 PM   #19
dkexige
Lieutenant
dkexige's Avatar
Canada
62
Rep
531
Posts

Drives: E90 M3, 8J TTRS
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cambridge, MA

iTrader: (4)

Good thread. Tagging for later as I always get annoyed at the TPMS warning while the track tires are on.
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2018, 07:55 PM   #20
niksss
Private
10
Rep
87
Posts

Drives: 2016 BMW F10 535i
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Bulgaria

iTrader: (0)

Hello guys. I have done everything apart from disconnecting the module. I have an 2012 E92. Where is the RDC located ? I couldn’t find it near the battery.
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2018, 10:20 PM   #21
nolaman1970
Private
United_States
57
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW M3 E93
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Marrero, LA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3  [0.00]
https://www.newtis.info/tisv2/a/en/e...e-monitor-rdc/

Find your car on Tis. Mine was behind the rear passenger tire in the well.
Appreciate 1
derbo3592.00
      11-28-2018, 11:52 PM   #22
derbo
Derbo Tuning
derbo's Avatar
3592
Rep
3,012
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nolaman1970 View Post
https://www.newtis.info/tisv2/a/en/e...e-monitor-rdc/

Find your car on Tis. Mine was behind the rear passenger tire in the well.
Thanks for linking it! I updated the first post with this information and screenshots in case newTIS dissapears.
__________________
IG:ruhrohz_m3
Journal: Link
E9x ZCP Suspension Info: Link
Track Chat Discord: https://discord.gg/VsKbTyqBVj
SF Bay Area: DM For coding services
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST