BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
European Auto Source (EAS)
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-26-2018, 08:16 PM   #1
that_grey_m3
Private First Class
27
Rep
192
Posts

Drives: Space Grey E92 M3 6 spd
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: vancouver

iTrader: (0)

Smile How many motor mounts for 6MT e92 m3?

Hi guys,

I am looking at replacing my motor mounts on my 2008 6 speed e92 m3. I just want to make sure how many motor mounts I will need to buy to replace.

At first I thought I will just need to buy one motor mount but after looking it seems there are two mounts. If someone could help me out that would be super great!! I am just confused right now.

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2018, 08:17 PM   #2
roastbeef
Major General
roastbeef's Avatar
United_States
4236
Rep
8,345
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (1)

there are two. generally sold as pairs.
__________________
Appreciate 2
      01-26-2018, 11:00 PM   #3
that_grey_m3
Private First Class
27
Rep
192
Posts

Drives: Space Grey E92 M3 6 spd
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: vancouver

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by roastbeef View Post
there are two. generally sold as pairs.
Thanks very much!!
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2018, 11:32 PM   #4
tdott
Lieutenant Colonel
610
Rep
1,694
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South FL

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by roastbeef View Post
there are two. generally sold as pairs.
In my experience they are sold as individual items. You’d have to buy 2 unless it says it comes as a pair.
Appreciate 1
      01-27-2018, 12:04 AM   #5
1MOREMOD
2018 track days - 0 ridge 1:52:24 pacific 1:33:30
1MOREMOD's Avatar
United_States
6396
Rep
19,954
Posts

Drives: Race car->
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: check your mirrors

iTrader: (5)

Don't let them fool you there is a little known 3rd one in the trunk
Appreciate 3
      01-27-2018, 12:16 AM   #6
that_grey_m3
Private First Class
27
Rep
192
Posts

Drives: Space Grey E92 M3 6 spd
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: vancouver

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdott View Post
In my experience they are sold as individual items. You’d have to buy 2 unless it says it comes as a pair.
Yes on ECS they sell the motor mounts separately, but also a double package with transmission mounts to for not too much more.
Appreciate 0
      01-27-2018, 12:18 AM   #7
that_grey_m3
Private First Class
27
Rep
192
Posts

Drives: Space Grey E92 M3 6 spd
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: vancouver

iTrader: (0)

Should I go with OEM or Lemforder/Corteco motor mounts? I heard BMW uses Lemforder from factory. I am considering them as they are like 50 bucks cheaper per piece and seem to be similar! Any insight would be appreciated.
Appreciate 0
      01-27-2018, 07:48 AM   #8
pbonsalb
Major General
1475
Rep
5,525
Posts

Drives: 08 E90 M3, 99 E36 M3 Turbo
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Concord, NH

iTrader: (3)

BMW uses Corteco from the factory for the motor mounts.
Appreciate 1
      01-27-2018, 07:50 AM   #9
spazzyfry123
Major
spazzyfry123's Avatar
United_States
803
Rep
1,091
Posts

Drives: Jeeps
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW E90 M3  [5.00]
I'm really liking my Vibra-Technic motor mounts I recently had installed. Barely transmits any NVH, but definitely feels tighter.
Appreciate 1
      01-27-2018, 08:24 AM   #10
pbonsalb
Major General
1475
Rep
5,525
Posts

Drives: 08 E90 M3, 99 E36 M3 Turbo
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Concord, NH

iTrader: (3)

New mounts usually feel better than old mounts.
Appreciate 0
      01-27-2018, 09:01 AM   #11
kyrix1st
Lieutenant
kyrix1st's Avatar
Japan
217
Rep
516
Posts

Drives: E36 M3 Euro, E36/7, E92 M3
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Kyoto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2004 BMW Z4  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbonsalb View Post
New mounts usually feel better than old mounts.
No shi.....

Get Vibra Technics(street.) That's what is going in my E92 soon.
__________________
Pass me if you can.
Appreciate 3
      01-27-2018, 09:30 AM   #12
pbonsalb
Major General
1475
Rep
5,525
Posts

Drives: 08 E90 M3, 99 E36 M3 Turbo
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Concord, NH

iTrader: (3)

You don’t need vibra technics mounts but if you want to spend $300 instead of $120, they are worth considering — people don’t seem to complain about any increased NVH.
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2018, 11:20 AM   #13
Iyzmi
Major
536
Rep
1,345
Posts

Drives: E92 M3 6MT ESS 625+
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Cold

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by that_grey_m3 View Post
Yes on ECS they sell the motor mounts separately, but also a double package with transmission mounts to for not too much more.
Is it recommended to replace the motor and trans mount nuts when doing this job? I noticed the kit ECS sells includes them for an extra $10 over the cost of purchasing the mounts separately.

https://www.ecstuning.com/b-corteco-...812283798kt11/
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2018, 11:32 AM   #14
///M Power-Belgium
Lieutenant General
///M Power-Belgium's Avatar
Belgium
17251
Rep
10,292
Posts

Drives: ///M3-DCT- E92 Silverstone II
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdott View Post
In my experience they are sold as individual items. You’d have to buy 2 unless it says it comes as a pair.
Yeah , usually a pair = 2
__________________
BPM DEV-Tune & DCT software update & Servotronic & coding///Alpine HID Angeleyes///Oem.exhaust mod.
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2018, 11:34 AM   #15
pbonsalb
Major General
1475
Rep
5,525
Posts

Drives: 08 E90 M3, 99 E36 M3 Turbo
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Concord, NH

iTrader: (3)

I usually do not replace hardware unless it needs replacement (some TTY bolts, some lock/crimp/plastic top nuts), but a lot of people here like everything new because they have an expensive limited edition bmw racecar.
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2018, 09:21 AM   #16
tdott
Lieutenant Colonel
610
Rep
1,694
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South FL

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///M Power-Belgium View Post
Yeah , usually a pair = 2
Yes but they don't always come as a pair unless the vendor puts together a 'package'.
__________________
Appreciate 1
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST