BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis

10-03-2018, 11:06 AM   #1
Megabrode
He's experimenting with something...
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2011 e92 M3

"Normal mode"

My car is basic, notably with no M button or EDC. Since I have very little experience with those feature in other e9x M's, I sometimes wonder if I'm missing something.

Once in awhile I Google historic e9x M reviews. Today I saw this in the Motor Trend review of a 2008 Melbourne Red coupe:

"Oddly enough, the new M3 seems to work best in normal mode. For our hot laps around the technically demanding Ascari circuit in southern Spain (a stunning, privately owned 3.2 mile circuit with 26 turns and numerous changes in elevation) the fast setup seemed to be the standard throttle, shock and steering settings with the stability control switched right off so you could use the gas to counter the understeer in the tighter turns. The faster throttle settings make the car a little more difficult to balance, and the sport shock setting means the shock rate is fixed -- in normal or comfort modes, the shocks adapt to cornering loads."

I assume my car is perpetually in "normal mode." For those of you with the aforementioned driver's aids, does Motor Trend's experience and judgment reflect your own?
Analog 2011 e92 M3 | Jerez Black | Black Novillo | 6MT | CF roof | No iDrive, Nav, M button, ZCP, EDC, or center hump | ZHP shift knob | OMP 1010 pedals | K&N filter | Dinan engine tune | OEM exhaust mod (bypass) | EAS exhaust tips | shaved front bumper | 19" Apex EC-7 | 12 mm rear spacers
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2018, 11:53 AM   #2
Scharbag
Colonel
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2011 E92 M3

Garage List
2011 BMW E92 M3  [0.00]
IIRC correctly, the ZCP versions have variable shock rates even in sport setting.