BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis

09-24-2010, 02:00 AM   #1
mmm_03
Private
Rep
Drives: m3

Stock brakes suitable for occasional track use?

Hi Guys! Pardon my ignorance, I'm a newbie when it comes to brakes, and wanted to ask if anyone has tracked their car using just stock brakes? Is it dangerous? I plan to bring my M3 to the track soon just to get a glimpse of the M3's track performance, but I don't intend to drive all out or very aggressively. My car is fairly new and just done the required Bmw service after 1200 miles break-in. Thanks in advance!
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2010, 02:05 AM   #2
LateBraking
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep
Drives: Relatively Quick.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmm_03 View Post
Is it dangerous?
Not really. The need for more demanding brakes will come with the need to get more out of your vehicle, which will come with an increase in skill level.

And really, the OEM BMW brakes are pretty capable, though the usual recommended upgrades are pads and fluids (and lines).
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2010, 02:48 AM   #3
mmm_03
Private
Rep

And really, the OEM BMW brakes are pretty capable, though the usual recommended upgrades are pads and fluids (and lines).[/QUOTE]

Thanks for your inputs and advise. Greatly appreciated. I do plan to go that upgrade route when my track skill level improves as well. I have already decided to go with Stop Tech's Street Performance Brake Pads, Stop Tech's SS brake lines and Motul RBF600. I think this should satisfy my needs in the future.
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2010, 03:56 AM   #4
MysticBlue
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: '20 M5C, '09 M3 DCT Coupe