BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
BPM
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-07-2022, 06:37 PM   #749
drwankel
Captain
drwankel's Avatar
577
Rep
762
Posts

Drives: 2012 E92 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Bothell, WA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigamilla View Post
Installed the new DSP box last weekend but haven't really had a chance to play with it, and they did honour the discount after verifying that bought the original box. The bass is definitely now on par with the Combox, very curious as to what settings people are using?

I turned up the DSP bass settings etc to the point of distortion and the went a few notches down as a test, but not sure if I should leave everything flat and use the CIC tone settings instead? Have to say this is SOOOO much easier to install than the original box as all the antennas are internal. All in all very pleased with it.
Regarding sound settings- an update on my experiences so far.

The missing bass is restored with the EQ set to flat. The question now is- does the DSP need further adjustment, or is a flat EQ an exact match?

Testing is needed, but one odd ball thing I've noticed. The overall volume of the P2000 is slightly less than the CIC. I noticed the system volume looks like its maxed out at 30 in the P2000 menu, with navigation volume set to 25. However, the volume max is actually 32 not 30.

Increasing the volume to 32 gets it seemingly back inline with the rest of the CIC, but this introduces distortion. Specifically, I noticed the navigation voice in waze had distortion when the system volume was raised to 32. As such- I'd leave this setting alone. Keep it at 30. Have not tried raising it to 31 yet either.

As far as the rest of the EQ, I too have noticed that going to far with it introduces distortion. My initial testing with an iphone DB app suggested modifying the EQ with the following settings:


31HZ: +5
63hz +2
80Hz +1
160hz +4
375hz +0


I'm unclear if this is introducing distortion or not. You can try these settings and see how they sound to you.

The testing I did was the following- Download a test tone, example, 31hz. Play the tone natively in CIC, monitor the DB level with a DB reader, and record it. Go into the P2000, play the same test tone, and modify the EQ for that tone to get the DB level to be an exact match.

Realistically, I need to redo these tests with a standalone DB meter, and do the test directly from carplay (initial testing was done with the media player in the P2000), but its a starting point.

Again- we may very well need no adjustment at all. The slight system volume differences could have very well made my testing invalid.

Last edited by drwankel; 05-07-2022 at 07:25 PM..
Appreciate 2
      05-08-2022, 11:33 PM   #750
SocalM3
Private
SocalM3's Avatar
United_States
27
Rep
96
Posts

Drives: E93 Mineral White M3
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Socal

iTrader: (2)

For those with the updated new units, does your on screen keyboard function now? On the older unit, whenever I try to input some text via the keyboard (for example, when I want to enter a street address in google maps), I cannot scroll down to the keyboard to enter anything. Since my microphone does not work, I really would like this function to be working.
__________________
E93 Mineral White M3 DCT
E60 Sapphire Black M5 6MT
E39 Black M5
E34 Alpine White II M5
E28 Black M5
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2022, 12:14 AM   #751
drwankel
Captain
drwankel's Avatar
577
Rep
762
Posts

Drives: 2012 E92 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Bothell, WA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SocalM3 View Post
For those with the updated new units, does your on screen keyboard function now? On the older unit, whenever I try to input some text via the keyboard (for example, when I want to enter a street address in google maps), I cannot scroll down to the keyboard to enter anything. Since my microphone does not work, I really would like this function to be working.
It does not work in the new unit. I made a point of connecting the mr12volt mic in case this was still an issue and it is. Installing the mic isn't that bad. The worst part is reinstalling the A pillar.

As a mitigation- keyboard access is in my case usually needed for a navigation app. Using your google maps example. While stopped, I would open google maps on the phone and enter the address, and start navigation from the phone, which will automatically pickup on the google maps carplay app. Same deal for Waze.

Anyway, its clearly a software bug on the mr12volt side. I'd recommend reporting it to them. The more reports they get about bugs, the better. Helps them understand the scope of the issue.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2022, 03:52 AM   #752
eddiegordo
New Member
8
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 E92
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

Am I understanding correctly that the keyboard doesn't work at all?

Surprised I haven't seen anyone mentioning this before. Keyboard is pretty important, if I have to pick up my phone to type an address it kind of defeats the purpose of having something like this.

In the carsara box you can either type each key using the iDrive scrolling wheel, or you can "send" the keyboard to the phone and type it there. Do any of these work with the new mr12volt unit?
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2022, 12:17 PM   #753
Cyberdemon
Brigadier General
Cyberdemon's Avatar
1393
Rep
3,190
Posts

Drives: 2020 X5 40i, 2011 E90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Long Island NY

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddiegordo View Post
Am I understanding correctly that the keyboard doesn't work at all?

Surprised I haven't seen anyone mentioning this before. Keyboard is pretty important, if I have to pick up my phone to type an address it kind of defeats the purpose of having something like this.

In the carsara box you can either type each key using the iDrive scrolling wheel, or you can "send" the keyboard to the phone and type it there. Do any of these work with the new mr12volt unit?
To be fair this thread is the first time I heard that there is an onscreen keyboard in my entire time using Carplay. I always just use voice or my phone to enter where I'm going before I leave. 99% of the time I want to search for something using Siri or Google then go from there.

So it doesn't really seem to be a deal breaker - the only time I even use voice for entry is if I'm driving and need to find coffee or gas.
__________________
Current: '20 X5, '11 E90 335i
Previous: '11 E90 M3, '16 VW GTI, '15 M235i, '13 335i, '08 TL-S, '00 Corvette
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2022, 12:36 PM   #754
RUG8RB8
New Member
United_States
5
Rep
17
Posts

Drives: 2009 BMW M3 E93, many more
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: San Ramon, CA & Weeki Wachee, FL

iTrader: (1)

Finally completed this Upgrade and I could not be anymore happy, both with function and looks! Thanks to all the pioneers ahead of me with all the guidance. Just to have a phone conversation with somebody now at speed on the freeway with my Uber loud open exhaust is a pleasure! The supplied mic works great, I placed in the E93 stock location and now everyone says difference is amazing. The front camera was a bit finicky at first but I figured it out and works wonderfully now. I will finally installed my GT2 splitter. The DSP equalizer is nothing short of amazing! Can't wait to go by my friends shop with a spectrum analyzer and tunes things in perfectly. Thanks again for all the great information in this thread!!!
Attached Images
      
Appreciate 2
tdott3385.50
      05-09-2022, 03:08 PM   #755
AK M3
New Member
Montenegro
15
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: NY

iTrader: (1)

Hey all, do I have to use the supplied mic ? I installed the unit thinking that I could use the stock mic as it would revert to the stock CIC Bluetooth when a call comes in but it seems like it doesn't work that way.

Another question, is it possible to disable the volume reduction when I put it in reverse and the rear view camera engages ?

Loving the unit thus far.

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2022, 03:46 PM   #756
danbav
Enlisted Member
39
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: E92 330i, 335i. Golf GTI mk1
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by drwankel View Post
It does not work in the new unit. I made a point of connecting the mr12volt mic in case this was still an issue and it is. Installing the mic isn't that bad. The worst part is reinstalling the A pillar.

As a mitigation- keyboard access is in my case usually needed for a navigation app. Using your google maps example. While stopped, I would open google maps on the phone and enter the address, and start navigation from the phone, which will automatically pickup on the google maps carplay app. Same deal for Waze.

Anyway, its clearly a software bug on the mr12volt side. I'd recommend reporting it to them. The more reports they get about bugs, the better. Helps them understand the scope of the issue.
That really odd, my keyboard functions as expected. Just checked as I normally use voice input. Worked in both the lights and DSP version of the unit.

I can go to the search and keyboard in google maps and scroll with the idrive controller and it goes to the alphabet. From there scoll and click to select the letter.

I have 2013 factory cic in E92
Appreciate 1
AxisF8019.00
      05-09-2022, 04:36 PM   #757
AK M3
New Member
Montenegro
15
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: NY

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AK M3 View Post
Hey all, do I have to use the supplied mic ? I installed the unit thinking that I could use the stock mic as it would revert to the stock CIC Bluetooth when a call comes in but it seems like it doesn't work that way.

Another question, is it possible to disable the volume reduction when I put it in reverse and the rear view camera engages ?

Loving the unit thus far.

Thanks!
Got it figured out. The mic supplied is awful. I was able to have it removed and will continue to use the OEM Bluetooth mic through the CIC for calls which I really don't mind as the quality is excellent.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2022, 06:30 PM   #758
Tigamilla
Private
25
Rep
55
Posts

Drives: BMW E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: UK, London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AK M3 View Post
Got it figured out. The mic supplied is awful. I was able to have it removed and will continue to use the OEM Bluetooth mic through the CIC for calls which I really don't mind as the quality is excellent.
How do i make it always revert to the stock phone system? The original P2000 box did this, but the DSP one seems to want to handle outgoing calls itself and I'm told there is background noise that isn't there on the stock system.

EDIT: or do I just change the Bluetooth setting on my phone?

As for the comments about the keyboard, never even knew the was one. Is this a Carplay thing?
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2022, 06:38 PM   #759
tdott
Brigadier General
3386
Rep
3,559
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South FL / 6ix

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SocalM3 View Post
For those with the updated new units, does your on screen keyboard function now? On the older unit, whenever I try to input some text via the keyboard (for example, when I want to enter a street address in google maps), I cannot scroll down to the keyboard to enter anything. Since my microphone does not work, I really would like this function to be working.
I have never had this issue with the old or new unit.
Android Auto for me though, but I did test CarPlay with another phone and pretty sure it worked also.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2022, 07:20 PM   #760
drwankel
Captain
drwankel's Avatar
577
Rep
762
Posts

Drives: 2012 E92 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Bothell, WA

iTrader: (0)

Here, I just uploaded a video to youtube showing the issue. Nothing you do lets you get to the keyboard:

Appreciate 0
      05-09-2022, 08:10 PM   #761
stargazer.80
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: BMW X3 F25
Join Date: May 2022
Location: WA

iTrader: (0)

I have hooked up everything and Mr12volt is not showing up. The units red light is on and it gets warm, but only OEM menu works.

Any idea what could be wrong? I could not find cdmm_charger_3 option to code, so I coded cdmm_charger, this one I did find. Not sure if it matters, I attached some of the photos of setup and wiring. Any help is appreciated
Attached Images
    
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2022, 09:23 PM   #762
drwankel
Captain
drwankel's Avatar
577
Rep
762
Posts

Drives: 2012 E92 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Bothell, WA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stargazer.80 View Post
I have hooked up everything and Mr12volt is not showing up. The units red light is on and it gets warm, but only OEM menu works.

Any idea what could be wrong? I could not find cdmm_charger_3 option to code, so I coded cdmm_charger, this one I did find. Not sure if it matters, I attached some of the photos of setup and wiring. Any help is appreciated
A couple of points here. The coding you described is a bit odd, I'll get into it in a second. Ensure that you have the MOST connectors properly connected.

If the car in your profile is in fact a F25 x3, that may be where the problem is.

If you notice the dip switch settings on the box, theres a setting for 8.8" (intended for e-series cars) a setting for 6.5" (which I am also suspecting is only for E series cars), and then a setting for F10 (5 series cars with CIC). You being on a 6.5" screen with a F series car may make you an extreme edge case.

Lastly, I recall reading that someone on this thread while installing into a F10 5 series had to code the cd changer option to MMC not mp3_cdc. Give that option a try and see if it behaves any differently.

Again, check your MOST connections, and if none of that solves it, reach out to Mr12volt support
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2022, 09:55 PM   #763
stargazer.80
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: BMW X3 F25
Join Date: May 2022
Location: WA

iTrader: (0)

Thanks, drwankel

I think another piece of the puzzle is that it appears that my backup cam is aftermarket, so that might complicate things a little bit. The pink connector on CIC, which I now assume is for the screen (and not the beige one) has two extra wires, for power, I guess. I could not override that one with mr12volt video in / video out, as they wont fit in. I guess I will have to take the screen out and see how it is all connected.

Another strange thing is that it appears my IDrive connector was already split in a similar fashion as Mr12Volt does it, I assume now it was for aftermarket backup cam? I had the car for 4 years, but was not aware of these things.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2022, 10:39 PM   #764
AK M3
New Member
Montenegro
15
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: NY

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigamilla View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by AK M3 View Post
Got it figured out. The mic supplied is awful. I was able to have it removed and will continue to use the OEM Bluetooth mic through the CIC for calls which I really don't mind as the quality is excellent.
How do i make it always revert to the stock phone system? The original P2000 box did this, but the DSP one seems to want to handle outgoing calls itself and I'm told there is background noise that isn't there on the stock system.

EDIT: or do I just change the Bluetooth setting on my phone?

As for the comments about the keyboard, never even knew the was one. Is this a Carplay thing?
When you're on a call on your iPhone, click on the "Speaker" icon and select your cars OEM Bluetooth connection. The phone will automatically default the CIC whenever a call comes in as it seems to remember the last setting.
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2022, 01:40 AM   #765
drwankel
Captain
drwankel's Avatar
577
Rep
762
Posts

Drives: 2012 E92 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Bothell, WA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stargazer.80 View Post
Thanks, drwankel

I think another piece of the puzzle is that it appears that my backup cam is aftermarket, so that might complicate things a little bit. The pink connector on CIC, which I now assume is for the screen (and not the beige one) has two extra wires, for power, I guess. I could not override that one with mr12volt video in / video out, as they wont fit in. I guess I will have to take the screen out and see how it is all connected.

Another strange thing is that it appears my IDrive connector was already split in a similar fashion as Mr12Volt does it, I assume now it was for aftermarket backup cam? I had the car for 4 years, but was not aware of these things.
That could be part or all of your problem. I would remove that most splitter completely (you cant have an open most loop) for whatever that device is and see if the issue still repros.
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2022, 01:49 AM   #766
danbav
Enlisted Member
39
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: E92 330i, 335i. Golf GTI mk1
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by drwankel View Post
Here, I just uploaded a video to youtube showing the issue. Nothing you do lets you get to the keyboard:

Looks different to mine, I am using CarPlay Iím assuming that is android auto?

I donít have a device to test AA on my system. Does the keyboard input work on CarPlay on your system?
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2022, 02:16 AM   #767
drwankel
Captain
drwankel's Avatar
577
Rep
762
Posts

Drives: 2012 E92 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Bothell, WA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by danbav View Post
Looks different to mine, I am using CarPlay Iím assuming that is android auto?

I donít have a device to test AA on my system. Does the keyboard input work on CarPlay on your system?
This is carplay. In the video I'm using google maps. Hit the search button, then the keyboard button brings you here.
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2022, 02:37 AM   #768
danbav
Enlisted Member
39
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: E92 330i, 335i. Golf GTI mk1
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by drwankel View Post
This is carplay. In the video I'm using google maps. Hit the search button, then the keyboard button brings you here.
Here is vid from mine doing the same

https://youtu.be/LxEIVvK7rcU

Different keyboard layout?
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2022, 05:33 AM   #769
eddiegordo
New Member
8
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 E92
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by danbav View Post
Here is vid from mine doing the same

https://youtu.be/LxEIVvK7rcU

Different keyboard layout?
Video showing as private, so we can't see it.

When I mentioned previously that it did work very well for me with the carsara box I forgot to mention that it is on Android Auto. Never tested Carplay, but the keyboard looks very different to the one on drwankel's video.

I won't be driving the car in the next few days but I'll try to record it when I do on the weekend. It almost feels like the keyboard on drwankel's video is out of place, whereas in mine it's a proper built in Android Auto keyboard, looks like this one I found on the internet:

Appreciate 0
      05-10-2022, 07:06 AM   #770
danbav
Enlisted Member
39
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: E92 330i, 335i. Golf GTI mk1
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddiegordo View Post
Video showing as private, so we can't see it.

When I mentioned previously that it did work very well for me with the carsara box I forgot to mention that it is on Android Auto. Never tested Carplay, but the keyboard looks very different to the one on drwankel's video.

I won't be driving the car in the next few days but I'll try to record it when I do on the weekend. It almost feels like the keyboard on drwankel's video is out of place, whereas in mine it's a proper built in Android Auto keyboard, looks like this one I found on the internet:

My bad,

Try this link for the video

https://youtu.be/P1jiO9lsHuY
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST