BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis
 
European Auto Source
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-27-2014, 04:05 PM   #1
FNG
Second Lieutenant
 
FNG's Avatar
 
Drives: The Bus
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: HNL

Posts: 257
iTrader: (1)

Is it necessary to replace brake pad sensors if...

Is it necessary to replace brake pad sensors if i replace the brake pads before the sensors have been tripped?
FNG is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-27-2014, 04:38 PM   #2
Kisenwether
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 M3 E92
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lancaster, PA

Posts: 190
iTrader: (1)

Nope, only have to replace if they are tripped.
Kisenwether is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-27-2014, 09:27 PM   #3
TrakBch
Captain
 
Drives: Alpine White E92
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 631
iTrader: (3)

you still need to reset the maintenance indicators in the instrument planner
__________________
Scott P. --- PM me if you need a Free CARFAX report
E92 M3 6MT - Track Rental
GT-R - Bucket List,YOLO, and just unnecessary
F80 M3 DCT, CCB - In case the other two are broken
TrakBch is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2014, 05:09 PM   #4
FNG
Second Lieutenant
 
FNG's Avatar
 
Drives: The Bus
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: HNL

Posts: 257
iTrader: (1)

Let me get this straight. If the warning is in yellow, its only a service reminder and the brake sensor has not been tripped yet meaning i can replace pads and reset the warning light without having to change the sensors. And if the warning is in red, the sensors have been tripped and must be changed to reset the warning light? Am i correct on this?
FNG is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2014, 10:33 PM   #5
ailikesiliu
Captain
 
ailikesiliu's Avatar
 
Drives: Asian Cutties
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC

Posts: 724
iTrader: (8)

sometimes the computer will refuse to reset the warning light even if it is only yellow, you can try to reset and see if the computer will take it, if not, then you might need a new sensor or jump the sensor cable to reset the warning light.
ailikesiliu is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2014, 10:43 PM   #6
FNG
Second Lieutenant
 
FNG's Avatar
 
Drives: The Bus
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: HNL

Posts: 257
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alex1988 View Post
sometimes the computer will refuse to reset the warning light even if it is only yellow, you can try to reset and see if the computer will take it, if not, then you might need a new sensor or jump the sensor cable to reset the warning light.
Exactly what i was planning to do when i get home from work. Thanks
FNG is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST