BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
GTB Performance
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-11-2014, 03:49 PM   #23
regular guy
Banned
 
Drives: Sprint car
Join Date: May 2013
Location: California

Posts: 1,375
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aries View Post
Funny - Love to laugh... Nothing meant to offend... just things I find Humor in...
I think we all need a good laugh from time to time.

Last edited by regular guy; 05-11-2014 at 03:57 PM.
regular guy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 04:14 PM   #24
biglare
******
 
Drives: ?
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ?

Posts: 3,134
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by regular guy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aries View Post
Funny - Love to laugh... Nothing meant to offend... just things I find Humor in...
I think we all need a good laugh from time to time.
+1 and where can I get one of those shirts!! :


biglare is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 04:54 PM   #25
regular guy
Banned
 
Drives: Sprint car
Join Date: May 2013
Location: California

Posts: 1,375
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by biglare View Post
+1 and where can I get one of those shirts!! :


I have a crazy feeling a lot of them will be seen at BimmerFest.
regular guy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 04:59 PM   #26
coloradoe92m3
Banned
 
Drives: m3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: u.s

Posts: 497
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by regular guy View Post
Why put "done for sure" in quotes...when it's not an actual quote? I'd trust MileHighM3 as a BMW master tech to know a lot more than a random guy.
Man your one angry man aren't you. Sorry he said done in. I added for sure. Thanks for contributing nothing
coloradoe92m3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 05:48 PM   #27
regular guy
Banned
 
Drives: Sprint car
Join Date: May 2013
Location: California

Posts: 1,375
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by coloradoe92m3 View Post
Man your one angry man aren't you. Sorry he said done in. I added for sure. Thanks for contributing nothing
I would think a BMW master tech might know more than a random guy without any credentials that we know of. That was my contribution. Now speaking of contributions...what exactly did you contribute to help the op or back up your claim that he can still recover his ecu? Care to explain the procedure to us all and contribute with some substance or your own experiences on this topic?

And don't sound so angry when somebody makes a simple statement and asks a simple question. If you have actual knowledge then please share.
regular guy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 08:24 PM   #28
HolyChitMeng
Enlisted Member
 
HolyChitMeng's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E93 M3
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New York

Posts: 46
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spool twice View Post
What part fails to communicate when you reboot the software? The cable portion? Ecu?
The ecu won't communicate with a cable, i'll try to contact evolve tomorrow when they're open... but i don't think the cable is done for sure, because the car still has codes being sent to the idrive... i'm going to try to install the original software that i read
HolyChitMeng is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 09:35 PM   #29
spool twice
Rainbow Racer
 
spool twice's Avatar
 
Drives: S65B40
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sarasota, FL

Posts: 1,277
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HolyChitMeng View Post
The ecu won't communicate with a cable, i'll try to contact evolve tomorrow when they're open... but i don't think the cable is done for sure, because the car still has codes being sent to the idrive... i'm going to try to install the original software that i read

let us know how it goes. ..I had a similar issue because I didn't load the oem 240e correctly when I thought I did. i went back to my stock 190e file, reload the 240e, then reloaded the modified 240e.
spool twice is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2014, 04:15 AM   #30
Imran@Evolve
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Imran@Evolve's Avatar
 
Drives: E60 M5, E92 M3, E46 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bedfordshire UK

Posts: 2,056
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Imran@Evolve
OP - have emailed you.
Imran@Evolve is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2014, 07:48 AM   #31
5TAR5CR3AM
Private
 
Drives: 2010 BMW M3 E92
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Northampton, PA

Posts: 80
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aries View Post
Another reason to go with BPM,,,
Dumb post is dumb.
5TAR5CR3AM is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2014, 07:52 AM   #32
5TAR5CR3AM
Private
 
Drives: 2010 BMW M3 E92
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Northampton, PA

Posts: 80
iTrader: (0)

Sounds like the ecu bricked. I had a problem similiar to this with my previous car when I flashed a corrupted file from my tuner. Bricked my ecu and device lol. Wasn't a good day. I had to send the ecu to my tuner and he bought me a new cobb accessport.
5TAR5CR3AM is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2014, 09:10 AM   #33
Imran@Evolve
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Imran@Evolve's Avatar
 
Drives: E60 M5, E92 M3, E46 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bedfordshire UK

Posts: 2,056
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Imran@Evolve
Please don't worry the OP too much! It is very very rare for this ECU to be bricked. First port of call is to return to stock using the file he read out.
Imran@Evolve is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2014, 10:08 AM   #34
ottoblotto
///M-Flight Bavaria
 
ottoblotto's Avatar
 
Drives: E90M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Im around

Posts: 1,198
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2010 BMW X5  [0.00]
2011.75 BMW M3 E90  [5.00]
EVOLVE to the rescue! OP, youll get this gets fixed. Dont let all the harbringers of doom on here scare you. You got this!
__________________
"With great power comes great responsibility." -El-Superbeasto
ottoblotto is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2014, 11:12 AM   #35
kitw
Colonel
 
kitw's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 MW M3/2014 Boxster S
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 2,548
iTrader: (14)

I've had this happen - just restore with your stock file, and you'll be fine. No sweat. The Evolve-R has easy functionality to restore.
kitw is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2014, 11:22 AM   #36
dmk08
///Maniac
 
dmk08's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 2,751
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3 E92  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ottoblotto View Post
EVOLVE to the rescue! OP, youll get this gets fixed. Dont let all the harbringers of doom on here scare you. You got this!
No doubt. I had an issue at one point and they fixed me up quickly. The ECU is surprisingly easy to recover with your stock file.
dmk08 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2014, 11:47 AM   #37
Soorena
Captain
 
Drives: M3 6MT
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Paris

Posts: 836
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by spool twice View Post
let us know how it goes. ..I had a similar issue because I didn't load the oem 240e correctly when I thought I did. i went back to my stock 190e file, reload the 240e, then reloaded the modified 240e.
Same thing happened to me. Scared the shiznit out of me though, i thought the DME was gone. But a software reset cleared the problems. Fingers crossed it will work for OP too.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Imran@Evolve View Post
Please don't worry the OP too much! It is very very rare for this ECU to be bricked. First port of call is to return to stock using the file he read out.
Imran the new website looks great!
Soorena is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2014, 12:42 PM   #38
elm3
M3 Lover
 
elm3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 e92 M3 Interlagos Blue
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canton, GA.

Posts: 1,854
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmk08 View Post
No doubt. I had an issue at one point and they fixed me up quickly. The ECU is surprisingly easy to recover with your stock file.
David, how come you took the evolve suff out? Still having problems with the software?
__________________
'09 E92 ///M3 Interlagos Blue, 6MT, Silver Novillo Leather, CF Trim, Premium Package, Technology Package, Cold Weather Package, Premium Sound, 19" Wheels, Moonroof-Toy/ '11 E90 328i Black Saphire Metallic, Premium Package, Technology Package - Daily Driver '02 Nissan Xterra- Daily Driver/ '04 Yamaha R1-Toy/ '06 Yamaha Raptor 350-Toy
elm3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2014, 12:53 PM   #39
thorny
Captain
 
thorny's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 X5 E70, 2011 M3 E92
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 947
iTrader: (9)

Mine lost communication before a few times. No problem, keep at it man!
__________________
Back to stock and loving it!
thorny is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2014, 02:03 PM   #40
dmk08
///Maniac
 
dmk08's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 2,751
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3 E92  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by elm3 View Post
David, how come you took the evolve suff out? Still having problems with the software?
I didn't remove any Evolve stuff. I'm loving my Evolve tune so far. I switched the cat-back.
dmk08 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2014, 02:37 PM   #41
HolyChitMeng
Enlisted Member
 
HolyChitMeng's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E93 M3
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New York

Posts: 46
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imran@Evolve View Post
OP - have emailed you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by spool twice View Post
let us know how it goes. ..I had a similar issue because I didn't load the oem 240e correctly when I thought I did. i went back to my stock 190e file, reload the 240e, then reloaded the modified 240e.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Imran@Evolve View Post
Please don't worry the OP too much! It is very very rare for this ECU to be bricked. First port of call is to return to stock using the file he read out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ottoblotto View Post
EVOLVE to the rescue! OP, youll get this gets fixed. Dont let all the harbringers of doom on here scare you. You got this!
Quote:
Originally Posted by thorny View Post
Mine lost communication before a few times. No problem, keep at it man!
God I thought this would be worse thanks all just have to get off from work to actually fix this car to enjoy my evolve
HolyChitMeng is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-13-2014, 08:12 PM   #42
HolyChitMeng
Enlisted Member
 
HolyChitMeng's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E93 M3
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New York

Posts: 46
iTrader: (0)

Update: I installed my 190e file and the car starts and runs but when i try to install the 240e i get the same error message as last time, at the same exact time... could it be possible that my 240e file that evolve sent was corrupted?
HolyChitMeng is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-13-2014, 08:21 PM   #43
spool twice
Rainbow Racer
 
spool twice's Avatar
 
Drives: S65B40
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sarasota, FL

Posts: 1,277
iTrader: (7)

are u able to redownload the OEM 240e file from your email? try that, just to see if its truley a bad file. If it happens again, contact evolve again. It's a computer file, so I guess its possible that the file got corrupted during upload or download process; it happens. Glad your ECU is fine!
spool twice is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-14-2014, 02:48 PM   #44
HolyChitMeng
Enlisted Member
 
HolyChitMeng's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E93 M3
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New York

Posts: 46
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spool twice View Post
are u able to redownload the OEM 240e file from your email? try that, just to see if its truley a bad file. If it happens again, contact evolve again. It's a computer file, so I guess its possible that the file got corrupted during upload or download process; it happens. Glad your ECU is fine!
I contacted evolve, they told me some cars arent able to update to the 240e... so he gave a tuned version of the 190e, by any chance do you know if there are less improvements with the tuned 190e as to a tuned 240e file?
HolyChitMeng is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST