BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
Steve Thomas BMW
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-10-2014, 10:13 PM   #1
HolyChitMeng
Enlisted Member
 
HolyChitMeng's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E93 M3
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New York

Posts: 45
iTrader: (0)

Evolve Tune Problem

Any idea on how to fix this? This is my first time ever flashing the car too
Untitled by alecbacalan, on Flickr
HolyChitMeng is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-10-2014, 10:42 PM   #2
Zaw
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 E90 M3 DCT Competition
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Studio City, CA

Posts: 101
iTrader: (0)

Why not contact the customer support? Do you seriously want some random person from the inter webs telling you how to mess up your car even more?
Zaw is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-10-2014, 10:43 PM   #3
HolyChitMeng
Enlisted Member
 
HolyChitMeng's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E93 M3
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New York

Posts: 45
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaw View Post
Why not contact the customer support? Do you seriously want some random person from the inter webs telling you how to mess up your car even more?
I did, but i just checking to see if somebody knows what i could do until customer support answers
HolyChitMeng is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-10-2014, 10:50 PM   #4
Vic311
Banned
 
Drives: 2011 e92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NY

Posts: 1,469
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HolyChitMeng View Post
I did, but i just checking to see if somebody knows what i could do until customer support answers
You do realize you are fooling with the car's brain. If you don't know what you're doing I highly suggest you put your laptop away.
Vic311 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-10-2014, 11:24 PM   #5
MilehighM3
Colonel
 
MilehighM3's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Colorado Springs

Posts: 2,007
iTrader: (9)

Did you turn your key off or let the battery voltage drop while programming? Does your car start and run following the tune?
MilehighM3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-10-2014, 11:37 PM   #6
HolyChitMeng
Enlisted Member
 
HolyChitMeng's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E93 M3
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New York

Posts: 45
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MilehighM3 View Post
Did you turn your key off or let the battery voltage drop while programming? Does your car start and run following the tune?
No i had battery charger, and no the car doesn't start
HolyChitMeng is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 06:07 AM   #7
Aries
New Member
 
Aries's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 m3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Msterdam

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

Another reason to go with BPM,,,
Aries is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 06:36 AM   #8
Irishace
ElevenPointFive
 
Irishace's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto

Posts: 2,032
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aries View Post
Another reason to go with BPM,,,
You do realize its the same flashing process for BPM. Maybe not post at all?
__________________
2008 Jerez Black - 6MT E92 M3
Evolve | H&R | Apex | Exotics Tuning
Irishace is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 06:37 AM   #9
Trip3's
Lieutenant
 
Trip3's's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long island

Posts: 428
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aries View Post
Another reason to go with BPM,,,
Why start a ANOTHER tuner war? It's obviously user error.
Trip3's is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 06:54 AM   #10
Aries
New Member
 
Aries's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 m3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Msterdam

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

Funny - Love to laugh... Nothing meant to offend... just things I find Humor in...


Last edited by Aries; 05-11-2014 at 06:59 AM.
Aries is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 09:39 AM   #11
spool twice
Rainbow Racer
 
spool twice's Avatar
 
Drives: S65B40
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sarasota, FL

Posts: 1,234
iTrader: (7)

did you load the oem 240e? verify which oem software version you have loaded.
spool twice is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 09:44 AM   #12
Sebringjetta
Colonel
 
Sebringjetta's Avatar
 
Drives: E46m3
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sacramento

Posts: 2,496
iTrader: (26)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aries View Post
Funny - Love to laugh... Nothing meant to offend... just things I find Humor in...

__________________
Sebringjetta is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 09:45 AM   #13
MilehighM3
Colonel
 
MilehighM3's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Colorado Springs

Posts: 2,007
iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HolyChitMeng
No i had battery charger, and no the car doesn't start
How many amps can your charger put out? It sounds like the DME bricked, and that can be fixed but not everyone knows how to do that properly.
MilehighM3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 09:51 AM   #14
spool twice
Rainbow Racer
 
spool twice's Avatar
 
Drives: S65B40
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sarasota, FL

Posts: 1,234
iTrader: (7)

tell us the process you took prior to loading the new file. at what point of the process did that error pop on the screen? was it when you were attempting to load the new software? Or when you are trying to read the OEM software?

If you close the Evolve-R software and reboot it, can you still make communications with the ECU? I can try to assist (I'm not an expert though), I think the ECU isn't bricked, but rather, the Evolve-R software is trying to communicate with the ECU, but the current software on the ECU is an older version (ex. 190e), while the modded software you are trying to load is a later version, which is why you were able to pass the initial "check" screens where it checks your laptop memory, battery, device connection, and ECU communications (which is why you see an ECU type on the screenshot above, and I'm willing to bet the software "auto selected" the MSS60 and you didn't manually select it.

were you provided with the latest OEM software? If so, did you load this prior to loading the modified software? If not, are you able to recover your ECU using the recovery function?

Last edited by spool twice; 05-11-2014 at 10:13 AM.
spool twice is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 10:58 AM   #15
HolyChitMeng
Enlisted Member
 
HolyChitMeng's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E93 M3
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New York

Posts: 45
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spool twice View Post
tell us the process you took prior to loading the new file. at what point of the process did that error pop on the screen? was it when you were attempting to load the new software? Or when you are trying to read the OEM software?

If you close the Evolve-R software and reboot it, can you still make communications with the ECU? I can try to assist (I'm not an expert though), I think the ECU isn't bricked, but rather, the Evolve-R software is trying to communicate with the ECU, but the current software on the ECU is an older version (ex. 190e), while the modded software you are trying to load is a later version, which is why you were able to pass the initial "check" screens where it checks your laptop memory, battery, device connection, and ECU communications (which is why you see an ECU type on the screenshot above, and I'm willing to bet the software "auto selected" the MSS60 and you didn't manually select it.

were you provided with the latest OEM software? If so, did you load this prior to loading the modified software? If not, are you able to recover your ECU using the recovery function?
Yes i was trying to install the latest oem software that Evolve provided with my tune, they told me to install that software first prior to the tune, this was the first time i've attempted to install the tune. Then when i closed the software and try to reboot the evolve R software, it doesnt pass the wake up sequence. this error initially started as i was trying to install the orignal software at around 90-95% completion. Then it popped up.
HolyChitMeng is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 10:59 AM   #16
HolyChitMeng
Enlisted Member
 
HolyChitMeng's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E93 M3
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New York

Posts: 45
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MilehighM3 View Post
How many amps can your charger put out? It sounds like the DME bricked, and that can be fixed but not everyone knows how to do that properly.
it puts around around 15 amps
HolyChitMeng is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 11:23 AM   #17
elm3
M3 Lover
 
elm3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 e92 M3 Interlagos Blue
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canton, GA.

Posts: 1,847
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
You should have a copy of your OEM software. I would down load your stock software and make sure your car runs. Leave like that and contact the support phone from Evolve. Sounds like your ECU and your laptop lost communication some how.
__________________
'09 E92 ///M3 Interlagos Blue, 6MT, Silver Novillo Leather, CF Trim, Premium Package, Technology Package, Cold Weather Package, Premium Sound, 19" Wheels, Moonroof-Toy/ '11 E90 328i Black Saphire Metallic, Premium Package, Technology Package - Daily Driver '02 Nissan Xterra- Daily Driver/ '04 Yamaha R1-Toy/ '06 Yamaha Raptor 350-Toy
elm3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 11:29 AM   #18
HolyChitMeng
Enlisted Member
 
HolyChitMeng's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E93 M3
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New York

Posts: 45
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by elm3 View Post
You should have a copy of your OEM software. I would down load your stock software and make sure your car runs. Leave like that and contact the support phone from Evolve. Sounds like your ECU and your laptop lost communication some how.
so how do i download the stock software if my evolve r wont pass the wake up the sequence?
HolyChitMeng is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 01:16 PM   #19
MilehighM3
Colonel
 
MilehighM3's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Colorado Springs

Posts: 2,007
iTrader: (9)

If you can't restore communication and the car doesn't run, the DME is done for unfortunately.
MilehighM3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 01:35 PM   #20
coloradoe92m3
Banned
 
Drives: m3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: u.s

Posts: 497
iTrader: (0)

The DME is not "done for sure" keep car off for 30 mins and get in touch with evolve. I'm certain they can fix this
coloradoe92m3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 02:04 PM   #21
spool twice
Rainbow Racer
 
spool twice's Avatar
 
Drives: S65B40
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sarasota, FL

Posts: 1,234
iTrader: (7)

What part fails to communicate when you reboot the software? The cable portion? Ecu?
__________________
E90 LCI M3 7-DCT Interlagos Blue/Novillo Silver
[MS Pullies|K&N drop-in|Test Pipes |Evolve Stage II tune|Evolve Servotronic Map|Evolve M3 GTS-DCT file]
spool twice is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 03:42 PM   #22
regular guy
Banned
 
Drives: Sprint car
Join Date: May 2013
Location: California

Posts: 1,375
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by coloradoe92m3 View Post
The DME is not "done for sure" keep car off for 30 mins and get in touch with evolve. I'm certain they can fix this
Why put "done for sure" in quotes...when it's not an actual quote? I'd trust MileHighM3 as a BMW master tech to know a lot more than a random guy.
regular guy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST