BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
GTB Performance
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-25-2014, 11:49 AM   #23
MRGRaceCo
New Member
MRGRaceCo's Avatar
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Does this provide battery amperage coding?
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2014, 12:01 PM   #24
regular guy
Banned
22
Rep
1,375
Posts

Drives: Sprint car
Join Date: May 2013
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by thekurgan View Post
+1, Amazon has a shit load with mixed reviews.
I did some research on this when I bought "Torque Pro" package. The highest recommended dongle I found was OBDLink MX. So that's what I bought. I only used it once to set it up. So I don't have a lot of seat time with it. What I did use, worked flawlessly however.
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2014, 02:27 PM   #25
Richbot
Colonel
31
Rep
2,170
Posts

Drives: Jerez Black E90
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: STL

iTrader: (2)

This lives in my glovebox, works great
Attached Images
 
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2014, 04:21 PM   #26
Time Lord
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Time Lord's Avatar
8
Rep
455
Posts

Drives: E90 M3/E46 M3
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ibiza

iTrader: (5)

I have it and it works perfect. If you guys want a video let me know
__________________
E46/90 M3
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2014, 05:15 PM   #27
5soko
Brigadier General
5soko's Avatar
77
Rep
4,223
Posts

Drives: M5
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Giorgia View Post
I have it and it works perfect. If you guys want a video let me know
How does the coding work? simple to use?
__________________
Current: ///M5 LCI with Evolve and RPi mods
Previous: E92 335i ||| FBO Heavy modded E90 LCI M-Sport 335i
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2014, 08:57 PM   #28
flipmeraz
First Lieutenant
flipmeraz's Avatar
9
Rep
323
Posts

Drives: 10 e92 m3
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: bay area

iTrader: (2)

Can you code LCI taillights with it?
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2014, 09:03 PM   #29
Richbot
Colonel
31
Rep
2,170
Posts

Drives: Jerez Black E90
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: STL

iTrader: (2)

Possible though I suspect that's a little too complex. All of the current coding options it offers are pretty basic, windows up with fob, Drl brightness, that kind of thing, at least on the M3
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2014, 09:04 PM   #30
thekurgan
Bad Lieutenant
thekurgan's Avatar
United_States
44
Rep
2,983
Posts

Drives: E90M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sacramento

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by regular guy View Post
I did some research on this when I bought "Torque Pro" package. The highest recommended dongle I found was OBDLink MX. So that's what I bought. I only used it once to set it up. So I don't have a lot of seat time with it. What I did use, worked flawlessly however.
Got it, thanks, Bro.
__________________

08 E90M3 6MT Alpinweiss/Carbon/BPMSport 91/BMW Pedals/Dinan Exhaust/Ultimate Clutch Pedal/Alcantara Wheel/Rear Fog Switch/Rattle fixes
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2014, 04:20 PM   #31
grantmax
Major
23
Rep
1,325
Posts

Drives: 2011 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: LA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richbot View Post
This lives in my glovebox, works great
Model number please. (iV350?)
This is some great info. Can someone post cliff notes as to the capabilities of this app?

Last edited by grantmax; 01-29-2014 at 04:28 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2014, 02:46 PM   #32
swifty
Major
24
Rep
1,310
Posts

Drives: FO M3
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: canada

iTrader: (5)

Can some one advise if this is a good one?

http://www.bimmian.com/Wireless-OBD-...r-E93-3-Series

Also is it preferable to use wifi for iPhones instead of Bluetooth?
__________________
__________________
Past: '89 Cutlass, Alpine white e46 323i, Jet Black e39 530, Sapphire Black e60 530, Space Grey 2008 e92 335, Mineral White 2011 e92 335

Current: FO e92 M3
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2014, 04:49 PM   #33
WayneM3
Private First Class
6
Rep
162
Posts

Drives: E90M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New York, NY

iTrader: (0)

I bought this one and it took a few weeks to arrive but it works perfectly with BMWHAT. The same one is on Amazon for $18 more. I use it with an iPhone 5.

Last edited by WayneM3; 03-03-2014 at 04:49 PM. Reason: More info
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2014, 04:55 PM   #34
swifty
Major
24
Rep
1,310
Posts

Drives: FO M3
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: canada

iTrader: (5)

^ thanks
__________________
__________________
Past: '89 Cutlass, Alpine white e46 323i, Jet Black e39 530, Sapphire Black e60 530, Space Grey 2008 e92 335, Mineral White 2011 e92 335

Current: FO e92 M3
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2014, 08:40 AM   #35
dparm
Major
dparm's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
1,453
Posts

Drives: 2011.5 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

$50 app + cost of the adapter is basically what it costs for coding anyway, and with this you can do so much more. Anyone complaining about price is welcome to find a cheaper alternative.
__________________
2011.5 AW M3 sedan ZCP
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2014, 10:01 AM   #36
swifty
Major
24
Rep
1,310
Posts

Drives: FO M3
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: canada

iTrader: (5)

Can u code the fuel warning to show 1/8 tank instead of 1/4 as it is set now with this?

How about the mirrors to fold in when you lock the car?
__________________
__________________
Past: '89 Cutlass, Alpine white e46 323i, Jet Black e39 530, Sapphire Black e60 530, Space Grey 2008 e92 335, Mineral White 2011 e92 335

Current: FO e92 M3
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2014, 10:22 AM   #37
tinman831
Captain
9
Rep
810
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: DFW

iTrader: (0)

Here's a list of coding options.

http://www.ivini-apps.com/series-1-3-codings.html
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2014, 10:58 AM   #38
aus
Major General
United_States
122
Rep
7,445
Posts

Drives: Odysse
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Seal Beach, CA

iTrader: (5)

Can you use it on multiple cars- is in VIN locked?

Also, can it read service lights and reset them?

Thanks for any info. Great thread OP.

.
__________________
Let me get this straight... You are swapping out parts designed by some of the top engineers in the world because some guys sponsored by a company told you it's "better??" But when you ask the same guy about tracking, "oh no, I have a kid now" or "I just detailed my car." or "i just got new tires."
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2014, 11:50 AM   #39
WayneM3
Private First Class
6
Rep
162
Posts

Drives: E90M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New York, NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aus View Post
Can you use it on multiple cars- is in VIN locked?

Also, can it read service lights and reset them?

Thanks for any info. Great thread OP.

.
It isn't VIN locked and it can read and reset service lights. You can even selectively reset them.
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2014, 11:53 AM   #40
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
60
Rep
1,936
Posts

Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

iTrader: (16)

Running the app, as well. I also did this, which allows me to keep the BT connector plugged in all the time to allow Torque stay connected w/out having to have the OBDII port obstructed:

http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=908501
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2014, 12:01 PM   #41
WayneM3
Private First Class
6
Rep
162
Posts

Drives: E90M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New York, NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by whats77inaname View Post
Thanks for that link! I was looking for a way to keep my P3 gauge connected and still use other devices. The eBay link doesn't work anymore but I am sure I can find it.
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2014, 12:11 PM   #42
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
60
Rep
1,936
Posts

Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

iTrader: (16)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WayneM3 View Post
Thanks for that link! I was looking for a way to keep my P3 gauge connected and still use other devices. The eBay link doesn't work anymore but I am sure I can find it.
You're welcome Exact same reason I bought one.

Same one:

www.ebay.com/itm/281260890938

Unfortunately, I no longer see the bracket for sale as an individual item anymore (I checked eBay and Amazon), so you might have to buy another kit that contains the cable + bracket just to get the bracket :-\

Last edited by whats77inaname; 03-06-2014 at 12:18 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2014, 04:31 PM   #43
IntegraXTR
Lieutenant
6
Rep
474
Posts

Drives: 2008 E92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hawaii

iTrader: (1)

Wow this is great!
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2014, 05:51 PM   #44
ibmike
What the Hell ?
ibmike's Avatar
United_States
17
Rep
1,518
Posts

Drives: 2011 M3 e92 DCT
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tinman831 View Post
Here's a list of coding options.

http://www.ivini-apps.com/series-1-3-codings.html
So which is the e92 m3 under? 1er3er? cause no e93 or m3 on the list. Thanks
__________________
Life's a Bitch,Just make sure that Bitch is Beautiful.

Last edited by ibmike; 03-06-2014 at 06:11 PM.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST