BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > Regional Forums > Australia
 
ESS Tuning
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-15-2014, 07:25 AM   #1
Rajvosa
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Perth

Posts: 281
iTrader: (0)

Software Update??

Hi guys
What's the deal with software update?
I'm not sure which one I have anyways.

Mine is a 2008 6MT.

Assuming it's running original software, is it worth upgrading to latest?

If so, is it only dealerships who can perform that service or BMW specialist (PERTH people?).

Thanks
Rajvosa is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2014, 09:24 AM   #2
aussiem3
Lieutenant Colonel
 
aussiem3's Avatar
 
Drives: Goggomobil
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kangaroo land

Posts: 1,620
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2014 BMW X5 30d  [0.00]
2007 E92 M3  [0.00]
You will be running an earlier version than 140E if the car hadn't been updated by the dealer. You can get latest version like 240E through BPM Sport but I don't know what that will cost. If you're going down that path you might as well get at least stage I tune from BPM. I don't know whether there are reps for some of the overseas tuners in Perth.
__________________

2007 E92 6MT - Silverstone II with /// Performance Exhaust with ACM Test Pipes and BPM Sport Stage II Dev-Tune - Proper engine warm up, 12-monthly oil change, Castrol TWS 10w-60
2014 F15 X5 3.0d
aussiem3 is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2014, 11:31 AM   #3
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 13,104
iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by aussiem3 View Post
You will be running an earlier version than 140E if the car hadn't been updated by the dealer. You can get latest version like 240E through BPM Sport but I don't know what that will cost. If you're going down that path you might as well get at least stage I tune from BPM. I don't know whether there are reps for some of the overseas tuners in Perth.
Thanks aussie!

We would be happy to help you with an upgrade. Feel free to PM me and I can discuss your options.
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2014, 02:20 PM   #4
jhbrennan
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Austin

Posts: 153
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aussiem3 View Post
You will be running an earlier version than 140E if the car hadn't been updated by the dealer. You can get latest version like 240E through BPM Sport but I don't know what that will cost. If you're going down that path you might as well get at least stage I tune from BPM. I don't know whether there are reps for some of the overseas tuners in Perth.
How can you determine which version you have? Thanks,
jhbrennan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2014, 04:36 PM   #5
aussiem3
Lieutenant Colonel
 
aussiem3's Avatar
 
Drives: Goggomobil
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kangaroo land

Posts: 1,620
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2014 BMW X5 30d  [0.00]
2007 E92 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhbrennan View Post
How can you determine which version you have? Thanks,
Since I bought the car way back in November 2007, I had a few software upgrades under warranty and when I change to the new CIC control back some time in 2009. When I wanted the BPM tune we checked the integration level on the car and found that it was 140E. The new 240E which is suppose to be the final iteration of the integration came a year before the production ended. So if your car is any older than that you will not have 240E. But I heard the 230E is not much different to 240E so unless you are taking a tune route it's pointless upgrading.

I don't think one can just read what integration level is on the car. But Mike Benvo released the levels of integrations on a separate thread. It's a case of finding it and then looking at your production date. I am sorry it's kind of a long response to your question and hope you can find it through an advanced search here.
__________________

2007 E92 6MT - Silverstone II with /// Performance Exhaust with ACM Test Pipes and BPM Sport Stage II Dev-Tune - Proper engine warm up, 12-monthly oil change, Castrol TWS 10w-60
2014 F15 X5 3.0d
aussiem3 is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-16-2014, 06:06 PM   #6
rsv4dan
Private
 
Drives: E92 M3 6MT Sparkling Graphite
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brisbane

Posts: 91
iTrader: (0)

I bought my 08 used earlier this year. Few months ago i had the local dealer upgrade the software to the latest. Can't remember off the top of my head but it was something like late 07 software revision on the car, so it literally hadn't been updated from new.

It cost me a few hundred dollars. It's worth doing as it's improved a few things. also made the engine run better and smoother. An early software revision moving to 240e has been dynoed with proven power increase.

Some tuners can update the DME to 240e but that will only update the engine module. You're best off getting it done at the dealer as every module in the car gets updates as required.

I have since added a stage 2 BPM sport tune which has improved engine performance further
rsv4dan is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2014, 02:46 AM   #7
Rajvosa
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Perth

Posts: 281
iTrader: (0)

i might just leave it at the moment. car is running fine. the only glitch i get is when using the USB stick inside the centre console, songs will freeze at random times....

someone suggested using port in glovebox but dont think i got one...cant see it?!
Rajvosa is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2014, 02:59 AM   #8
aussiem3
Lieutenant Colonel
 
aussiem3's Avatar
 
Drives: Goggomobil
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kangaroo land

Posts: 1,620
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2014 BMW X5 30d  [0.00]
2007 E92 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rajvosa View Post
i might just leave it at the moment. car is running fine. the only glitch i get is when using the USB stick inside the centre console, songs will freeze at random times....

someone suggested using port in glovebox but dont think i got one...cant see it?!
No you don't have a glove USB port, even if you did, it's only for import/backup. No use in terms of play-back. Can't remember whether CCC had a software update option, if it has download the latest from BMW website using 7-digit VIN and update it. That might fix it. If not could be a crappy USB, or even a bad port connection. You might be able to replace it as a first option.
__________________

2007 E92 6MT - Silverstone II with /// Performance Exhaust with ACM Test Pipes and BPM Sport Stage II Dev-Tune - Proper engine warm up, 12-monthly oil change, Castrol TWS 10w-60
2014 F15 X5 3.0d
aussiem3 is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2014, 03:26 AM   #9
rsv4dan
Private
 
Drives: E92 M3 6MT Sparkling Graphite
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brisbane

Posts: 91
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rajvosa View Post
i might just leave it at the moment. car is running fine. the only glitch i get is when using the USB stick inside the centre console, songs will freeze at random times....

someone suggested using port in glovebox but dont think i got one...cant see it?!
There won't be one in the glovebox. The later model CIC idrive only has that.


Update might fix it. My CCC idrive improved, became less laggy and doesn't freeze any more post update. The dealer update will update every module in the car. It literally can take 3 hours for the update to load if it's got an old integration level and multiple modules need updating. There's something like 30 modules in the e9x.

Ultimately ccc is pretty out dated. I'm going to retrofit CIC soon.
rsv4dan is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2014, 04:26 AM   #10
Rajvosa
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Perth

Posts: 281
iTrader: (0)

thanks guys.

ok ok, im slowly getting the hang of this lol.

ill see how it goes, might have a chat to local dealership about updating the software etc. will keep you updated!
Rajvosa is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST