BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing
 
OneEighty
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-14-2014, 08:27 AM   #1
Porschefile
Major
Porschefile's Avatar
16
Rep
1,233
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tennessee

iTrader: (6)

How does the brake pad sensor function?

I have stoptech's on and I forgot to tie the sensor up during a suspension swap and broke the end of the sensor.

I know the sensor works by either 1. forming a circuit when the sensor trips or 2. breaking the already formed circuit when the sensor trips.

I want to rig up my broken sensor since I don't run them anyway, it seems silly to pay $30 for one when I don't even have a slot for pad sensors on the ST brakes. Anybody done this?
Appreciate 0
      07-14-2014, 12:50 PM   #2
TrakBch
Captain
9
Rep
693
Posts

 
Drives: Alpine White E92
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, TX

iTrader: (3)

Yep. There's a thread for it.

But in a nut shell you stip the out covering and fuse the two wires together and reset your brake pad sensors and that's all there is to it. I cut it pretty short so the wires stay within the black box thingy.
__________________
Scott P. --- PM me if you need a Free CARFAX report
E92 M3 - Track Rental
F80 M3 - The groceries won't get themselves.
Gallardo Superlegerra - Hey! Look @ Me!
Appreciate 0
      07-14-2014, 01:17 PM   #3
Porschefile
Major
Porschefile's Avatar
16
Rep
1,233
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tennessee

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrakBch View Post
Yep. There's a thread for it.

But in a nut shell you stip the out covering and fuse the two wires together and reset your brake pad sensors and that's all there is to it. I cut it pretty short so the wires stay within the black box thingy.
Nice, thanks! So it must break the circuit when it trips the sensor, meaning I just need to solder the circuit back and plug it back.
Appreciate 0
      07-14-2014, 03:18 PM   #4
TrakBch
Captain
9
Rep
693
Posts

 
Drives: Alpine White E92
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, TX

iTrader: (3)

Yeah that's the gist of it.
__________________
Scott P. --- PM me if you need a Free CARFAX report
E92 M3 - Track Rental
F80 M3 - The groceries won't get themselves.
Gallardo Superlegerra - Hey! Look @ Me!
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST