BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
Lux Angel Eyes
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-05-2013, 04:56 PM   #1
stocksure
Private
 
Drives: 2011 E92
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)

Upgrade from SWS8s to JL 10w3v3?

I currently have two Earthquake SWS 8s under the seats running off a Rockford Fosgate 300.2. They sound pretty good but I'm thinking of changing to a JL 10w3v3 in the trunk running off the same amp - in just a standard sealed box (.7 cu ft).

The amp can do 300 Watts x 1 @ 4-Ohm Bridged so a 4-Ohm JL shouldn't be a problem.

Just wanted to know if anyone else has done this and if there was any benefit. It will end up costing $240.

Some may suggest to add another amp and the JL but I don't really want to mess with that. Easier just plugging speaker cables into a new box in the trunk from the amp.

Thanks!

H
__________________
2011 E92 M3
Jerez Black, ZCP
stocksure is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-08-2013, 03:35 PM   #2
rumelk
Private First Class
 
Drives: E93 M3 Convertible - 6MT!
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London, UK

Posts: 123
iTrader: (0)

I would keep the SWS-8 where they are, get another amp and just piggy back you Rockford amp to the new one and viola! shouldnt be more then a 10-15 minute job.
__________________
rumelk is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-08-2013, 07:41 PM   #3
stocksure
Private
 
Drives: 2011 E92
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)

How would that be wired?
__________________
2011 E92 M3
Jerez Black, ZCP
stocksure is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-09-2013, 12:38 PM   #4
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 13,079
iTrader: (44)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Do you mean running the SWS off the stock amp then using the Rockford to power the JL?
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2013, 12:41 AM   #5
stocksure
Private
 
Drives: 2011 E92
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)

I want to use the RF amp for the JL. Leave the SWS subs unplugged.
__________________
2011 E92 M3
Jerez Black, ZCP
stocksure is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2013, 10:18 AM   #6
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 13,079
iTrader: (44)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by stocksure View Post
I want to use the RF amp for the JL. Leave the SWS subs unplugged.
I personally wouldn't do that. While the JL will add a lot of bass, you will miss the tones that the underseat (and closer) speakers provide.
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-13-2013, 06:15 PM   #7
stocksure
Private
 
Drives: 2011 E92
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)

What do I need to do in order to keep the 8s as mids under the seats and add on the JL 10?

Correct me if I'm wrong - add an amp that allows me to daisy chain them; with one amp running the 10 and another running the 2 8 Earthquakes. Will I need a Crossover in order to divide the music into low and mid frequency ranges?

Is there an easier way to do this? If I replace the 2 8s, as The TECH stated, I will lose the mid range in sound.
__________________
2011 E92 M3
Jerez Black, ZCP
stocksure is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-17-2013, 10:35 AM   #8
rumelk
Private First Class
 
Drives: E93 M3 Convertible - 6MT!
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London, UK

Posts: 123
iTrader: (0)

How have you plugged in your input into the rockford amp? are you using a line output converter? like this http://caraudiosecurity.com/connecti...tput-convertor.

Also what type of factory system do you have, Base Stereo (no tweeter in the doors, and no amp in the trunk by the cd changer), Hifi (tweeter in the doors, and amp in the trunk) or Logic 7 (centre speaker present, speakers covers are silver in colour)

Let me know what you find out.
__________________
rumelk is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-17-2013, 11:47 AM   #9
nimo
Private First Class
 
nimo's Avatar
 
Drives: E90, F30
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Honolulu

Posts: 143
iTrader: (0)

The sws-8 are not good for midbass. I suggest you sell the sws and replace them with oem 8s. Then buy a corner loaded enclosure for the jl. The trunk is a bass trap and will not sound good with a conventional box.
nimo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-18-2013, 06:55 PM   #10
stocksure
Private
 
Drives: 2011 E92
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rumelk View Post
How have you plugged in your input into the rockford amp? are you using a line output converter? like this http://caraudiosecurity.com/connecti...tput-convertor.

Also what type of factory system do you have, Base Stereo (no tweeter in the doors, and no amp in the trunk by the cd changer), Hifi (tweeter in the doors, and amp in the trunk) or Logic 7 (centre speaker present, speakers covers are silver in colour)

Let me know what you find out.
Yes, I am using a Line Out Converter, the PAC SOEM-T. I have the HiFi system (tweeters in the doors and amp in the trunk).

Quote:
Originally Posted by nimo View Post
The sws-8 are not good for midbass. I suggest you sell the sws and replace them with oem 8s. Then buy a corner loaded enclosure for the jl. The trunk is a bass trap and will not sound good with a conventional box.
I got my JL 10w3v3 today and put it in a sealed box in the trunk. I used my RF P300 amp, bridged, to test it out and it sounds fantastic. I am missing the mid-bass since the SWS-8s are unplugged. I get the other amp, Rockford Fosgate R500X1D, tomorrow.

I plan on plugging the RCAs from the LOC into the R500 amp (runs the JL). It has a pass-through so I will use RCA cables going from the pass-through to the RF P-300 amp (runs the 2 SWS-8s). Will daisy-chain the remote turn-on.

Another question is, my RF P300-2 amp has high-pass. Can I put it at high-pass and 80 Hz. That way it will play the SWS-8s at 80 Hz and above?

Then put my R500 amp for the 10" JL at 80 Hz, so it plays everything below 80 Hz?
__________________
2011 E92 M3
Jerez Black, ZCP
stocksure is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST