BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
INDustry distribution
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-01-2013, 01:48 AM   #1
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
54
Rep
1,874
Posts

 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

iTrader: (16)

You can't register the battery w/the Bavarian Technic cable

Picked up a Diehard then picked up a BT Enthusiast's kit to register the battery myself. Loaded the drivers, downloaded the latest working software, plugged up everything, then attempted to register the battery. Under the "Engine - S65" folder, there is no "COMMAND" option to register the battery. I then downloaded the beta software, same thing. Just wanted to inform everyone else who wanted to do this themselves....it has to be coded.

Screen print:


Last edited by whats77inaname; 03-01-2013 at 02:05 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 01:52 AM   #2
Vic311
Banned
United_States
17
Rep
1,469
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 e92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

I havent had to replace battery yet..but on my 335 I was able to:

Engine Module_ Commands_ Battery Replacement Adaption_ Click Send Button

So are you saying for the M3 its not the same?
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 01:58 AM   #3
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
54
Rep
1,874
Posts

 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

iTrader: (16)

Yup. The menu for the options is in the screen print above. I then cross-referenced the BT website http://www.bavariantechnic.com/model...atrix.aspx#e90, where they make a point to indicate which cars have battery registration available. For the 3 series, check out the info underneath the matrix which says, "New battery registration on 325, 328, 330, 335 - except Diesels". Notice there is no M3 :-\

Last edited by whats77inaname; 03-02-2013 at 07:09 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 02:10 AM   #4
Vic311
Banned
United_States
17
Rep
1,469
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 e92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by whats77inaname View Post
Yup. The menu for the options is in the screen print above. I then cross-referenced the BT website http://www.bavariantechnic.com/model...atrix.aspx#e90, where they make a point to indicate which cars have battery registration available. For the 3 series, check out the info underneath the matrix which says, "New battery registration on 325, 328, 330, 335 - except Diesels". Notice there is no E9X :-\
Hmmm.. some of the BT site is not up to date..just a thought you are running the 1.9.x.x. beta version..

The most current full version is 1.8.6.6 ..Trying downloading that version off the BT website.. to see if you have it

I had used the cable to clear a fault code on my M3 and recall seeing the battery module.. I will have to test this out to see if its available
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 02:40 AM   #5
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
54
Rep
1,874
Posts

 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

iTrader: (16)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vic311 View Post
.just a thought you are running the 1.9.x.x. beta version......The most current full version is 1.8.6.6 ..Trying downloading that version off the BT website.. to see if you have it
.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by whats77inaname View Post
downloaded the latest working software.....Under the "Engine - S65" folder, there is no "COMMAND" option to register the battery. I then downloaded the beta software, same thing.
__________________


Not stock.
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 02:44 AM   #6
Vic311
Banned
United_States
17
Rep
1,469
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 e92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by whats77inaname View Post
.....
Sorry didnt read that
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 03:11 AM   #7
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
54
Rep
1,874
Posts

 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

iTrader: (16)

I also ran through all the other menus, and didn't see it in any of them, either. I submitted a support email to BT, so we'll see what they say.
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 06:27 PM   #8
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
54
Rep
1,874
Posts

 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

iTrader: (16)

Here's the response from BT

"Thank you for writing. The tool does not support the new battery registration on the M3 at this time. We hope to provide support for that mode in a future release of the tool. We do not yet have a time frame for the update.

If you have any other questions, don't hesitate to ask.
Owen Sutton
Diagnose Technic
888-854-5523"

Last edited by whats77inaname; 03-01-2013 at 06:44 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 09:48 PM   #9
spdy330
Major General
spdy330's Avatar
United_States
100
Rep
6,074
Posts

 
Drives: 05 Tundra, 11 M3, 08 Odyssey
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Chino, CA

iTrader: (161)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to spdy330 Send a message via Yahoo to spdy330
That sucks.
__________________
If you will be purchasing ANY AT&T services online or in store could you mention that you were referred by me? My Employee Referral ID is eo4489. This would be a great help and it costs you nothing, thank you!
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 11:35 PM   #10
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
54
Rep
1,874
Posts

 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

iTrader: (16)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spdy330 View Post
That sucks.
My thoughts exactly. They are taking it back and giving me a refund, which is good. On to the next solution.
__________________


Not stock.
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2013, 11:32 AM   #11
elm3
M3 Lover
elm3's Avatar
United_States
26
Rep
1,864
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 e92 M3 Interlagos Blue
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canton, GA.

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
I was wondering the same thing too. I looked at mine and it didn't have a way of registering a new battery in my car. Keep us updated on anything else that we could use, other than the dealership for registering the new battery.
__________________
'09 E92 ///M3 Interlagos Blue, 6MT, Silver Novillo Leather, CF Trim, Premium Package, Technology Package, Cold Weather Package, Premium Sound, 19" Wheels, Moonroof-Toy/ '14 335i, Sport Line, Premium Package, Technology Package, 19" wheels, Heated Seats - Daily Driver/ '04 Yamaha R1 - Toy/ '06 Yamaha Raptor 350-Toy
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2013, 03:09 PM   #12
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
54
Rep
1,874
Posts

 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

iTrader: (16)

Quote:
Originally Posted by elm3 View Post
I was wondering the same thing too. I looked at mine and it didn't have a way of registering a new battery in my car. Keep us updated on anything else that we could use, other than the dealership for registering the new battery.
In looking @ various posts, it can be coded in, but I can't fathom spending big money to simply register a battery. I've had Benvo code other things for my car in the past, and I was really, really pleased with his service, so I'm on the fence about a) getting a remote coding quote for this or b) finally spending the time investment to learn how to code my car myself. The information is out there, it's just the whole time thing :-\
__________________


Not stock.
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2013, 07:51 PM   #13
elm3
M3 Lover
elm3's Avatar
United_States
26
Rep
1,864
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 e92 M3 Interlagos Blue
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canton, GA.

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by whats77inaname View Post
In looking @ various posts, it can be coded in, but I can't fathom spending big money to simply register a battery. I've had Benvo code other things for my car in the past, and I was really, really pleased with his service, so I'm on the fence about a) getting a remote coding quote for this or b) finally spending the time investment to learn how to code my car myself. The information is out there, it's just the whole time thing :-\
I agree with you. I'm looking on my end too.
__________________
'09 E92 ///M3 Interlagos Blue, 6MT, Silver Novillo Leather, CF Trim, Premium Package, Technology Package, Cold Weather Package, Premium Sound, 19" Wheels, Moonroof-Toy/ '14 335i, Sport Line, Premium Package, Technology Package, 19" wheels, Heated Seats - Daily Driver/ '04 Yamaha R1 - Toy/ '06 Yamaha Raptor 350-Toy
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2013, 08:30 AM   #14
GRUESOM3
Private First Class
3
Rep
190
Posts

 
Drives: 2 peoples cars and a E90 M3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Staten Island NY

iTrader: (3)

What else does this cable not do, i was going to buy it but for 600$+ and not be able to at least do battery, i might have to skip this purchase too.
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2013, 10:18 AM   #15
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
13,121
Posts


 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Their site tells you everything that it does. It's quote a good tool. I don't think there's really anything else out there that can match it for the price.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2013, 12:16 PM   #16
808MGuy
Colonel
808MGuy's Avatar
49
Rep
2,287
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oahu, Hawaii

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE TECH View Post
Their site tells you everything that it does. It's quote a good tool. I don't think there's really anything else out there that can match it for the price.
If only they could get it to work on a modern computer. I bought it about a year ago and had issues with the driver blue screening my computer. I was told that if your computer has USB 3.0 ports, the driver is not compatible and they don't have plans on releasing an updated driver in the near future so they told me to return the tool or get another computer. It seems like they are not in the business of actually developing the product since they don't have a fix for any of the issues it has. Their solution is always, just return it because it won't work. They seem more like just a reseller of the equipment that someone else makes for them.

In comparison, Ross-Tech, who makes a similar product for VW/Audi cars is light years ahead of them. You contact them about issues and they typically have a solution for you within 24 hours even on the weekends. I heard a while back they were contemplating trying to get into the BMW market but that has since died.
__________________
09 E90 M3 - Interlagos Blue / Black Novillo / Sycamore Anthracite / Eibach / HRE

Appreciate 0
      03-06-2013, 12:33 PM   #17
GRUESOM3
Private First Class
3
Rep
190
Posts

 
Drives: 2 peoples cars and a E90 M3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Staten Island NY

iTrader: (3)

I have used VCDS for about 12 years now (my other cars are vw's) its a great tool and worth every penny.

On the other hand im not sure if this is comparable to bavarian tool if i can't simply code a battery.

What are some other options besides the bavarian technic tool?
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2014, 06:40 PM   #18
rmw04c
Jewbacca
rmw04c's Avatar
5
Rep
207
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 SGM 335is
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cloud 9

iTrader: (2)

I have a 2011 335is and I was able to send the new battery command successfully via the BT cable. Not sure if it actually did anything, but it said it did. YMMV.
__________________
2007 E92 335i - Retired
2011 E92 6MT 335is - JB4, Stett CP, Synapse BOV, Wagner FMIC, BMS OCC, CDV mod, AFE DCI, AR DPs, Cyba Scoops, BMS Clutch Stop, P3Cars v2.1 vent gauge, LED side markers.
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2014, 12:52 PM   #19
HapaM3
New Member
0
Rep
22
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Btech still not supporting battery replacement for M3? The thread is old so I wanted to check.

I just bought this thing!
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2014, 01:01 PM   #20
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
54
Rep
1,874
Posts

 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

iTrader: (16)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmw04c View Post
I have a 2011 335is and I was able to send the new battery command successfully via the BT cable. Not sure if it actually did anything, but it said it did. YMMV.
As I indicated in the thread, this is M3 specific.

Quote:
Originally Posted by whats77inaname View Post
Here's the response from BT

"Thank you for writing. The tool does not support the new battery registration on the M3 at this time. We hope to provide support for that mode in a future release of the tool. We do not yet have a time frame for the update.

If you have any other questions, don't hesitate to ask.
Owen Sutton
Diagnose Technic
888-854-5523"
Appreciate 0
      12-13-2014, 11:17 PM   #21
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Mike Benvo's Avatar
United_States
98
Rep
4,813
Posts


 
Drives: Harrop SC M3 / E46 M3 / 7Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
I've given up on using the BT tool for logging a long time ago, once you add more than 3 things to log it goes haywire. I tried on an supercharged E36 on the dyno and it was also a nightmare for that too. I do like that you can send custom CAN commands and the conditioned based service changes it makes easy are useful.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST