BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > M3 Photos/Video/Media Gallery

Steve Thomas BMW

09-20-2013, 05:47 AM   #1
Law
M TREEZ

Drives: E46 M3 6MT | E90 M3 6MT

Garage List
2011 BMW M3  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [5.00]
Smile How I Picked Up My E90 M3

Hello Everyone,

I've been on M3Post for quite some time now but mostly just to read and spectate. Today I'd like to share a recent experience, on the purchase of my E90 M3 in August.

BACKGROUND
I've been driving my E46 M3 as a daily since 2011 & always loved the E90 M3 but wasn't quite ready for one. I only started looking for an E90 M3 since early this year.
My criteria for my "new" M3 was simple, 4 doors (E90), 6 speed manual, LCI, well optioned, not modified, and reasonable mileage.
It turns out my criteria was still too complicated for the market and it took a quite a bit of effort to find the right one. Often times, the "right" one was rarely in Southern California, where I reside.

FROM HELLA NORCAL TO TOTALLY SOCAL

Fast forward to August 2013. Found a low mileage (18,xxx) 2011 M3 6-speed, Jerez black on Fox Red interior. The Carfax was available for review and it was clean inside and out, dealer bought, sold, and serviced. It was a little bit out of budget at $52,xxx but I couldn't escape the thought that it was a good deal for such a well maintained, low mileage and last model year production example with all the options i wanted. I decided to go for it!

Problem was, it was located at Mountain View BMW in NorCal while I live and work in SoCal.

Solution: road trip with some good friends on the weekend.
Turns out, I really found some good company...two of my good buddies drove their M5s, one E39 and one E60. If the deal worked out, we thought, it would be a hell of a fun cruise back.