BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
Lux Angel Eyes
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-19-2013, 03:04 AM   #1
Longwong
Banned
15

 
Drives: e92 m3 catless
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA


Posts: 371
iTrader: (0)

Tuners can this be done?

Is there anyway to allow S6 while keep traction control on? Why you may ask or what is the point? I personally feel there is a level of excitment in S6 that is not there in S5. However the excitment and brutality is also dangerous for the roads and never use it since I don't ever want to lose control at the expense of someone else. But there must be a way to do this?

Also nobody has cracked the servotronic steering yet I believe but perhaps nobody has wanted to or interested. I find at 110 mph that I could use a heavier weight servo setting
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2013, 04:40 AM   #2
///M Power-Belgium
Brigadier General
Belgium
88

 
///M Power-Belgium's Avatar
 
Drives: ///M3-DCT- E92 Silverstone II
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Belgium


Posts: 3,811
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Longwong View Post
Is there anyway to allow S6 while keep traction control on? Why you may ask or what is the point? I personally feel there is a level of excitment in S6 that is not there in S5. However the excitment and brutality is also dangerous for the roads and never use it since I don't ever want to lose control at the expense of someone else. But there must be a way to do this?

Also nobody has cracked the servotronic steering yet I believe but perhaps nobody has wanted to or interested. I find at 110 mph that I could use a heavier weight servo setting
Ask him....he is the best v v v
http://www.bpmsport.com/tuning.php
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2013, 06:51 PM   #3
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
459


 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA


Posts: 10,498
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Longwong View Post
Is there anyway to allow S6 while keep traction control on? Why you may ask or what is the point? I personally feel there is a level of excitment in S6 that is not there in S5. However the excitment and brutality is also dangerous for the roads and never use it since I don't ever want to lose control at the expense of someone else. But there must be a way to do this?

Also nobody has cracked the servotronic steering yet I believe but perhaps nobody has wanted to or interested. I find at 110 mph that I could use a heavier weight servo setting
Checked with ESS on this. The ESS DCT software makes S5 setting very similar to the stock S6 feel, therefore adding a "S7" feel when you selecting DSC OFF/S6. In retrospect: everything gets elevated a notch.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2013, 07:06 PM   #4
sensi09
Lieutenant Colonel
18

 
Drives: .
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: socal


Posts: 1,766
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Checked with ESS on this. The ESS DCT software makes S5 setting very similar to the stock S6 feel, therefore adding a "S7" feel when you selecting DSC OFF/S6. In retrospect: everything gets elevated a notch.

Hope this helps.
Is there rev matching in S3 with the DCT software?
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2013, 07:06 PM   #5
VCMpower
Banned
Canada
9

 
Drives: 2010 Dakar, 2013 Fire Orange
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Victoria B.C.


Posts: 941
iTrader: (0)

+1



Quote:
Originally Posted by ///M Power-Belgium View Post
Ask him....he is the best v v v
http://www.bpmsport.com/tuning.php
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2013, 07:10 PM   #6
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
459


 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA


Posts: 10,498
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by sensi09 View Post
Is there rev matching in S3 with the DCT software?
Haven't installed our file yet, but will report back when we get some miles on it.

PM me your mail and I'll be happy to follow up with you.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2013, 07:21 PM   #7
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
130


 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: Harrop SC M3 / E46 M3 / 7Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal


Posts: 4,750
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
It's counter intuitive to have S6 on with traction control on, because that will only cause a shift that induces more traction loss, followed by an immediate limit from the DSC unit.

Firmness of shifts in DCT software might give you what you're looking for, but S6 will always be better regardless. I drive my E60 M5 in S6 DSC off everywhere I go.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2013, 09:12 PM   #8
sensi09
Lieutenant Colonel
18

 
Drives: .
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: socal


Posts: 1,766
iTrader: (1)

S6 being available with MDM might be a decent tradeoff
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2013, 10:48 AM   #9
Longwong
Banned
15

 
Drives: e92 m3 catless
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA


Posts: 371
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Benvo View Post
It's counter intuitive to have S6 on with traction control on, because that will only cause a shift that induces more traction loss, followed by an immediate limit from the DSC unit.

Firmness of shifts in DCT software might give you what you're looking for, but S6 will always be better regardless. I drive my E60 M5 in S6 DSC off everywhere I go.
I am not looking for the optimum situations but rather the most fun while still being safe. Is it possible even though it may not make sense to many? I liked the idea of allowing S6 with MDM. That seems the best of both worlds. So even though this makes no sense, can it be done for those of us who actually would use S6 more if we could keep mdm on?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST