BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board
 
VF Engineering
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-27-2013, 06:22 PM   #1
bga23
Dirty old man
 
Drives: 2011.99 e90 Alpine White
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Yeah, but it is a dry heat

Posts: 470
iTrader: (0)

Weird looking plug

My wife got a treadmill from work and we brought it into the house only to discover it has this plug on it. I've never seen anything like it before. Anyone have any clue what the deal with it is? Can I just get some sort of adapter at Home Depot?
Attached Images
 
__________________
2012 Ford Raptor
2011 AW e90 - For sale
http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1016269
bga23 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2013, 06:30 PM   #2
kevinbahnz
Lieutenant
 
kevinbahnz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335xi sedan
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ma-NC

Posts: 479
iTrader: (1)

i think its a 220 v plug
__________________
<img src=http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z164/kevinbahnz/08-23-2008030.jpg border=0 alt= />
kevinbahnz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2013, 06:30 PM   #3
silvergray545
Skittles
 
silvergray545's Avatar
 
Drives: E60 545i Sport
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cleveland, OH

Posts: 453
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2005 545i Sport  [0.00]
Sounds like the only logical explanation is aliens.
__________________

Not putting miles on your Ferrari is like not f*cking your girlfriend so she'll be more desirable to her next boyfriend.
silvergray545 is offline   Lebanon
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2013, 06:31 PM   #4
rohms3
Lieutenant
 
rohms3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Long Island, NY

Posts: 524
iTrader: (0)

20amp 110v plug, the treadmill probably draws a lot of amperage.

You'll need a 20amp circuit to plug it into. 20a or higher breaker, 12awg romex, and a 20a receptacle if you don't have an existing circuit you can use. If you don't know what you're doing, call an electrician. Do not use some sort of adapter to plug this into a regular 15a 110v receptacle.
rohms3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2013, 06:32 PM   #5
williakz
Banned
 
Drives: Lexus LS460
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: AL

Posts: 119
iTrader: (0)

High current requirement. Many/most home outlets are limited to 15A. Your device can require higher current (up to 20A). Thus the "weird" connector. You see them often specified for home theater equipment racks where the amplifiers can occasionally demand more than 15A (during special effects sounds). Check with an electrician in order to properly connect your treadmill. Good luck.
williakz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2013, 06:55 PM   #6
bga23
Dirty old man
 
Drives: 2011.99 e90 Alpine White
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Yeah, but it is a dry heat

Posts: 470
iTrader: (0)

Will call an electrician. Many thanks.

And the "free" treadmill just got more expensive - $50 to tip a guy to deliver, $60 for a mat to protect the floor and now an electrician. Great...
__________________
2012 Ford Raptor
2011 AW e90 - For sale
http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1016269
bga23 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2013, 09:16 PM   #7
stimpy
Colonel
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenix AZ

Posts: 2,112
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bga23 View Post
Will call an electrician. Many thanks.

And the "free" treadmill just got more expensive - $50 to tip a guy to deliver, $60 for a mat to protect the floor and now an electrician. Great...
And then it gets used for a week or two and then sits there forever collecting dust while the wife refuses to get rid of it because she needs to start working out again soon.
stimpy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2013, 09:23 PM   #8
Mr Tonka
Tonka.... Mr. Tonka
 
Drives: Exceptionally well :)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa, FL

Posts: 1,173
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bga23 View Post
Will call an electrician. Many thanks.

And the "free" treadmill just got more expensive - $50 to tip a guy to deliver, $60 for a mat to protect the floor and now an electrician. Great...
Quote:
Originally Posted by stimpy View Post
And then it gets used for a week or two and then sits there forever collecting dust while the wife refuses to get rid of it because she needs to start working out again soon.
Naaa, they make the best clothes drying rack.
__________________
-Joe


"Government is the great fiction, through which everybody endeavors to live at the expense of everybody else." — Frédéric Bastiat
Mr Tonka is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2013, 11:28 PM   #9
adriang
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nobleton

Posts: 578
iTrader: (0)

i've seen a handful of these plugs here and there,

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NEMA_connector
__________________
2011 BMW 335d
adriang is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2013, 01:16 AM   #10
badazzm
Lieutenant
 
badazzm's Avatar
 
Drives: RRS GT2
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Jose, CA

Posts: 543
iTrader: (1)

Lol. Thats some alien shit.
badazzm is offline   India
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2013, 05:00 AM   #11
Orientexpress
Second Lieutenant
 
Orientexpress's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 MB 335i, E70 AW Diesel
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Edmonton, Canada

Posts: 213
iTrader: (10)

Send a message via Skype™ to Orientexpress
As someone posted this is a 20 amp receptacle. It will require a 20 amp circuit breaker and depending On the existing wiring in the house may need to have a conductor run of the appropriate size. Do no use an adapter to convert the use of a 20 amp receptacle with a 15 amp circuit. 15 amp circuits will probably either trip or you possibly could melt the 15 amp conductor causing fire.

Not sure your location but Probably the reason why it was free the person previously didn't want to run a dedicated 20 amp circuit for this treadmill. Though depending on the location could be very easy to run a new circuit with the appropriate conductor and receptacle.

The rough hardware cost to do yourself is below.

20 amp single pole Circuit breaker - 50$
Device box - 5$
20 amp Receptacle - 5$
20 amp conductor - 1.00$ per foot

If your doing this yourself shut off the panel and test for power before you install circuit breakers, new wiring and receptcles or call an electrician.
__________________
http://www.e90post.com/forums/image.php?u=26393&type=sigpic&dateline=1243666257

Vishnu PROcede V5 Rev.3 | Helix Intercooler | Vishnu DCI | Forge Diverters | AR OCC | AR Catted DP | Bastuck Quad Exhaust | Aero Front Lip | Mtech Sideskirts | BMW 269 Wheels | 10&12mm Spacers | BMW SSK | F1 Autohaus LED | Rear Fog Light Mod
Orientexpress is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2013, 10:37 AM   #12
Blayne
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: Escalade
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada

Posts: 44
iTrader: (0)

Is the treadmill at least ballin?
Blayne is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST