BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Wheels + Tires Sponsored by The Tire Rack
  TireRack

KEEP M3POST ALIVE BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER LINK!
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-25-2013, 12:50 PM   #1
Tufosi
Private First Class
Tufosi's Avatar
3
Rep
132
Posts

Drives: 2011 M3 DCT
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC.

iTrader: (1)

Not adding TPMS to my new wheels.

Im not going to be adding TPMS to my new set of wheels. I really don't need it and don't feel like spending the extra money on it. From what I read I will get a light that comes on the dash b/c the system won't the detect the sensors on the wheels... is there anything else that I should expect also? Im not going to get any constant annoying beeping sounds or anything like that right?
__________________
2011 E92 DCT
BBS LM-R, KW S/O, Meistershaft GT-2
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2013, 01:08 PM   #2
1MOREMOD
2015 Track Days - 7|Ridge 1:52:24|Pacific 1:33:30
1MOREMOD's Avatar
United_States
298
Rep
14,395
Posts

Drives: Race car->
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: check your mirrors

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tufosi View Post
Im not going to be adding TPMS to my new set of wheels. I really don't need it and don't feel like spending the extra money on it. From what I read I will get a light that comes on the dash b/c the system won't the detect the sensors on the wheels... is there anything else that I should expect also? Im not going to get any constant annoying beeping sounds or anything like that right?
No that's it just the light on the dash. I had that each time I put on track tires but wasn't really an issue. May give warning on start up also can't remember.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2013, 01:57 PM   #3
Tufosi
Private First Class
Tufosi's Avatar
3
Rep
132
Posts

Drives: 2011 M3 DCT
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC.

iTrader: (1)

cool.. I can live with that... thanks dude.
__________________
2011 E92 DCT
BBS LM-R, KW S/O, Meistershaft GT-2
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2013, 02:04 PM   #4
kawasaki00
Major
kawasaki00's Avatar
44
Rep
1,415
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Charlotte NC

iTrader: (4)

You can always get them turned off in coding also.
__________________
Electronics Junkie, Engine Builder.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2013, 02:40 PM   #5
325rider
Zyzz Follower
United_States
11
Rep
807
Posts

Drives: '11 e90 M3 6mt
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, Fl

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kawasaki00 View Post
You can always get them turned off in coding also.
like, mike benvo BPM tune coding??? Does anyone know if he can do this?
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2013, 02:52 PM   #6
kawasaki00
Major
kawasaki00's Avatar
44
Rep
1,415
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Charlotte NC

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 325rider View Post
like, mike benvo BPM tune coding??? Does anyone know if he can do this?
It is a little more involved than standard coding but can be done.
Hit up Mike Benvo and check, I am sure he can help you out.
I did my own but I am a little nervous doing a car other than my own, it involves backing up, changing vo string and then reflashing a couple modules.
__________________
Electronics Junkie, Engine Builder.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2013, 02:53 PM   #7
325rider
Zyzz Follower
United_States
11
Rep
807
Posts

Drives: '11 e90 M3 6mt
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, Fl

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kawasaki00 View Post
It is a little more involved than standard coding but can be done.
Hit up Mike Benvo and check, I am sure he can help you out.
I did my own but I am a little nervous doing a car other than my own, it involves backing up, changing vo string and then reflashing a couple modules.
OIC, so this has to hands on done by the "coder" or "installer", cannot just be plugged in like the BPM tune.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2013, 03:24 PM   #8
slicer
Brigadier General
slicer's Avatar
79
Rep
4,043
Posts

Drives: '13 E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (20)

I would just get the monitors. They cost $200 at most and it's a great safety feature to have. You will probably have to spend $100 to get them coded out... So you save $100?? Seems silly on a $70k car.
__________________
'13 M3 - Silverstone II - Sold
'04 M3 - Jet Black - BBS E88, KW Clubsports
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2013, 03:27 PM   #9
1MOREMOD
2015 Track Days - 7|Ridge 1:52:24|Pacific 1:33:30
1MOREMOD's Avatar
United_States
298
Rep
14,395
Posts

Drives: Race car->
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: check your mirrors

iTrader: (5)

I would do it for a street tire but I had 4 sets of wheels 3 that weren't used on the street. May do my future sets just for a little earlier warning if something happens on the track.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2013, 03:46 PM   #10
Transfer
Lieutenant Colonel
Transfer's Avatar
United_States
33
Rep
1,772
Posts

Drives: SQ5, M235i xD (ordered!)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (0)

No TPMS on my winter or track wheels. It will gong once on startup and you press the control stalk end button then it just is a small light on the dash. I can see some minor advantages to having it but really the chances you'll flat and wreck because you don't know it are very low. Also, when I remove my TPMS stock 19s, it takes like 50 miles to notice and warn me. Not sure if removal is different than flatting, but it doesn't make me too confident about TPMS.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2013, 07:37 PM   #11
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
670
Rep
11,621
Posts


Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (15)

Garage List
2010 BMW M3  [0.00]
2015 BMW M4  [2.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by kawasaki00 View Post
You can always get them turned off in coding also.
We can perform TPMS delete for local customers, we've done this for a number of track vehicles.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2013, 08:15 PM   #12
325rider
Zyzz Follower
United_States
11
Rep
807
Posts

Drives: '11 e90 M3 6mt
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, Fl

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by slicer View Post
I would just get the monitors. They cost $200 at most and it's a great safety feature to have. You will probably have to spend $100 to get them coded out... So you save $100?? Seems silly on a $70k car.
Where can you get OEM TPMS for less than $200?
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2013, 08:20 PM   #13
1MOREMOD
2015 Track Days - 7|Ridge 1:52:24|Pacific 1:33:30
1MOREMOD's Avatar
United_States
298
Rep
14,395
Posts

Drives: Race car->
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: check your mirrors

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 325rider View Post
Where can you get OEM TPMS for less than $200?
EAS has them for 230 I think.
Appreciate 0
      04-28-2013, 03:21 PM   #14
slicer
Brigadier General
slicer's Avatar
79
Rep
4,043
Posts

Drives: '13 E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (20)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 325rider View Post
Where can you get OEM TPMS for less than $200?
Tire Rack (might not technically be a BMW part number but it is made by the same manufacturer).
__________________
'13 M3 - Silverstone II - Sold
'04 M3 - Jet Black - BBS E88, KW Clubsports

Last edited by slicer; 04-28-2013 at 08:28 PM.
Appreciate 0
      04-28-2013, 03:39 PM   #15
LightWerkz
Banned
14
Rep
534
Posts

Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oakland, NJ

iTrader: (1)

Just pick up the MS TPMS Module, no need for TPMS in each set of wheels and no annoying lights.
Appreciate 0
      04-28-2013, 05:57 PM   #16
325rider
Zyzz Follower
United_States
11
Rep
807
Posts

Drives: '11 e90 M3 6mt
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, Fl

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LightWerkz View Post
Just pick up the MS TPMS Module, no need for TPMS in each set of wheels and no annoying lights.
Can't decide. I mean, I rather spend $350 for all coding for the car from Mike Benvo than pay $260 just for the MS unit. So, if I'm going to spend $$350, I may as well just get TPMS.
Anyone know if TPMS fits Advan RS wheels?!?

Appreciate 0
      04-28-2013, 08:26 PM   #17
slicer
Brigadier General
slicer's Avatar
79
Rep
4,043
Posts

Drives: '13 E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (20)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 325rider View Post
Can't decide. I mean, I rather spend $350 for all coding for the car from Mike Benvo than pay $260 just for the MS unit. So, if I'm going to spend $$350, I may as well just get TPMS.
Anyone know if TPMS fits Advan RS wheels?!?

Tpms should fit any modern wheel except for certain 3 piece wheels with hidden valve stems (even these typically have provisions to mount the tpms monitor in an alternative position). Remember that pressure monitors have been required in the US since 2007. Not all manufacturers use a direct system (with monitors in the wheel) but any wheel manufacturer would be foolish not make their wheels compatible.
__________________
'13 M3 - Silverstone II - Sold
'04 M3 - Jet Black - BBS E88, KW Clubsports
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2013, 11:00 PM   #18
325rider
Zyzz Follower
United_States
11
Rep
807
Posts

Drives: '11 e90 M3 6mt
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, Fl

iTrader: (1)

got a good PM offer on OEM TPMS for 2011 me shipped to 33131. Sponsor get back to me i lost the PM. Looking to order asap
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2013, 07:03 PM   #19
325rider
Zyzz Follower
United_States
11
Rep
807
Posts

Drives: '11 e90 M3 6mt
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, Fl

iTrader: (1)

FYI, I got New OEM TPMS from EAS and had them installed but not programmed by a tire shop. No light or warning so far.... I was under the impression they needed to be "programmed" by the deal...

Can anyone chime in on this
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2013, 07:36 PM   #20
slicer
Brigadier General
slicer's Avatar
79
Rep
4,043
Posts

Drives: '13 E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (20)

You reset them via your idrive (not sure on method for those without idrive). No dealer visit required.
__________________
'13 M3 - Silverstone II - Sold
'04 M3 - Jet Black - BBS E88, KW Clubsports
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2013, 08:06 PM   #21
1MOREMOD
2015 Track Days - 7|Ridge 1:52:24|Pacific 1:33:30
1MOREMOD's Avatar
United_States
298
Rep
14,395
Posts

Drives: Race car->
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: check your mirrors

iTrader: (5)

I now have 2008 TPMS set on my e46 m3 doesn't work!
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2013, 06:24 PM   #22
325rider
Zyzz Follower
United_States
11
Rep
807
Posts

Drives: '11 e90 M3 6mt
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, Fl

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by slicer View Post
You reset them via your idrive (not sure on method for those without idrive). No dealer visit required.
True. I don't have iDrive. I just turned the car on and the light never came on. So I guess they work lol? I do have a tire warning button next to my door lock button under the emergency lights. Hard to say I guess.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:01 AM.




m3post
m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST