BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
Strasse Wheels
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-31-2013, 04:20 PM   #1
LexToM
New Member
 
Drives: 08 e92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: CT

Posts: 24
iTrader: (1)

V1 Hardwire Issues

I am having a bit of trouble hardwiring my valentine 1 and can't figure out t he issue. I have done this in my e46 and e60 in 15min but this damn e92 has me stumped. I tapped into the dome light area with the green/white wire as in many guides, at first it would work but if i jiggled the wire it would disconnect as the tap didnt cut into the wire insulation enough so i pinched and retapped and can see its hitting well but every time i turn it on it just has all the lights on the v1 and makes a crazy clinking buzzing sound non stop but never turns on. I have tried to ground it to the visor posts with the torx screw but same thing with whatever I do.

I don't have the original cig power to test to see if the v1 blew out or anything but i checked the fuse and its still good so I don't think so.

Any ideas?
LexToM is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-31-2013, 08:09 PM   #2
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: Harrop SC M3 / E46 M3 / 7Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 4,705
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Don't wire it to the dome light. Most of the +12v wires up there are bus lines for the sunroof.

Use a fuse tap and put it in the glovebox and run the wire up the A pillar.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Mike Benvo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-01-2013, 12:57 PM   #3
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 13,104
iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Benvo View Post
Don't wire it to the dome light. Most of the +12v wires up there are bus lines for the sunroof.

Use a fuse tap and put it in the glovebox and run the wire up the A pillar.
+1. Definitely the preferred way!
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-01-2013, 05:36 PM   #4
zeeman335
Lieutenant
 
zeeman335's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 M3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Massachusetts

Posts: 505
iTrader: (2)

What fuse in the 2013 m3's can you use that are free?
__________________
zeeman335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-01-2013, 09:53 PM   #5
ersin
Brigadier General
 
ersin's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 IB E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland

Posts: 4,068
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeeman335 View Post
What fuse in the 2013 m3's can you use that are free?
Number 5.


Cheers.
__________________

I've been assimilated. 6MT/ZPP/18"/PS extended.
ersin is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-01-2013, 10:24 PM   #6
spdy330
Major General
 
spdy330's Avatar
 
Drives: 05 Tundra, 11 M3, 08 Odyssey
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Chino, CA

Posts: 6,015
iTrader: (159)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to spdy330 Send a message via Yahoo to spdy330
+2

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE TECH View Post
+1. Definitely the preferred way!
__________________
If any of you are purchasing ANY AT&T services could you mention that you were referred by me? My referral ID is eo4489. This would be a great help, thank you!
spdy330 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-02-2013, 01:06 AM   #7
0_to_60
First Lieutenant
 
0_to_60's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: LA, CA

Posts: 353
iTrader: (0)

i have savvy and can i run that through the obdi2 port?
0_to_60 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-02-2013, 08:24 AM   #8
zeeman335
Lieutenant
 
zeeman335's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 M3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Massachusetts

Posts: 505
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ersin View Post
Number 5.


Cheers.

Thanks bro!
__________________
zeeman335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-02-2013, 12:43 PM   #9
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 13,104
iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by DraculaM3 View Post
i have savvy and can i run that through the obdi2 port?
I wouldn't.
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-02-2013, 02:09 PM   #10
0_to_60
First Lieutenant
 
0_to_60's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: LA, CA

Posts: 353
iTrader: (0)

why not its made for that
0_to_60 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-02-2013, 02:10 PM   #11
0_to_60
First Lieutenant
 
0_to_60's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: LA, CA

Posts: 353
iTrader: (0)

no hardwiring just a simple plug and play
0_to_60 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-02-2013, 02:14 PM   #12
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 13,104
iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by DraculaM3 View Post
why not its made for that
I wouldn't suggest constantly powering items from the OBD port.
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-02-2013, 05:14 PM   #13
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: Harrop SC M3 / E46 M3 / 7Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 4,705
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Definitely don't power from OBD because +12v on obd pin 16 is not switched, and you don't want to add draw there.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Mike Benvo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST