BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Cosmetic/Visual (Exterior + Interior) Modifications
 
European Auto Source
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-29-2013, 09:27 AM   #1
NOM3ERY
Lieutenant
12
Rep
478
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: bronx,ny

iTrader: (5)

Switching from pre-Lci to Lci tails...What needs to be done?

Whats up everyone, so today is a pretty lucky day for me. I work at a Mercedes-Benz dealership and somebody traded in their 2012 328i. I've been hoping and patiently waiting for one to come in so i can swap for Lci tails. Im going to be swaping them today my question is what needs to be done? Are they plug and play? or does the tails need to be codded etc etc..?
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2013, 09:33 AM   #2
aussiem3
Lieutenant Colonel
aussiem3's Avatar
Australia
51
Rep
1,956
Posts

Drives: Goggomobil
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kangaroo land

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 E92 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by NOM3ERY View Post
Whats up everyone, so today is a pretty lucky day for me. I work at a Mercedes-Benz dealership and somebody traded in their 2012 328i. I've been hoping and patiently waiting for one to come in so i can swap for Lci tails. Im going to be swaping them today my question is what needs to be done? Are they plug and play? or does the tails need to be codded etc etc..?
You need it coded and Mike Benvo on this forum will be happy to oblige ... he's the jack of all trades
__________________
E92 M3 2007 - ///PE with Test Pipes and BPM Stage II; CF Interior & Splitters; CIC with Connected Drive
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2013, 09:43 AM   #3
NOM3ERY
Lieutenant
12
Rep
478
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: bronx,ny

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aussiem3 View Post
You need it coded and Mike Benvo on this forum will be happy to oblige ... he's the jack of all trades
thought so lol... can only a bmw dealership do this?
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2013, 10:29 AM   #4
JYohay
Banned
24
Rep
2,011
Posts

Drives: 2011 X5
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

no you can hit up onebadmofo (staten island) or cn555ic (bronx).
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2013, 10:36 AM   #5
NOM3ERY
Lieutenant
12
Rep
478
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: bronx,ny

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JYohay View Post
no you can hit up onebadmofo (staten island) or cn555ic (bronx).
thanks buddy
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2013, 08:02 PM   #6
M3PO
Colonel
M3PO's Avatar
38
Rep
2,790
Posts

Drives: '08 IB E92
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: OC

iTrader: (7)

So you're going to swap your old lights onto this 328 or what?
__________________
2008 IB E92 M3| BBS | KW | Arkym | Platte Forme A.G. | Active Autowerke | K&N | Fabspeed | Dinan | Evolve-R
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2013, 09:24 PM   #7
badazzm
Lieutenant
badazzm's Avatar
India
9
Rep
540
Posts

Drives: RRS GT2
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Jose, CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M3PO
So you're going to swap your old lights onto this 328 or what?
+1. What if the next person who buys the car finds out?
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2013, 11:28 PM   #8
aussiem3
Lieutenant Colonel
aussiem3's Avatar
Australia
51
Rep
1,956
Posts

Drives: Goggomobil
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kangaroo land

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 E92 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by NOM3ERY View Post
thought so lol... can only a bmw dealership do this?
Why do you want to pay the dealer stealer amount when Mike can do it without breaking the piggy bank.
__________________
E92 M3 2007 - ///PE with Test Pipes and BPM Stage II; CF Interior & Splitters; CIC with Connected Drive
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2013, 09:15 PM   #9
M3Goozy
Private
M3Goozy's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
64
Posts

Drives: 2009 Interlagos Blue M3 Coupe
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (1)

Can this be done local only or over the internet? I want to upgrade my 09 to LCI also, but live in Michigan.
__________________
2009 BMW M3 Coupe- Interlagos Blue w/ Black extended leather- DCT- EDC- BPM Stage I- CF Roof- CF hood vents-Macht Schnell air filter- painted reflectors- premium sound-19" 220 wheels- Lux V3 Angel Eyes- 35% tint-LCI tail/trunk light upgrade- OEM CF spoiler,
Glad to finally join the M3 family
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2013, 09:32 PM   #10
richard313
First Lieutenant
4
Rep
334
Posts

Drives: F10 535xi M-sport
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: 604

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by badazzm View Post
+1. What if the next person who buys the car finds out?
+2
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2013, 04:17 PM   #11
Mr.MichaelM3
First Lieutenant
Mr.MichaelM3's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
346
Posts

Drives: 2015 AW F80 M3
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Dirty Jersey

iTrader: (0)

I am also confused as to when the customer purchases the car and see's the pre lci tails on a newer model? . You will also need the harness as well that would need to be swapped. I know the FRM2 module can be coded so yhou wont need the FRM3. Another issue is the car you want to swap these lights out of may need to be coded again if you are putting your pre lci tails in. All in all bite the bullet and purchase a set for like 500$ bucks
__________________
2010 E90 M3 ESS-vt1 550 SOLD but never forgotten

2015 F80 M3: JB4 and MPE
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2013, 04:20 PM   #12
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Mike Benvo's Avatar
United_States
119
Rep
4,945
Posts


Drives: Harrop SC M3 / E46 M3 / 7Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2014 BMW M5  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
You'll need the retrofit harnesses, lights, and coding, and you'll be good to go.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2013, 05:21 PM   #13
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
535
Rep
11,343
Posts


Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2015 BMW M4  [2.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by NOM3ERY View Post
Whats up everyone, so today is a pretty lucky day for me. I work at a Mercedes-Benz dealership and somebody traded in their 2012 328i. I've been hoping and patiently waiting for one to come in so i can swap for Lci tails. Im going to be swaping them today my question is what needs to be done? Are they plug and play? or does the tails need to be codded etc etc..?
Got everything covered for you in this thread:

▀▄ eas - 2011 LCI Taillight Retrofit Overview - Q&A
http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=386823

Very easy and straightforward swap.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2013, 06:03 PM   #14
Johndong888
John
Johndong888's Avatar
United_States
12
Rep
808
Posts

Drives: '12 AW/FR M3 & '14 F15 X5
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ

iTrader: (8)

Send a message via Skype™ to Johndong888
You will need a harness as well as a way to connect the old pre-lci to the 2012 car. Not sure how that will work, almost like a reverse harness. Then maybe coding for the new car as well.

But on a serious note, you drive a M3, I am sure you can afford LCI tails. Karma is out there...
__________________

Current - 2012 AW/FR E92 M3 - DCT w EDC, ZPP w Tech, Apps, Enhanced Sound, SAT.
Mods - BPMTune Stg1 + Servo, Piano Black, Euro Visors, OEM Performance CF Spoiler + Grills + Pedals, IND Gloss Blk Pkg, Umnitza V4, ModeCarbon GTS V1 Lip, 19" HRE P40
Sold - 2008 BSM/Black E92 335i - Step, Premium, Sports, Logic7, Comfort, Navi, SAT, Alum.
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2013, 06:22 PM   #15
edwinm3
Colonel
edwinm3's Avatar
United_States
88
Rep
2,620
Posts

Drives: SO/SO DCT M4
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Doral

iTrader: (22)

Definitely need harness and coding. Sucks for the person buying the other car.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2013, 07:34 PM   #16
lockeed
Private First Class
lockeed's Avatar
2
Rep
188
Posts

Drives: 08 E90 6MT Alpine
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Quebec

iTrader: (0)

Doesn't seems like a good move to me... and it'll be a PITA trying to connect your old taillight's on the newer car too....
__________________
___________________________________
08' M3 Sedan 6MT // Alpine on Black Novillo
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2013, 08:00 PM   #17
Chriskm3
Colonel
Chriskm3's Avatar
Canada
29
Rep
2,218
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (4)

Try it. Worst scenario you will put it back. You can work around the harness with a 12 v meter. Little it of time and you manage.
__________________
Vf supercharger + tune/H&R coils/ Akra evolution exhaust/Volk te37/ Rs-3 tires/ Brembos /TIal BOV/ OSS blacked out headlights/LUX v3/Led taillights/ Challenge Front lip/ P3 vent gauge/ F10 m5 shift mob/Matte black front grills/ And a funky air fresher
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2013, 10:16 AM   #18
tdott
Lieutenant
11
Rep
557
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: T.Dot

iTrader: (1)

You don't Neeeed coding per say. They will work fine without coding.

But you'll no longer have the bulb check, and the computer won't tell you when you have a bulb out. It would however be a douchebag move if you don't tell the next owner about this.

Also you'll need to make your own harness, the pnp harness for pre-lci cars to lci tails won't work obviously. You need to go the opposite way.
__________________

Last edited by tdott; 10-17-2013 at 07:39 PM.
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2013, 01:43 PM   #19
e92ben
Colonel
e92ben's Avatar
48
Rep
2,194
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kenosha Wi

iTrader: (5)

Super easy. Just plug and play. You'll need to code it because your signals will be crazy fast... I coded mine myself with a autologic but any local Indy shop can do it. Just change setting to no bulb check.
__________________

e92 ///M3
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2013, 06:40 PM   #20
tpowerdinny
Specialist
11
Rep
699
Posts

Drives: A Tricycle
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NYC

iTrader: (4)

I see used cars like this all the time with something switched from an older version of the same car and I wonder to myself who the hell let's that happen on a used car lot?
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2013, 07:40 PM   #21
tdott
Lieutenant
11
Rep
557
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: T.Dot

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by e92ben View Post
Super easy. Just plug and play. You'll need to code it because your signals will be crazy fast... I coded mine myself with a autologic but any local Indy shop can do it. Just change setting to no bulb check.
Read it again.

He wants to go backwards.
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2013, 06:09 PM   #22
khanhdom
Lieutenant
United_States
45
Rep
533
Posts

Drives: IG: khanhdom
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
SMH
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:51 AM.




m3post
m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST