BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-24-2012, 12:58 AM   #1
thorny
Captain
thorny's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
947
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (9)

Stock belt with Pole Position seat issue

I've been running Recaro Pole Position seat for quite some time and now I love it on the street and even more so on the track. But one thing keeps bugging me - stock seat belt kind of rides on my neck when I drive. I find myself constantly moving it down on the shoulder, but it comes back too close to my neck and i dont like the sensation.

It could be that I am running my seat on the highest 4th hole up front (recaro aluminum side mount) when most people install the seat on the 3rd highest hole. But it gives me slightly more tilt and I plan on keeping it this way.

Any suggestions apart from running race harness? Thanks
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2012, 04:45 AM   #2
LiM3y
Major
LiM3y's Avatar
United Kingdom
20
Rep
1,254
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: CT

iTrader: (3)

Belt shoulder pad?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2012, 11:26 AM   #3
Porschefile
Major
Porschefile's Avatar
16
Rep
1,233
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tennessee

iTrader: (6)

I know you don't want harnesses but that's really the way to go. I had 997 GT3 seats in my cayman and the stock seat belt doesn't secure you that well in a race seat where the driver is recessed into the seat and the belt is along the top. I don't know if you have your belts rigged differently, but it was almost a necessity for me to run harnesses. The belt is riding funny because it isn't designed for an aggressive fixed-back race seat.

You can get decent harnesses for $200 or so each anyway, I never felt much of a difference between $400-500 Schroths and less expensive cam locks.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2012, 01:08 PM   #4
thorny
Captain
thorny's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
947
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LiM3y View Post
Belt shoulder pad?
hmm, never thought about running one. I'll look into it for now before running harness..
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2012, 01:10 PM   #5
thorny
Captain
thorny's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
947
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Porschefile View Post
I know you don't want harnesses but that's really the way to go. I had 997 GT3 seats in my cayman and the stock seat belt doesn't secure you that well in a race seat where the driver is recessed into the seat and the belt is along the top. I don't know if you have your belts rigged differently, but it was almost a necessity for me to run harnesses. The belt is riding funny because it isn't designed for an aggressive fixed-back race seat.

You can get decent harnesses for $200 or so each anyway, I never felt much of a difference between $400-500 Schroths and less expensive cam locks.
I agree with you. I think eventually I'll switch to harness, but want a temporary solution for now. I think I'll try a shoulder pad and see how that works.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2012, 01:15 PM   #6
LiM3y
Major
LiM3y's Avatar
United Kingdom
20
Rep
1,254
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: CT

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by thorny View Post
hmm, never thought about running one. I'll look into it for now before running harness..
You can get them for a few bucks from Autozone. Schroth have ones that use a velcro tab to hold in place and better quality foam padding.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2012, 05:39 PM   #7
Fab_vr6
Private First Class
Canada
3
Rep
112
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: vancouver

iTrader: (1)

May I ask where did you purchase your pole position and the slider/mount? Looking to buy a set myself, thanks
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2012, 05:56 PM   #8
Chemicals
Private
1
Rep
58
Posts

 
Drives: M3 E92 2008 DCT SG
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Isn't it dangerous to go with a harness and no rollcage/helmet accompanying it?
__________________
E92 M3 2008 SG DCT
Apex Arc 8 18/10/25 (Square) Sumitomo HTR-Z III (275/35/18)
H&R Sport Plus Springs
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2012, 05:59 PM   #9
Porschefile
Major
Porschefile's Avatar
16
Rep
1,233
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tennessee

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chemicals View Post
Isn't it dangerous to go with a harness and no rollcage/helmet accompanying it?
Up for debate. There is a camp that believes that somehow in the event of a roll w/o a harness you can maneuver your head to not get crushed, but IMO if the roof collapses it won't matter whether you have a harness or not, you're likely dead. I ran a harness bar in the Cayman FWIW.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2012, 09:00 PM   #10
LiM3y
Major
LiM3y's Avatar
United Kingdom
20
Rep
1,254
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: CT

iTrader: (3)

It is worth noting that the stock restraint is designed to hold you bolt upright in the event of a crash or rollover. It is also worth noting that the A,B and C pillars in modern cars are significantly stronger than in earlier designs and specifically designed to maintain the integrity of the cockpit in a rollover. Apparently, most roll-overs put pressure on the A-pillar, rather than a total pancake when you land on the roof, and this pillar is particularly strong in modern designs.

At the end of the day, it is up to you to decide what risks you are prepared to take, and what precautions you take to mitigate them.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2012, 10:11 PM   #11
thorny
Captain
thorny's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
947
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fab_vr6 View Post
May I ask where did you purchase your pole position and the slider/mount? Looking to buy a set myself, thanks
I got the whole package from EAS. I recommend steel mounts, mine squeeks a little, someone said coz its aluminum...
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2012, 10:15 PM   #12
thorny
Captain
thorny's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
947
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chemicals View Post
Isn't it dangerous to go with a harness and no rollcage/helmet accompanying it?

I think the debate is overrated, if I go with harness, I'd consider a new Challenge harness bar. Some people say it is a waste of money, but I think it is a nice solution for a coupe. I would run a 4-point red Sabelt, I just like how Sabelt looks.
Appreciate 0
      05-20-2012, 02:51 PM   #13
Fab_vr6
Private First Class
Canada
3
Rep
112
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: vancouver

iTrader: (1)

Hey thorny, Any pics to share of your recaro setup?
Appreciate 0
      05-20-2012, 06:17 PM   #14
thorny
Captain
thorny's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
947
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (9)

here you go
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      05-20-2012, 06:24 PM   #15
thorny
Captain
thorny's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
947
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (9)

here is my shoulder pad. Works great!
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2012, 12:36 AM   #16
Fab_vr6
Private First Class
Canada
3
Rep
112
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: vancouver

iTrader: (1)

Thanks for the pics! I have a AW E92 with red interior too, have been going back and forth thinking what color of Recaros should I get. I guess the cloth black doesnt look too bad ! any more pics from another angle?

Appreciate 0
      05-21-2012, 12:47 PM   #17
thorny
Captain
thorny's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
947
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (9)

I think black looks best. Other colors are way too bright. You can;t go wrong with black. Red is nowhere close to stock Fox Red.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2012, 12:24 AM   #18
Car54
Captain
10
Rep
899
Posts

 
Drives: 1999 Z3 Mcoupe | 2008 M3/4
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lutz, FL

iTrader: (1)

Can you pass the shoulder belt through the shoulder harness? Have any pics of your lap receptacle?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2012, 12:48 AM   #19
thorny
Captain
thorny's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
947
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Car54 View Post
Can you pass the shoulder belt through the shoulder harness? Have any pics of your lap receptacle?
Sorry, not quite understand your question. This is the only way to run stock belt with race seat, if this is what you're asking. I dont have more pics. Receptacle is stock and it is attached to the seat hardware.
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2012, 01:12 AM   #20
Car54
Captain
10
Rep
899
Posts

 
Drives: 1999 Z3 Mcoupe | 2008 M3/4
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lutz, FL

iTrader: (1)

Instead of routing the shoulder harness around the seat, can you route it through the left shoulder harness hole?

How do you connect your seatbelt to the receptacle? Through the right lap hole or over the top of the seat?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2012, 01:19 AM   #21
thorny
Captain
thorny's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
947
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Car54 View Post
Instead of routing the shoulder harness around the seat, can you route it through the left shoulder harness hole?

How do you connect your seatbelt to the receptacle? Through the right lap hole or over the top of the seat?
I would say no, it aint gonna work. And on the second question - over the top. You will need racing harness to take advantage of holes.. At least this is how I see it. I am yet to see someone routing stock belt in a way different from mine.
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2012, 01:44 AM   #22
Car54
Captain
10
Rep
899
Posts

 
Drives: 1999 Z3 Mcoupe | 2008 M3/4
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lutz, FL

iTrader: (1)

You have to get a custom receptacle fabbed up so that it's below your lap hole. Or you need to have the lap receptacle extend up through the hole slightly. Wouldn't that fix your shoulder rubbing issue?

Is the lap belt around your torso or over your hip bone?
__________________
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST