BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)
 
INDustry distribution
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-23-2014, 08:39 PM   #1
indy84
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 BMW M3 convertible
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Texas

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

edc button. 2013 m3 e93

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
Hey guys,

So I have the edc button in my. But according to the dealer and all I don't have that feature. Has anyone seen an m3 with the button but it doesn't do anything? I'm trying to sort out why is it there as I have seen m3's without it having no button.
indy84 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-23-2014, 09:08 PM   #2
Petros
Captain
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Canada

Posts: 865
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by indy84 View Post
Hey guys,

So I have the edc button in my. But according to the dealer and all I don't have that feature. Has anyone seen an m3 with the button but it doesn't do anything? I'm trying to sort out why is it there as I have seen m3's without it having no button.
if you have an edc button then you have edc. if you don't have edc then you don't get the button. you get a blank in it's place. the only exception is if it's a used car and the previous owner replaced the edc with aftermarket coilovers. in that case you will still have an edc button but it won't do anything.
Petros is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-23-2014, 09:16 PM   #3
indy84
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 BMW M3 convertible
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Texas

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

Really. How interesting. The bas**** dealer... so is there a way I can validate the functionality? I mean I took it in and the Fed me that bs.
indy84 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-23-2014, 09:18 PM   #4
Petros
Captain
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Canada

Posts: 865
iTrader: (0)

look under the hood. if there is a wire going into the dampers then it's edc. or you can try driving over a bump or pothole in comfort and then in sport. the difference will be very noticeable.
Petros is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-23-2014, 09:31 PM   #5
roastbeef
Captain
 
roastbeef's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orange County, CA

Posts: 710
iTrader: (0)

post a picture of your engine bay and then the button. someone could have also swapped in the button but nothing else, or maybe a retrofit.
__________________
roastbeef is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-23-2014, 09:33 PM   #6
indy84
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 BMW M3 convertible
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Texas

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

Let me get those pics. In Los Angeles until the weekend. I appreciate it fellows.
indy84 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-23-2014, 09:38 PM   #7
indy84
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 BMW M3 convertible
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Texas

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

I got this brand new. Last 2013 model. So, be a bit odd for it to be a random "fake " feature.
indy84 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-23-2014, 09:45 PM   #8
Petros
Captain
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Canada

Posts: 865
iTrader: (0)

how do you know your edc doesn't work, other than the word of the idiot stealership?
Petros is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-23-2014, 09:47 PM   #9
///MPow3r
Private
 
///MPow3r's Avatar
 
Drives: ///M
Join Date: May 2012
Location: SoCal

Posts: 51
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to ///MPow3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by Petros View Post
look under the hood. if there is a wire going into the dampers then it's edc. or you can try driving over a bump or pothole in comfort and then in sport. the difference will be very noticeable.
+1
///MPow3r is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2014, 03:31 PM   #10
mjposner
Captain
 
mjposner's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 235i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: US

Posts: 966
iTrader: (2)

Put your last 7 of your vin here: http://www.rubmw.ru/vincode/eng/

tells you everything you have installed.
__________________
Previous BMW: 11 BMW M3; 08 BMW M3; 08 BMW Z4M; 04 X3; 02 M3 Convertible; 02 M3; 00 M Roadster; 94 325 convertible; 85 635csi
My other ride: www.mjposner.com/corvair
Check out my Mountain retreat:www.blueridge-rental.com
My Car Photo Blog: http://carfisheye.blogspot.com/
mjposner is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2014, 03:48 PM   #11
dmk08
///Maniac
 
dmk08's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 1,912
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3 E92  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjposner View Post
Put your last 7 of your vin here: http://www.rubmw.ru/vincode/eng/

tells you everything you have installed.
Exactly!
dmk08 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2014, 04:28 PM   #12
jphughan
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,280
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjposner View Post
Put your last 7 of your vin here: http://www.rubmw.ru/vincode/eng/

tells you everything you have installed.
At least with my VIN, it says registration/authorization required. Which makes me wonder why people don't just use BMW's own resource for this purpose: http://www.bmw.com/com/en/owners/acc...catalogue.html. Note the displayed username and password, click "Visit parts catalogue" on the right, log in, enter your VIN, and click the Options link at the top. You may also need to allow popups from bmwgroup.com. It's a few more steps, but it comes directly from BMW and doesn't require payment or even registration.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2014, 08:41 PM   #13
indy84
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 BMW M3 convertible
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Texas

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

It doesn't work because we'll one it doesn't light up. And even if pushed I don't feel any change or any sign that dampers adjusted etc.
indy84 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2014, 08:56 PM   #14
Petros
Captain
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Canada

Posts: 865
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by indy84 View Post
It doesn't work because we'll one it doesn't light up. And even if pushed I don't feel any change or any sign that dampers adjusted etc.
you say you bought this car new? it is possible it may not have been coded to turn on. i know that people who replace edc with coilovers have the option of coding the edc off so it doesnt throw an error code. i wonder if the software is normally coded off and it's activated on by the factory on the cars that have the edc. maybe they forgot to activate it on your car, so the computer doesn't know the car has edc. did you check under the hood? are there any wires going into the dampers?

here is what the top of the strut looks like for edc cars


and this one for non edc cars
Petros is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2014, 09:07 PM   #15
indy84
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 BMW M3 convertible
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Texas

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

Thanks petros, I'm back home tomorrow and will post pics. You're pics are extremely helpful. I'll have a look under the hood tomorrow night. Thanks fellows.
indy84 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2014, 09:08 PM   #16
indy84
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 BMW M3 convertible
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Texas

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

And yes. It was brand new. Never driven.
indy84 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2014, 09:12 PM   #17
Prowess Symphony
Major General
 
Prowess Symphony's Avatar
 
Drives: ///Mistress
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: WV

Posts: 5,859
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by indy84
And yes. It was brand new. Never driven.
If it's brand new then the edc button should be working and lighting up because if you didn't have edc there would be a blank panel there without a button. Like others said check under the engine and you should see the wires.
Prowess Symphony is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2014, 10:33 PM   #18
tallskinnymatt
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 ZCP M3
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA

Posts: 134
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3  [0.00]
Basically what everyone said. I'm just curious for the pics and the outcome. It may be a faulty EDC from the factory?
tallskinnymatt is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2014, 12:53 AM   #19
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E90 M3 / 400whp Turbo 7
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 4,542
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Pm me your VIN # and I'll tell you.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Mike Benvo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2014, 09:10 AM   #20
jphughan
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,280
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Petros View Post
you say you bought this car new? it is possible it may not have been coded to turn on. i know that people who replace edc with coilovers have the option of coding the edc off so it doesnt throw an error code. i wonder if the software is normally coded off and it's activated on by the factory on the cars that have the edc. maybe they forgot to activate it on your car, so the computer doesn't know the car has edc. did you check under the hood? are there any wires going into the dampers?
The EDC option code would need to exist in the car's VO to be operational, but I'd be extremely surprised if the factory actually built a car with EDC and then somehow forgot to add the code to the VO. That would be a manufacturing defect -- then again, if that's all it is (as opposed to physical parts missing or malfunctioning), it's also easily fixed. EDC cars that get coilovers installed either remove the EDC VO (so the car doesn't complain that EDC appears to be missing/malfunctioning anymore) or they install a physical EDC emulator module that fakes out the ECU.

But others are right, checking under the hood will indicate whether you have (at least part of) the EDC hardware. But unless there was a production change VERY late in the M3's lifecycle, a brand new car that doesn't have EDC shouldn't have an EDC button at all, and a car that DOES have EDC should obviously have a button that works.

One other place you could check: If you have iDrive, go into Settings > M Drive and see if you can configure EDC in your M Drive settings. If EDC appears there, that would suggest that the VO is configured correctly -- but it would also suggest that something is wrong with the car if the button doesn't actually do anything.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder

Last edited by jphughan; 04-25-2014 at 09:15 AM.
jphughan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2014, 09:31 AM   #21
dnvrdrvr
Captain
 
dnvrdrvr's Avatar
 
Drives: JB E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Denver, CO

Posts: 759
iTrader: (2)

Another thing I've encountered (only because I swapped my 08 iDrive console/button with the 09 iDrive parts), is the EDC wiring harness not being plugged in all the way. That would result in EDC and the button lights not functioning. Along the lines of what jphughan said, this would also be a manufacturing defect if you bought it new.
__________________

Just a girl and her 420 ponies...
www.mw3motorsports.com
dnvrdrvr is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2014, 09:51 AM   #22
Helmsman
Private First Class
 
Drives: M3 E90 2011 DCT ZCP AW
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Sweden

Posts: 145
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Petros View Post
you say you bought this car new? it is possible it may not have been coded to turn on. i know that people who replace edc with coilovers have the option of coding the edc off so it doesnt throw an error code. i wonder if the software is normally coded off and it's activated on by the factory on the cars that have the edc. maybe they forgot to activate it on your car, so the computer doesn't know the car has edc. did you check under the hood? are there any wires going into the dampers?

here is what the top of the strut looks like for edc cars


and this one for non edc cars

Wow that is clean engine bay areas. Thought I had fair finish but realize I have work to do here...
Helmsman is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST