BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)
 
Steve Thomas BMW
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-23-2014, 08:39 PM   #1
indy84
New Member
0
Rep
11
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 BMW M3 convertible
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

edc button. 2013 m3 e93

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
Hey guys,

So I have the edc button in my. But according to the dealer and all I don't have that feature. Has anyone seen an m3 with the button but it doesn't do anything? I'm trying to sort out why is it there as I have seen m3's without it having no button.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2014, 09:08 PM   #2
Petros
Banned
11
Rep
1,162
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Canada

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by indy84 View Post
Hey guys,

So I have the edc button in my. But according to the dealer and all I don't have that feature. Has anyone seen an m3 with the button but it doesn't do anything? I'm trying to sort out why is it there as I have seen m3's without it having no button.
if you have an edc button then you have edc. if you don't have edc then you don't get the button. you get a blank in it's place. the only exception is if it's a used car and the previous owner replaced the edc with aftermarket coilovers. in that case you will still have an edc button but it won't do anything.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2014, 09:16 PM   #3
indy84
New Member
0
Rep
11
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 BMW M3 convertible
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Really. How interesting. The bas**** dealer... so is there a way I can validate the functionality? I mean I took it in and the Fed me that bs.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2014, 09:18 PM   #4
Petros
Banned
11
Rep
1,162
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Canada

iTrader: (1)

look under the hood. if there is a wire going into the dampers then it's edc. or you can try driving over a bump or pothole in comfort and then in sport. the difference will be very noticeable.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2014, 09:31 PM   #5
roastbeef
Captain
roastbeef's Avatar
United_States
13
Rep
871
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (0)

post a picture of your engine bay and then the button. someone could have also swapped in the button but nothing else, or maybe a retrofit.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2014, 09:33 PM   #6
indy84
New Member
0
Rep
11
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 BMW M3 convertible
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Let me get those pics. In Los Angeles until the weekend. I appreciate it fellows.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2014, 09:38 PM   #7
indy84
New Member
0
Rep
11
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 BMW M3 convertible
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

I got this brand new. Last 2013 model. So, be a bit odd for it to be a random "fake " feature.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2014, 09:45 PM   #8
Petros
Banned
11
Rep
1,162
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Canada

iTrader: (1)

how do you know your edc doesn't work, other than the word of the idiot stealership?
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2014, 09:47 PM   #9
///MPow3r
Private
///MPow3r's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
54
Posts

 
Drives: ///M
Join Date: May 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to ///MPow3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by Petros View Post
look under the hood. if there is a wire going into the dampers then it's edc. or you can try driving over a bump or pothole in comfort and then in sport. the difference will be very noticeable.
+1
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2014, 03:31 PM   #10
mjposner
Major
mjposner's Avatar
United_States
36
Rep
1,194
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 E93 M3
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: US

iTrader: (2)

Put your last 7 of your vin here: http://www.rubmw.ru/vincode/eng/

tells you everything you have installed.
__________________
Previous BMW: 14 M235i, 11 BMW M3; 08 BMW M3; 08 BMW Z4M; 04 X3; 02 M3 Convertible; 02 M3; 00 M Roadster; 94 325 convertible; 85 635csi
My other ride: www.mjposner.com/corvair
Check out my Mountain retreat:www.blueridge-rental.com
My Car Photo Blog: http://carfisheye.blogspot.com/
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2014, 03:48 PM   #11
dmk08
///Maniac
dmk08's Avatar
77
Rep
3,453
Posts

 
Drives: 15 F80 MG/SO 6MT
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjposner View Post
Put your last 7 of your vin here: http://www.rubmw.ru/vincode/eng/

tells you everything you have installed.
Exactly!
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2014, 04:28 PM   #12
jphughan
Brigadier General
jphughan's Avatar
United_States
39
Rep
3,467
Posts

 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjposner View Post
Put your last 7 of your vin here: http://www.rubmw.ru/vincode/eng/

tells you everything you have installed.
At least with my VIN, it says registration/authorization required. Which makes me wonder why people don't just use BMW's own resource for this purpose: http://www.bmw.com/com/en/owners/acc...catalogue.html. Note the displayed username and password, click "Visit parts catalogue" on the right, log in, enter your VIN, and click the Options link at the top. You may also need to allow popups from bmwgroup.com. It's a few more steps, but it comes directly from BMW and doesn't require payment or even registration.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2014, 08:41 PM   #13
indy84
New Member
0
Rep
11
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 BMW M3 convertible
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

It doesn't work because we'll one it doesn't light up. And even if pushed I don't feel any change or any sign that dampers adjusted etc.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2014, 08:56 PM   #14
Petros
Banned
11
Rep
1,162
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Canada

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by indy84 View Post
It doesn't work because we'll one it doesn't light up. And even if pushed I don't feel any change or any sign that dampers adjusted etc.
you say you bought this car new? it is possible it may not have been coded to turn on. i know that people who replace edc with coilovers have the option of coding the edc off so it doesnt throw an error code. i wonder if the software is normally coded off and it's activated on by the factory on the cars that have the edc. maybe they forgot to activate it on your car, so the computer doesn't know the car has edc. did you check under the hood? are there any wires going into the dampers?

here is what the top of the strut looks like for edc cars


and this one for non edc cars
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2014, 09:07 PM   #15
indy84
New Member
0
Rep
11
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 BMW M3 convertible
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Thanks petros, I'm back home tomorrow and will post pics. You're pics are extremely helpful. I'll have a look under the hood tomorrow night. Thanks fellows.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2014, 09:08 PM   #16
indy84
New Member
0
Rep
11
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 BMW M3 convertible
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

And yes. It was brand new. Never driven.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2014, 09:12 PM   #17
Prowess Symphony
Major General
Prowess Symphony's Avatar
United_States
96
Rep
5,860
Posts

 
Drives: ///Mistress
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: WV

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by indy84
And yes. It was brand new. Never driven.
If it's brand new then the edc button should be working and lighting up because if you didn't have edc there would be a blank panel there without a button. Like others said check under the engine and you should see the wires.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2014, 10:33 PM   #18
tallskinnymatt
Private First Class
1
Rep
139
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 ZCP M3
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3  [0.00]
Basically what everyone said. I'm just curious for the pics and the outcome. It may be a faulty EDC from the factory?
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2014, 12:53 AM   #19
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Mike Benvo's Avatar
United_States
96
Rep
4,799
Posts


 
Drives: Harrop SC M3 / E46 M3 / 7Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Pm me your VIN # and I'll tell you.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2014, 09:10 AM   #20
jphughan
Brigadier General
jphughan's Avatar
United_States
39
Rep
3,467
Posts

 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Petros View Post
you say you bought this car new? it is possible it may not have been coded to turn on. i know that people who replace edc with coilovers have the option of coding the edc off so it doesnt throw an error code. i wonder if the software is normally coded off and it's activated on by the factory on the cars that have the edc. maybe they forgot to activate it on your car, so the computer doesn't know the car has edc. did you check under the hood? are there any wires going into the dampers?
The EDC option code would need to exist in the car's VO to be operational, but I'd be extremely surprised if the factory actually built a car with EDC and then somehow forgot to add the code to the VO. That would be a manufacturing defect -- then again, if that's all it is (as opposed to physical parts missing or malfunctioning), it's also easily fixed. EDC cars that get coilovers installed either remove the EDC VO (so the car doesn't complain that EDC appears to be missing/malfunctioning anymore) or they install a physical EDC emulator module that fakes out the ECU.

But others are right, checking under the hood will indicate whether you have (at least part of) the EDC hardware. But unless there was a production change VERY late in the M3's lifecycle, a brand new car that doesn't have EDC shouldn't have an EDC button at all, and a car that DOES have EDC should obviously have a button that works.

One other place you could check: If you have iDrive, go into Settings > M Drive and see if you can configure EDC in your M Drive settings. If EDC appears there, that would suggest that the VO is configured correctly -- but it would also suggest that something is wrong with the car if the button doesn't actually do anything.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder

Last edited by jphughan; 04-25-2014 at 09:15 AM.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2014, 09:31 AM   #21
dnvrdrvr
Captain Obvious
dnvrdrvr's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
798
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 Carbon X5M
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Denver, CO

iTrader: (4)

Another thing I've encountered (only because I swapped my 08 iDrive console/button with the 09 iDrive parts), is the EDC wiring harness not being plugged in all the way. That would result in EDC and the button lights not functioning. Along the lines of what jphughan said, this would also be a manufacturing defect if you bought it new.
__________________
Just a girl and her 550 ponies...
www.mw3motorsports.com
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2014, 09:51 AM   #22
Helmsman
First Lieutenant
5
Rep
355
Posts

 
Drives: M3 E90 2011 DCT ZCP AW
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Petros View Post
you say you bought this car new? it is possible it may not have been coded to turn on. i know that people who replace edc with coilovers have the option of coding the edc off so it doesnt throw an error code. i wonder if the software is normally coded off and it's activated on by the factory on the cars that have the edc. maybe they forgot to activate it on your car, so the computer doesn't know the car has edc. did you check under the hood? are there any wires going into the dampers?

here is what the top of the strut looks like for edc cars


and this one for non edc cars

Wow that is clean engine bay areas. Thought I had fair finish but realize I have work to do here...
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST