BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-30-2013, 11:43 AM   #1
TizSuperrQ
Sophisticated hobo
TizSuperrQ's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
341
Posts

 
Drives: e90 2006 330i prem & sport pak
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NY, NY

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 M3  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to TizSuperrQ
No ignition black dot

Hello all,

I've been trying my best to teach myself coding and I have to admit its no easy task!

I got the right cable and the right software, but I am using windows 7 with the option to run this program on windows xp..

The battery black dot is there but the ignition is not! I've tried pretty much everything after reading the forums but at this point I'm just stuck..

I've tried 3 different drivers for this cable and non solved the problem

I've also setup VMware .. And tried to run xp from that and still no black dots on the INPA and there's still no communication when trying to use NCSexpert...

Any help at this point would be appreciated ..here's some more info below:

08 m3 e92
no coding was ever done to it previously..

Laptop I'm using is a dell Inspiron
Running windows 7 home i3
Cable from the site everyone recommends, clear with green chip inside .. The cable Lights up when I plug it in and the. Light goes off after about 4 seconds..
__________________
"The Love of Driving Comes with a Price"
- Vince
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2013, 01:45 PM   #2
RBB
First Lieutenant
RBB's Avatar
5
Rep
344
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NOVA

iTrader: (10)

It could be too many things to list from the info you've given us. Did you set up your COM ports correctly?
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2013, 02:01 PM   #3
urBan_dK
First Lieutenant
urBan_dK's Avatar
United_States
7
Rep
372
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mill Creek, WA

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Which cable do you consider the "right cable?"
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2013, 04:02 PM   #4
TizSuperrQ
Sophisticated hobo
TizSuperrQ's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
341
Posts

 
Drives: e90 2006 330i prem & sport pak
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NY, NY

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 M3  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to TizSuperrQ
Yes I definitely did the com ports correctly.. Went to advanced setup and change the bits to 8 ..
__________________
"The Love of Driving Comes with a Price"
- Vince
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2013, 04:03 PM   #5
TizSuperrQ
Sophisticated hobo
TizSuperrQ's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
341
Posts

 
Drives: e90 2006 330i prem & sport pak
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NY, NY

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 M3  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to TizSuperrQ
I got this one from one stop electronics..

http://www.one-stop-electronics.com/shop/index.php?dispatch=products.view&product_id=16
__________________
"The Love of Driving Comes with a Price"
- Vince
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2013, 10:46 AM   #6
808MGuy
Colonel
808MGuy's Avatar
49
Rep
2,287
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oahu, Hawaii

iTrader: (3)

Make sure the ignition is on and you're not just in ACC mode. Sounds dumb but I was having the same issue and couldn't figure it out for months. Then by mistake I hit the start button to turn off the car but didn't hold it long enough so it went from ACC to ignition and then the ignition light lit up.
__________________
09 E90 M3 - Interlagos Blue / Black Novillo / Sycamore Anthracite / Eibach / HRE

Appreciate 0
      02-01-2013, 02:15 PM   #7
TizSuperrQ
Sophisticated hobo
TizSuperrQ's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
341
Posts

 
Drives: e90 2006 330i prem & sport pak
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NY, NY

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 M3  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to TizSuperrQ
I will try this when I get home tonight, I really hope it's something as simple as that .. But I definitely don't hold it for a couple of seconds .. Just 1 click and I thought that's all I needed.. I can't wait to see if this works..
__________________
"The Love of Driving Comes with a Price"
- Vince
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2013, 09:39 AM   #8
TizSuperrQ
Sophisticated hobo
TizSuperrQ's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
341
Posts

 
Drives: e90 2006 330i prem & sport pak
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NY, NY

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 M3  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to TizSuperrQ
Back from the dead, so I tried the above and still no black dot in ignition, but I am getting he black dot in battery .. Anyone around in queens that can give me some pointers on this?
__________________
"The Love of Driving Comes with a Price"
- Vince
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2013, 03:00 AM   #9
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Mike Benvo's Avatar
United_States
98
Rep
4,811
Posts


 
Drives: Harrop SC M3 / E46 M3 / 7Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
See if you can communicate regardless of the ignition dot.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2013, 12:55 PM   #10
TizSuperrQ
Sophisticated hobo
TizSuperrQ's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
341
Posts

 
Drives: e90 2006 330i prem & sport pak
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NY, NY

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 M3  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to TizSuperrQ
I tried to access the airbag with inpaloader and I got a communication error, I can take a picture of the error.

Should I try using ncsExpert, I think I'll just get errors trying to access it?
__________________
"The Love of Driving Comes with a Price"
- Vince
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2013, 01:10 PM   #11
WingZeroX5
Major
WingZeroX5's Avatar
United_States
13
Rep
1,186
Posts

 
Drives: 09 E90 M3
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (9)

Had the same issue with me a few weeks back...
Mine is setup with VMWare running XP Pro SP3

I went to code a local member's car and I coudn't get the computer and car talking. Turns out it was set to com3 or com1, I forgot, and just switched it.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2013, 03:26 PM   #12
TizSuperrQ
Sophisticated hobo
TizSuperrQ's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
341
Posts

 
Drives: e90 2006 330i prem & sport pak
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NY, NY

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 M3  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to TizSuperrQ
I'll try this when I get home from work and hope check everything again... Can anyone suggest a driver to use with the cable?
__________________
"The Love of Driving Comes with a Price"
- Vince
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST