BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-09-2007, 10:00 AM   #1
YULY
Private First Class
YULY's Avatar
2
Rep
187
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 328i coupe
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fairfax

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2006 325xi  [0.00]
PS3 1080p or 1080i advanced question

I have a sony 60 tv, model # KDSR60XBR1, which is advertised as 1080P, does any body know why my ps3 only wants to transmit at 1080i, if you do please let me know what I am doing wrong. I bought the $50 HDMI cables from sony.

here is a link the my TV specs

http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/...uctId=11038061

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2007, 10:35 AM   #2
tjnptel1
Cunning Linguist
tjnptel1's Avatar
United_States
40
Rep
2,219
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Norfolk, VA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
something must be up with the TV, as far as i know, Sony's do 1080p only thru HDMI, components are 1080i.
__________________
Bottles are for babies, Real men get blown.
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2007, 10:40 AM   #3
tjnptel1
Cunning Linguist
tjnptel1's Avatar
United_States
40
Rep
2,219
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Norfolk, VA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
your best bet would be to check avforums.com
__________________
Bottles are for babies, Real men get blown.
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2007, 11:08 AM   #4
YULY
Private First Class
YULY's Avatar
2
Rep
187
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 328i coupe
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fairfax

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2006 325xi  [0.00]
thanks for the info, someone told me it depends on the native resolution, but the manual claims its 1080p
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2007, 12:14 PM   #5
gtb75
Private
gtb75's Avatar
1
Rep
95
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 Corvette Z06
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: IL, USA

iTrader: (0)

I've got a KDSR50XBR1 which uses the same display unit as your set and I've done a bit of research on this issue...

The XBR1 series sets do indeed use a 1080p display unit (it's a 1920x1080 LCoS), but only have 1080i inputs... There's an internal scaler that takes any input signal and scales it to 1080p - the native resolution of the display unit. In the case of 1080i, it takes the 1080i/60fps signal and converts it to 1080p/30fps... There's no loss in quality doing this - only a loss in framerate (which supposedly can't be seen). A number of people on avsforum have said that the scaler in the XBR1 series sets is about the best that's ever been put in a TV, and is better than the scaler used in the "true" 1080p XBR2 sets. Since most things aren't using 1080p (yet), having the better scaler is more important to me than having the 1080p capable inputs.

Sony had talked about releasing an upgrade to allow the inputs to support 1080p, but they ended up scrapping that idea. So you do have a 1080p set, but it only has 1080i inputs. Actually, it has one 1080p input - the FireWire/iLink port on the front, but nothing uses it... That's the only one.

Hope that makes sense...
__________________
2006 Corvette Z06
Black / Ebony - 459RWHP / 438RWTQ

2005 Subaru Legacy 2.5 GT Wagon
Brilliant Silver / Tweed M5 - 229AWHP / 260AWTQ
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2007, 01:19 PM   #6
YULY
Private First Class
YULY's Avatar
2
Rep
187
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 328i coupe
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fairfax

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2006 325xi  [0.00]
gtb75,

smart man.

I just hate the fact that that my playstation 3 tells me that my TV max resolution is 1080i.
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2007, 01:41 PM   #7
hl0m4n
Brigadier General
hl0m4n's Avatar
United_States
379
Rep
4,861
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY

iTrader: (42)

i have this tv here also by sony. http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/...uctId=11040753

i only got 1 hdmi port which is used for my hd cable box. so when i use the factory ps3 hd cables i am not gettint a true 1080p?
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2007, 01:43 PM   #8
Brunotheboxer
Brigadier General
Brunotheboxer's Avatar
United_States
79
Rep
3,003
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 Shelby GT500.
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boston/Cape Cod

iTrader: (0)

you will only get 1080p if you hook up a cpu to your tv.
__________________


"...I maybe drunk, but you're ugly, and I can sober up..."
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2007, 02:31 PM   #9
DesiGUY
Banned
DesiGUY's Avatar
United_States
13
Rep
76
Posts

 
Drives: Crazy
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Right behind you

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by YULY View Post
I have a sony 60 tv, model # KDSR60XBR1, which is advertised as 1080P, does any body know why my ps3 only wants to transmit at 1080i, if you do please let me know what I am doing wrong. I bought the $50 HDMI cables from sony.

here is a link the my TV specs

http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/...uctId=11038061

Thanks!
Can't answer why "ps3 only wants to transmit at 1080i", but return those $50 HDMI cables.

I'd been using a couple of $15-$25 HDMI cables since 8mons and they work just fine.
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2007, 04:05 PM   #10
BeeEmDubU
Captain
BeeEmDubU's Avatar
9
Rep
719
Posts

 
Drives: AW 325i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: So Cal

iTrader: (2)

Syour PS3 to output to 720p (if your TV supports it). I think it would look better than 1080i
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2007, 04:15 PM   #11
gtb75
Private
gtb75's Avatar
1
Rep
95
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 Corvette Z06
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: IL, USA

iTrader: (0)

These guys have great prices on good cables: http://www.monoprice.com/home/index.asp

Lots of people on avsforum use / recommend them... Great service too!
__________________
2006 Corvette Z06
Black / Ebony - 459RWHP / 438RWTQ

2005 Subaru Legacy 2.5 GT Wagon
Brilliant Silver / Tweed M5 - 229AWHP / 260AWTQ
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2007, 08:13 PM   #12
Brunotheboxer
Brigadier General
Brunotheboxer's Avatar
United_States
79
Rep
3,003
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 Shelby GT500.
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boston/Cape Cod

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtb75 View Post
These guys have great prices on good cables: http://www.monoprice.com/home/index.asp

Lots of people on avsforum use / recommend them... Great service too!
+1
__________________


"...I maybe drunk, but you're ugly, and I can sober up..."
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2007, 12:17 PM   #13
YULY
Private First Class
YULY's Avatar
2
Rep
187
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 328i coupe
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fairfax

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2006 325xi  [0.00]
BeeEmDubU

I agree 720p is looks better than 1080i but evryone else says 1080i
who knows??/
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2007, 02:28 PM   #14
tjnptel1
Cunning Linguist
tjnptel1's Avatar
United_States
40
Rep
2,219
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Norfolk, VA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtb75 View Post
I've got a KDSR50XBR1 which uses the same display unit as your set and I've done a bit of research on this issue...

The XBR1 series sets do indeed use a 1080p display unit (it's a 1920x1080 LCoS), but only have 1080i inputs... There's an internal scaler that takes any input signal and scales it to 1080p - the native resolution of the display unit. In the case of 1080i, it takes the 1080i/60fps signal and converts it to 1080p/30fps... There's no loss in quality doing this - only a loss in framerate (which supposedly can't be seen). A number of people on avsforum have said that the scaler in the XBR1 series sets is about the best that's ever been put in a TV, and is better than the scaler used in the "true" 1080p XBR2 sets. Since most things aren't using 1080p (yet), having the better scaler is more important to me than having the 1080p capable inputs.

Sony had talked about releasing an upgrade to allow the inputs to support 1080p, but they ended up scrapping that idea. So you do have a 1080p set, but it only has 1080i inputs. Actually, it has one 1080p input - the FireWire/iLink port on the front, but nothing uses it... That's the only one.

Hope that makes sense...
very informative,

It's odd that my non-xbr (SXRD: supposedly lower line then XBR) has HDMI inputs that takes 1080p. My XBOX looks pretty darn good over HDMI and so does Blu Ray.
__________________
Bottles are for babies, Real men get blown.
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2007, 02:30 PM   #15
tjnptel1
Cunning Linguist
tjnptel1's Avatar
United_States
40
Rep
2,219
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Norfolk, VA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
also check http://www.firefold.com for cables. they are pretty good priced as well.
__________________
Bottles are for babies, Real men get blown.
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2007, 02:40 PM   #16
T Bone
Brigadier General
T Bone's Avatar
144
Rep
4,021
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335xi Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: The land where we kill baby seals

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjnptel1 View Post
very informative,

It's odd that my non-xbr (SXRD: supposedly lower line then XBR) has HDMI inputs that takes 1080p. My XBOX looks pretty darn good over HDMI and so does Blu Ray.

Most of the new Sony TV's take native 1080p through HDMI, the OP unfortunately has an earlier model Sony that is a non-XBR
__________________
"Aerodynamics are for people who cannot build engines"......Enzo Ferrari
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2007, 02:50 PM   #17
hl0m4n
Brigadier General
hl0m4n's Avatar
United_States
379
Rep
4,861
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY

iTrader: (42)

hey tbone may i ask why you got 3.91 gears on your m6? n/a m3 are 4.10 and f/i are 3.91. is it vice versa on m5 and m6 models?
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2007, 05:33 PM   #18
T Bone
Brigadier General
T Bone's Avatar
144
Rep
4,021
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335xi Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: The land where we kill baby seals

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hl0m4n View Post
hey tbone may i ask why you got 3.91 gears on your m6? n/a m3 are 4.10 and f/i are 3.91. is it vice versa on m5 and m6 models?

Just a little off tangent for this thread but 3.91 and 4.1 gears are standard BMW Motorsports gears.

The 3.91 is a good compromise that works on the street and track.

The running gear for M5 / M6 are identical, stock rear end is 3.62.
__________________
"Aerodynamics are for people who cannot build engines"......Enzo Ferrari
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2007, 05:45 PM   #19
hl0m4n
Brigadier General
hl0m4n's Avatar
United_States
379
Rep
4,861
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY

iTrader: (42)

isn't the general aspect of 4.10 gears on a n/a car true so you can accelerate a tab better and stay in gear longer, thus installing it on a s/c is no good b/c you have to shift too soon like in the m3 s/c which most members use 3.91.
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2007, 05:51 PM   #20
T Bone
Brigadier General
T Bone's Avatar
144
Rep
4,021
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335xi Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: The land where we kill baby seals

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hl0m4n View Post
isn't the general aspect of 4.10 gears on a n/a car true so you can accelerate a tab better and stay in gear longer, thus installing it on a s/c is no good b/c you have to shift too soon like in the m3 s/c which most members use 3.91.

You cannot look at rear end gearing in isolation of the transmission gearing and the engine powerband.

You cannot make generalizations such as 4.1 gearing is better on an N/A car.....
__________________
"Aerodynamics are for people who cannot build engines"......Enzo Ferrari
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2007, 07:39 PM   #21
gtb75
Private
gtb75's Avatar
1
Rep
95
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 Corvette Z06
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: IL, USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjnptel1 View Post
very informative,

It's odd that my non-xbr (SXRD: supposedly lower line then XBR) has HDMI inputs that takes 1080p. My XBOX looks pretty darn good over HDMI and so does Blu Ray.
SXRD is actually just Sony's name for LCoS technology - Liquid Crystal on Silicon. Some TV's use LCD's, others use DLP's, while any Sony that says SXRD uses LCoS. IMO LCoS is the best picture out there for rear projection TV's and is as good or nearly as good as the best Pioneer Elite plasmas (much more money).

But yes, I believe Sony started putting 1080p inputs on SXRD sets starting with the A2000 series (first non-XBR to offer SXRD) for their standard line and the XBR2 series for the XBR line. Those of us with the original SXRD XBR's are the only people with sets that use the SXRD image engine but don't have 1080p inputs.
__________________
2006 Corvette Z06
Black / Ebony - 459RWHP / 438RWTQ

2005 Subaru Legacy 2.5 GT Wagon
Brilliant Silver / Tweed M5 - 229AWHP / 260AWTQ
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST