BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
Steve Thomas BMW
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-19-2013, 05:17 PM   #1
Obrfso
Private
 
Drives: BMW m3 e90
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Germany

Posts: 60
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Obrfso
TORQUE MANAGER MONITOR, Check engine light???????

Hi guys,


My engine check light came on the other day while accelerating. My friend has got a software so we checked the problem. It showed 2B29 TORQUE MANAGER MONITOR....

Do you have any clues what could it be?


i put spacers few days ago but i suppose it is not connected. just to be sure.


thanks!
Obrfso is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      02-19-2013, 06:14 PM   #2
urBan_dK
First Lieutenant
 
urBan_dK's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mill Creek, WA

Posts: 358
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
I searched the code and 2B29 shows up as DMTL (Detection Module Tank Leak) error in another thread. Maybe the description in your friend's software is wrong. Perhaps your gas cap is not tightened down?
urBan_dK is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-19-2013, 06:17 PM   #3
ScreaM
Banned
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: AZ

Posts: 100
iTrader: (0)

Never heard of this before..is it possible this is unique to Euro spec cars?
ScreaM is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-19-2013, 10:12 PM   #4
urBan_dK
First Lieutenant
 
urBan_dK's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mill Creek, WA

Posts: 358
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
OP - do you have a tune?
urBan_dK is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-20-2013, 09:07 AM   #5
Obrfso
Private
 
Drives: BMW m3 e90
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Germany

Posts: 60
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Obrfso
No i dont have any tunes, fully standard. It is a US spec car from Texas...


The problem is that it showed me once this problem with DMTL but when i erased it, it never came back again. Instead of this after few months this Torque manager monitor came on

The thing is that it does not switch on all the time. Once i drive, its perfectly fine, reving and everything is perfect... but next time i only go above 4000rpm, it switches on (((


Any clues?

if it is DMTL, what is it responsible for?

Thanks
Obrfso is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      02-20-2013, 10:28 AM   #6
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 13,065
iTrader: (44)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
9 out of 10 times, it's from an incorrectly mapped tune. Are you sure there isn't a tune from a previous owner?
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-20-2013, 10:47 AM   #7
m33
Banned
 
m33's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 VT650 MCB Individual
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CT

Posts: 2,697
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE TECH View Post
9 out of 10 times, it's from an incorrectly mapped tune. Are you sure there isn't a tune from a previous owner?
+100
m33 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-20-2013, 01:01 PM   #8
Obrfso
Private
 
Drives: BMW m3 e90
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Germany

Posts: 60
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Obrfso
I am an owner of this car for two years already...it never happened to me before... but i am not 100% sure that it was not tuned

What shall i do then?
Obrfso is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      02-20-2013, 01:14 PM   #9
urBan_dK
First Lieutenant
 
urBan_dK's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mill Creek, WA

Posts: 358
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Obrfso View Post
I am an owner of this car for two years already...it never happened to me before... but i am not 100% sure that it was not tuned

What shall i do then?
Have the dealer flash the stock tune onto the DME if you can't be sure the car wasn't tuned. Shouldn't cost too much, hopefully.
urBan_dK is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-20-2013, 01:23 PM   #10
Obrfso
Private
 
Drives: BMW m3 e90
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Germany

Posts: 60
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Obrfso
i hardly think so though. I bought the car from the dealer, from 1st owner. I have got full service history with all bills... i suppose that he didnt do it.


If it is stock software, what can the problem be?
Obrfso is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST